Axiom Speaker Company Millennia M22 Ti Floorstanding Speakers

Millennia M22 Ti

Dual 5 1/4" aluminum woofer; 1" titanium tweeter; Freq. Resp. Hz 50-22K; Anti-Standing-Wave Cabinet; Video Shielded

User Reviews (63)

Showing 1-10 of 63  
joestar   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2010]

Hi, i'm not an audiophile or one who makes speakers I got into audio through a co-worker who wanted me to buy or take a listen to his vandersteen 1c speakers when I first listened to them I was hooked onto most things audio except the price tags of most of the products I saw and heard in the specialty audiophile stores. I don't believe in you always get what you paid for. I believe in " you get ripped off sometimes" but that my personal prejudice coming out of a service/retail field. I read a few the the comments on the these speakers from 06 and I won't critique too much about that m22 because I believe the crossover and tweeter were different . but as for version 2 i will say i didn't like them at first and that was because of the amp/avr I was using which was a denon lower wattage reciever . I believe highly now based also on other user reviews from the axiom website and my own personal experience that these are very amp specific speakers. I owned a denon receiver, harmon kardon avr, rotel amp, onkyo integrated amp, and a nad c325bee. with the denon these speakers sounded thin. with the nad c325bee these speakers really shine I mean literally if you put you hand on this speaker connected to this amp you can kinda feel the driver just pounding it moves ferociously compared to the denon avr. the lack of base and the lifeless sound I hear people saying they've heard from this speaker for me is not there. The mids are anything but boring dull or lifeless! I listened to focal book shelves which were between 1500 and 2500 and running on a cambridge azur avr, now these didn't beat them but gave them a run for their money especially being $400 dollars, I also demoed the epos which had a better tweeter but not as warm midrange wise or defined bass wise as the m22 v2. all in all for the money and sound quality and build of the m22 v2 cabinet I would choose these speakers again over bookshelves costing 4 of 5 times more but not being 4 or 5 times better sound wise.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
johnmc   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2009]

These are great BOOKSHELF speakers. They're not designed to cover the full spectrum of human hearing. They concentrate on 60HZ and higher and sound crystal clear in that range. Great soundstage, great presence. Shortly after I bought mine I picked up a used Velodyne HGS-12 sub (manufactured 10/2000-post hum era) on eBay and set the crossover at 60HZ. Suffice it to say, I'm now hunting for a quality amp to do them justice. My Yamaha 1400 will be relegated to theatre processing. Versatility of these speakers is outstanding. If you want excellent speakers for movies and music and have a quality sub, it's hard to beat these for the money. I've heard replacing the crossovers in these speakers really sets them free-I haven't done that -yet.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
paul   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2009]

First and foremost "These speakers are not bright or harsh" they are smooth, extremely accurate, tight and crystal clear. These speakers sound better than speakers literally costing thousands more. I have them powered by a pioneer elite vsx-01 receiver as part of a surround system along with the aximo vp150 center and my svs pb-ultra 13 subwoofer. The sound is out of this world! Ive had many systems in the past but these speakers are the best Ive ever owned.

GIve them a shot you wont regret it. By the way these are so powerful that combined with a good subwoofer crossed over at 80htz you will not need towers. Save your money and get these as your fronts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pencilsmasher   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2007]
Strength:


Tremendous highs
Customer service
Free Shipping
No questions asked returns

Weakness:


Mids are boring.
Bass nonexistent
Normal stands raise the tweeter too high
So so construction


I really wanted to love these speakers. After reading all the rave reviews, I was expecting greatness. Sadly, they have gone back in the box and are on their way back to the factory.

Immediately upon opening the box, they felt way to light. They are reasonably well built, but I worried they would be knocked over easily with their height (19 inches). Another thing that bugged me was that the tweeter would be much higher than ear level on my standard stands.

Anyways, I plugged them in and gave a listen. Two things were evident:

1. The imaging was incredible with tracks that had a lot of highs.

2. The midrange was there, but barely. I called Axiom and they told me it should be huge. It was all set up right, but the mids were just boring.

I left them running day after day to break them in, but they sounded exactly the same. I had some friends over and they all agreed.

In case you are wondering, I had them hooked up with a Denon amp and a good 10" sub, trying the crossover at 60, 80 and 100.

They claim they sound as good as any $1000 speaker, so I tried them vs a pair of NHT Classic 3s. Whammo, amazing sound, fantastic mids, great looking, solid build. So I bought the NHTs. Very happy.

