Axiom Speaker Company Millennia M40 Ti Floorstanding Speakers

Millennia M40 Ti

6 1/2" aluminum woofer; 1" titanium tweeter; Freq. Resp. Hz 40-22K; Anti-Standing-Wave Cabinet; Video Shielded

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Doc Holliday   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2007]
Strength:

Works great with tubes. Produces a very smooth, warm, laid back sound. Titanium tweeter produces very clear, detailed highs. Superb with vocals and acoustic work. ZERO listening fatigue. Price.

Weakness:

Not for bass freaks. Maybe a little too laid back for some people. Long break-in period (for me @ 3 months) before things settled down.

Have been pretty happy with the M40s. Did not audition and went stictly on what I'd read online; was not disappointed. Not the last set of speakers you'll ever buy but an excellent starter if you're on a budget.

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: PSB
Paradigm
Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
packman68   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2007]
Strength:

Binding posts

Weakness:

Tweeters are shrill sounding and hard on the ears. Driver baskets are stamped steel like all there products. Upper bass, lower midrange

I must say that these speakers are digustingly bright. They are also missing octives in the upper bass and lower midrange. If your thinking about buying these speakers used you should pass unless you like speakers such as polk or todays jbl speakers one can buy from besy buy.

Similar Products Used: Didnt use these products but a similar product is the lower end polk speakers
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2002]
Strength:

Great bass, crisp midrange, build quality.

Weakness:

none

After auditioning many makes of speaker around $1000, and reading the glowing reviews of the M3Ti, I ordered a pair of M40's from Axiom's website. Customer service was outstanding. After an initial period of ten hours, the speakers really started opening up, with no obvious emphasis on any part of the listening bandwidth. Plenty of bass, smooth extended highs, and they absolutely nail the midrange. Very efficient, these speakers cry "tubes" and that will be my next addition.

Similar Products Used: B&W 302, Dynaudio MK1.8, EVM60
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark66   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2002]
Strength:

Beautiful Maple finish. Very solid Bass for a speaker this size. Crisp Crisp highs.

Weakness:

For this price - none.

Got to be the best buy out there. I paid $350 for the outlet pair delivered. I couldn't find any blemishes. A real solid speaker that blends smoothly across the entire range. After spending 3 months with them I don't think I need a sub. They get substantially deep enough. Should be on everybodies shopping list for a pair of reasonably sized towers. Save money on stands.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BigL   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 17, 2002]
Strength:

The sound QUALITY, Axiom's customer service (fast & secure shipping and ordering), the price.

Weakness:

I have these speakers in the black finish and to be honest, they're a little plain-looking. Not ugly, just plain.

Axiom was running a sale for subscribers of it's e-newsletter, so for $315 I couldn't resist. These speakers replaced a pair of Axiom's excellent M3's. Even though they share the same drivers, to me the M40's sound better. When I initially set up the M40's I left all the settings on my receiver "as-is". That meant the speakers settings were "Small" with a 80Hz crossover. So when I listened to the M40's I figured the bass would sound the same as the M3's but the bass had a lot more presence to it. The mid-range sounded better too. Now, I have them set-up as "Large" with a 60Hz crossover and they sound better yet. These are what I think people would call "transparent" speakers in that, to me, what you put in you get out. Garbage in, garbage out. These speakers will tell you if your recordings aren't up to par. The M3's by comparison, were a little more "laid back" and forgiving of crappy recordings. For what I paid for them, the Axiom M40's represent the best bang for the buck investment I've made for my system yet. I think you'd have to spend AT LEAST twice as much to get the same sound quality from any other manufacturer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GeoFurtado   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Overall sound quality; could listen to these for hours and hours and hours

Weakness:

It may be my room or the lack of space between the speakers, but soundstaging, although very good, could be better.

I bought the M40''s from the Axiom outlet store on the web. I was particulary impressed by the service I received and how rapidly I received these speakers. These are supposed to be "blemished", but neither a friend, nor myself could find anything wrong with the cabinets. Although the cabinets are covered with vinyl, my friend thought that they were wood. I am a bit of an audio nut.... I have tried these speakers with 5 different amplifiers/receivers including two Nad''s, an old Technics receiver, an old Onkyo TX830 and a Rotel. These speakers sounded absolutely great with all. I''ve settled on an old Nad 3150 and the Rotel as the best companion for these excellent speakers. I use these in a small/mid size room with carpeting and lots of furniture....they sound great. Excellent highs, lows and midrange. Soundstage is very good. I suspect that if I had more space or had selected the M60, I would have even better soundstage. I might just upgrade and use these in my bedroom. The type of music I play most is jazz both instrumental and lots of vocals. Classical comes in second, with Rock last. The bass on these units is excellent. I had to move the speakers about 6 inches away from a mirrored wall because it was too intense for me. If I had payed $1,500-$2,000 for these speakers, I would still consider them the best bargain in my array of audio equipment.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wicket87   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

Great mids and great lows make this outstanding for listening to music and DVDs. I was amazed while watching regular old TV by the amount of bass that came through...I''ve got a reletively small sub (Energy e:XL S8) and these speakers complement the sub great.

