Avalon Acoustics Sentinel Floorstanding Speakers

Sentinel

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
PJL   [Jan 31, 2018]
Pros: Suberb speaker, glad to be able to import from US. One of the best speakers out there. Sadly not very attractive to look at. But hey its all about the music.
Cons: Only the price; at 92000 usd its not a cheap pair to own. But certainly worth every penny i spend on them.
Price: 22000   New/Used: Used   Year Purchased: 2012
OVERALL
RATING
5
Lenn   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2016]

The reviewer who pities the poor sod who cant afford the Avalon Speakers should be ashamed of himself. To boast in such a crass manner makes anything said by such a person "poisoned." In the old IBM, someone who behaved like that would have been fired on the spot - a very difficult status to achieve in IBM but they made exceptions for people not worthy of the IBM culture.
By the way the Avalons are exceptional speakers and worth the price if they bring an individual the commensurate pleasure. I only wish Avalon Acoustics could filter the worthiness of a customer in addition to the ability to pay. I am currently auditioning speakers and trying to decide between Wilson Audio and Avalon Acoustics - while very different, they are both exceptional.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AudiophileES   AudioPhile [Aug 22, 2002]

The Avalon Acoustics Sentinel edition loudspeakers are quite possibly the best loudspeakers in existence today. Though I am not privileged enough to actually own them, I have previously auditioned them and can personally attest to their beautiful performance. I might add that $90000 is not in fact "too much" for a pair of loudspeakers if they indeed bring the listener closer to the music. Though this might seem pricey to a “casual listener”, a true audiophile would pay any sum for an audio component that provides a more lifelike music experience. If you do not have the proclivity to understand this, then you should not be lecturing on what price is too high for a loudspeaker, or, for that mater, any other component in the audio reproductive chain. This, especially if you have never even actually heard that product perform!!!!!!!! In conclusion, if you do not truly understand the essence of the high-end audio experience, please leave the reviewing to those of us who do!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bart Koen   Casual Listener [Jun 14, 2002]
Strength:

loud noice

Weakness:

colour

I am glad we can use computers right now.... I am deaf. I can communicate with email. Great product, I can feel the music !! We also use it for our bussiness ==> we re-build bathrooms and we always need to break the walls out first. With Metallica it is always successfull

Similar Products Used: 2 x Sony discman speakers, 10 kg hammer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Jim   AudioPhile [Feb 23, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent craftsmanship, excellent sound quality. Absolutely stunning! :)

Weakness:

you''re buying "shock value" the cost to make these is only a small fraction of their price. folks, it''s just a pretty wooden box with speakers in it :(

90,000 what, not U.S. Dollars I Hope!!! Folks I am a Finish Carpenter and Stair Builder. Sometimes, for a Grand Staircase or "Grand" Grand Entry Door, It is the highest most outrageous bid that gets the contract. If you or your significant other feels a need to tell others that you paid "BLAH, BLAH, BLAH$$$$$" for whatever "handcrafted" (doubtful) "masterpiece" (more doubtful) then go for it. Incidentally, I did get the chance to "test drive" a pair of these speakers at a home cinema I built. Phenominal sound quality, but remember... Speakers REPRODUCE sound, and for 90K you buy quite a few concert tickets! My speakers are one of a kind (I built ''em) I have $1682.42 worth of drivers and electronics, and about $400 worth of wood MDF and other materials. BTW YES!, Yes I''d put ''em up against these speakers any day as long as the same equipment was used to drive each. (I use 2 Crown Microtech 1200''s, and 2 Microtech 2400''s. -Pro Sound reinforcement gear... but pretty good stuff for my budget!) I could honestly see spending 15-20k on these speakers, but 90!!! -C''mon!

Similar Products Used: I''ve installed other esoteric type audio gear in MM residences (Newfield, Burmester, B&W, Dynaudio to name a few) I really like mine best (about $2000) ''don''t know if it''s because they sound so go
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
1
M.D.   Casual Listener [Jan 23, 2002]

If I hadn't seen it with my own eyes, I wouldn't have believed it. $92,000.00 for a pair of speakers!?

I wouldn't pay $92,000.00 for most houses...!?

I LOVE high-fidelity, but this is almost beyond belief.

For $92,000.00 one had better hear the voice of God every time one fires electrons through a pair!!!

Hummmm, I wonder what God would say about this?

I'm sorry for the criticism, but $92,000.00 is just bizzare...

Get help.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Arthur canal   Audiophile [Dec 07, 2001]
Strength:

Amazing bass, which is balaced by the exelent mid range and trebble

Weakness:

Annoys neighbours

These speakers are the best you can buy, it took me years to save up, but since I have a amazing job, as the manager of IBM I can easily affored them as well as two others for rears. You cant get better sound then this, unlucky if you cant afford them. Ha ha ha ha you poors sods

Similar Products Used: Nothing for same price
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audiophile [May 31, 2001]
Strength:

It is the BEST speaker available

Weakness:

cough... cough... price hurts if you can't afford it.

Bar none, these are THE greatest speakers available. I can afford them, so the price is not a problem. For most, I would presume the cost would be.

Similar Products Used: B&W Nautilus series.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com