Customer Service

Awesome

Similar Products Used:
B&W 602
NHT Classic 3
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
djolord   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2007]
Strength:

Clairty, very neutral, imaging, enveloping. Looks and build quality. Their ability to produce extremly natural sounding dialogue (would work well as a centre speaker).

Weakness:

None

I have previously submitted a review on these speakers and it appears I was a little hasty. 1 year on and I'm actually thinking of purchasing a complete 7.1 axiom loudspeaker system. These speakers definately need breaking in. I also think it might take a little time to adjust to the unusual degree of transparency of these speakers. My previous adjectives of 'harsh' and 'over bright' are not true after a bit of time is allowed for them to break in.

If you are thinking of purchasing these speakers I would definately recommend them, after all you have a 30-day money back guarantee to give you a no risk opportunity to try them out on your own system and in your own listening room. Which is more appealing than buying from a hi-fi store, where you are seldom offered this chance.

You will need a sub though! I don't think thats a bad thing. I like to think that it means more effort has gone into producing better quality top-end. I'm still amazed to this day by the amount of new detail I can pick out of my favourtie tunes!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scott   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2006]
Strength:

Appearance

Weakness:

Very lifeless and not sure if they live up to their specs.

I too fell for the hype on these speakers figuring I could get more bang for the buck via internet direct. Bougt the whole setup 60`s, vp150, qs8 and m22`s. Not impressed at all!!! The vp150 was decent and the qs8`s were very nice surrounds. The axiom m22 and 60`s were not good. I had a speaker shootout with a fellow axiom owner. They fell to last place vs Klipsch klf-20`s and Jbl stio 312`s. They were very lifeless and my friend was very upset. Needless to say they are no longer in my system or his. They r great speakers appearance wise and definately the nicest looking I`ve had. Just a real dissapointment if u A/B vs other speakers out there.

Similar Products Used: Streem,JBL,Klipsch,Paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
wencao   AudioPhile [Mar 26, 2006]
Strength:

looks

Weakness:

dry and dull sound

I don;t know how everyone here give it 5 starts. Purely hype, I bought the "hype" but luckly I did not buy new. I got used one for $250.
The speaker likes nice. That is the only thing I like it. It sounds dull and dry. The high is not extended, the mid is dry. You must listen and compare it to others before you buy into this speaker.


If you are look at bookself speakers for $400-$500 range, there are used Tannoy system 800, B&W 603&604s, and little higher you pay you can get Sonus Fabor concetino for $600-$700, like to them before you buy this speaker.

Similar Products Used: Tannoy system 600 &800, B&W 603&604s, Spendor 3/5, and l Sonus Fabor concetino, once you listen to all these , you know Axiom is not worth the money.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Zen   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 02, 2005]
Strength:

Smooth, clean treble Very clear midrange Great soundstage and imaging Exceptionally neutral and natural sounding Bass is clean and tight down to 60 hz.

Weakness:

Bass, but these are bookshelf speakers so it's to be expected. Other than that, absolutely NONE at this price point.