Weakness:

None so far

These speakers are insanely great for the price paid. They sound great right out of the box, and will only improve over time. I had previously had the Energy Take 2 as my front channels, and this switch was amazing for me. Mids sounded a lot better...and the bass, wow! Amazing bass for reletively small floorstanders. I''ve had experience with some Polk RTA8TL floorstanding speakers, as well as a few different variets of Bose...but the Axioms take the cake.

Similar Products Used: Polk RTA8TL Varieties of Bose Floorstanders
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ak   Audiophile [Jun 19, 2001]
Strength:

outstanding audiophile sound at bargain basement price.

Weakness:

such a good bargain, they're sometimes apparently bought by the same people with wooden ears who by Bose etc., resulting in unreliable reviews on audioreview.com!

This company makes outstanding values that rival Paradigm's reference line at about one-half the price. Beware reviews (below) from people who favor Bose (!) loudspeakers and don't bother to write intelligibly. Seek professional reviews on the web and you'll see how well-regarded this bargain is.

Similar Products Used: PSB NHT PARADIGM REFERENCE MISSION MAGNEPAN SOUND DYNAMICS ETC.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Bailey   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2001]
Strength:

Imaging, highs, craftsmanship

Weakness:

at this price

I thought it worthy of submitting a review of these speakers even though its my brother who owns them. I did live with him for a significant period of time so I know what they sound like.
I am now trying to set up my own system. I have been looking around for some fronts that will match these speakers at the same price. I haven't found any. I will be travelling up to Avery audio and talking with Jeff and his dad, they were amazing when my brother purchased his system from them a while back.

Over the year we have found a minor change in the sound of the speakers. We could also attribute this to the change in the way we listen to music. We now find ourselves sitting down, in an optimal location to hear all that these speakers have to offer.
After a year, we feel that they sound warmer, maybe a bit mellower. THe highs are still very distinct and the mids are strong and clear. The lows have lost there initial punchy feel for a bit more of a powerful push. We have also added a Sub so its a bit hard to really say much about the lows. Yup an Axiom P175.

Some people will rant and rave about there speakers sounding so awesome. They will bash other speakers that they own that they don't like the sound of. These speakers are excellent. In your room at yourr home you might find a different set speakers that you prefer. Great enjoy them.

I think that for most applications you will be quite satified with this product and how much you paid.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2001]
Strength:

Clarity,Price,design,dispertion,transparency and also build quality

Weakness:

no retailers in US

I finally had the chance to take the time out to listen to these speakers for a extended period of time.I really like them and I find they are a little more spacious than what the M3's offer.The clarity of course in all of Axiom's speakers is of extremely high quality.I am not a professional but when speakers like the M3's are posted at places like goodsound.com in a professional review and are said to be fully competitive with $2000.00 speakers it really jives with what I have been telling people for quite some time.The overall performance of the M40's is less congested than the M3's when playing at fairly loud volumes.They sell for $475 canadian so for $250US they are a steal in my opinion but aren't the deal of the century like the M3's.I can't say enough about the quality of Axiom's products and I like everything they offer.The M40's work best with decent quality electronics and to be fair all high quality speakers should have them.

I wanted to say that I didn't think it was fair that Sean Harquil had compared this speaker to his $1000 canadian Bose Acoustimas 5's but I really think highly of him for the fact that he used his real name and email so he wasn't a coward and he obviously felt that these speakers could be outmatched at a under $500.00 canadian price.I wouldn't agree because $500 canadian will only buy a set of Bose 301's and their is no comparison between them but it is great to see someone that doesn't particularily give a good review or rating be up front and fly in the radar.

I wanted to finalize my review by saying that it has been over a month since Jack/Joe From Richard showed up and 2 weeks since Candice from Patrick showed up in Axiom's postings and Audioreview still hasn't removed them and I was wondering why that is and it finally hit me!!!Axiom doesn't advertise!!!

I was going to give a 5 and 4 but I thought about it and I was surprised by them like all of Axiom's speakers so 5-5.

Similar Products Used: SO many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com