I did six months worth of research for a bookshelf speaker before purchasing the Axiom M22ti speakers. I was looking for a product that will sound great and not break my wallet. At first, I was going to purchase something from Paradigm Monitor Series but since we currently don’t have a dealer here in Hawaii, it made it difficult for me to do so. I auditioned a lot of speakers in my area and was not really impressed by what I heard within my budget. Sure, there were “others” that were great but they were way beyond my budget. I then hit the Internet and started reading reviews. One particular brand, Axiom, stood out, namely the Axiom M22Ti bookshelf speakers. Since I already have a sub (HSU VTF2 MK2), bookshelf speakers are all I needed. So, I went to the Axiom site and seeing that they have a 30-day money back guarantee, I had nothing to lose should I decide to return them. I then took the plunge and ordered the Axiom M22Ti bookshelf in black. I also ordered the 24” stands that go with the speakers. It took 2 days to arrive at my door via Fed-Ex. Upon unboxing them I was amazed at the build quality and attention to detail Axiom has given to their products. I’m usually skeptical of speakers that come in wood veneers but this one took me by surprise. It looked great! But since I didn’t purchase speakers to look at them but hear them, I proceeded to hook them up to my Yamaha HTR 5890 receiver. First Impression: I threw in some jazz, orchestra and classical CD’s in my Denon and to be honest, I was not at all impressed at first. The sound coming from the speakers sounded “strained” and tinny. I tell myself “they’re new, they need to be broken in”. I played with them for at least a week and then viola! It’s as if I was listening to a different pair of speakers! The sound coming from them now was clean, clear and neutral, not too bright. The midrange was so clean that the piano from Tom Grant’s cd sounded like a piano, very natural. I then threw in Diana Krall’s Live in Paris cd and was just blown away. The soundstage and imaging was just outstanding that I felt like she was right there in my living room. What really stood out was the clarity in the treble department. It was crisp, clear and smooth and not harsh at all. I couldn’t believe this was the sound coming from a pair of $400USD speakers. The bass, whatever is there, is clean and tight but keep in mind that these are bookshelf speakers and like many bookshelf speakers, you won’t “feel” deep bass. If you’re into the “wall rattling, I can feel the bass” kind of person, I suggest you pair these up with a good sub. The Axiom M22ti mated beautifully with my HSU VTF2 MK2 sub crossed over at 80hz on my receiver, speakers set to “small”. The sub made the Axioms come alive with clarity and filled out the bottom end of the octaves. All in all, I was so impressed with the Axiom M22Ti that I went ahead and ordered a pair of their M3ti bookshelf and VP150 center for a complete HT setup. Their customer service is nothing short of outstanding, thank you Axiom! Bottom Line: If you are looking for a pair of awesome sounding bookshelf speaker, I suggest you give the M22ti a try. With a 30 day money back guarantee, you can’t lose. At this price, it is extremely hard, if not impossible to beat the quality of these speakers and it can definitely run with the more expensive ones and not break a sweat!

Similar Products Used: JBL N. Series, PSB, Sony, Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
djolord   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2005]
Strength:

Very Clear Looks & build quality

Weakness:

Bit too bright and sometimes harsh Snares sounds poppy Soundstage and imaging is not as good as i expected. Not THAT natural sounding

I only received these yesterday, so bare in mind they may still need break-in time, although i have played them constantly since. I have them connected to a Pioneer AX-3 7.1 receiver. In short i am most likely sending these back to axiom! I'm willing to give them a bit longer to break-in and maybe play with the tone controls more (which i shouldnt have to). I agree that they are very clear, i am definately hearing little nuances in all my music. However i dont agree with the claims of excellent soundstage, it is good but not as good as people are making out in my opinion. Imaging is good too but not excellent. Another concern for me is that the snare always seems to sounds like a little pop! For the record i am using these on a flat eq and neutral tone controls, so adjusting these may help with some of these issues but i believe in not having to use these controls. They also sound harsh and over bright on some material. They're just not my cup of tea, they simply dont have the WOW factor for me! But i will say i am very very fussy when it comes to audio so i might just be expecting to much, i dont know! This is just my opinion, with the 30-day money back guarantess, you've got nothing to lose. They may sound good to some ears and possibly on warmer sounding electronics!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
thereal_1_   Casual Listener [Jan 06, 2005]
Strength:

Clarity Clean midrange Excellent customer service

Weakness:

Lack of bass Not "room filling" or rich

After reading almost every reviews out there on the different audio forums and sites on Axiom products, I finally decided to get the M22ti for my main front. With the 30-day money back guarantee and the many positive feedback, I thought it wouldn't hurt to give them a try. The rest of mine 7.1 HT setup are Paradigm Titans rear, Cinema 90 rear back, CC-370 center, and PDR-10 sub on a Yamaha RX-V1500 receiver. I was also considering Paradigm Monitor 5, Studio 20 or 40, Totem Rainmaker, and Definitive Technology PM500. It only took 2 days for me to get them and I must say that their customer service was excellent. My first impression was that the speakers have nice finishing, very sturdy, and the built quality is excellent. I hook them up side by side with my Titans using A/B speaker mode, and disconnected the rest of my other speakers. I have been using them for a week now listening to Classical, Jazz, Rock and watching movies. IMHO, I am a bit disappointed with the outcome. Although the sound is very clear and the midrange is good, I didn't find them as "rich" and room-filling as my Titans. The lack of bass is very obvious. They sound better when all the rest of my speakers are on but that is expected. Perhaps it is still too early to tell as I will give them another week or two to see if some break-in time will help, before making my final decision. If I do return them, I will most likely go with either the Monitor 5 or Studio 20 as the Studio 40 is out of my budget. These are just my thoughts for as a first-time Axiom owner.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Titans Paradigm Monitor 9 Totem Rainmaker Bose 901
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 63  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com