Apogee Acoustics Duetta Signature Floorstanding Speakers

Apogee Acoustics Duetta Signature Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Two-way ribbon loudspeaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Sep 04, 2004]
flintstone
AudioPhile

Strength:

90% of the "best of the best" with very few speakers even today that don't leave you very un-impressed after hearing a pair of these.

Weakness:

Only one and YMMV on this: These speakers can over-load a small room..they need to be placed well away from the wall behind them (mine are 5 ft. out). Bass may be more than you like if not properly setup..could be a problem in a small room IMHO.

I have owned many speakers in the last 30 years..none have made me more happy than my Duetta Sig's. While no speaker I have owned (or heard) could do it all for me as a picture of what the real-thing sounds like...the Duetta Signatures are by far the most fun I've had in audio. My room (dedicated) is large enough to place these large speaker were they can really open-up into a fantastic soundstage. Mid-range quality is second to nothing I've ever heard at any price. Bass, well with my trusty old Krell Ksa-250 (2,000 watts at 1 ohm)...stunning would be an understatment. I have 3 large Vmps sub's that I use in this large multichannel system...don't even bother to fire them up for music as there is no need. That said and IMHO, these are not a good rock speaker unless the rock is very well recorded. Why?...because they will pick apart any poorly recorded (most old rock) cd. Now if you have a turntable for your old rock albums things change and you will enjoy the older stuff much more as the albums were no way near as bright as early CD's were. Are these the last speakers I will ever own? Nope...I will upgrade to the Apogee Scintilla on day.

Similar Products Used:

Very few similar products have been made. I will say that I love Maggies and if I had to pick something in that line to campare...the 3.6's would be about the range I would pick. That said, I would never trade my Duetta Sig's for the 3.6's as far as sound quality goes. YMMV

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2004]
Stephan Fiege
AudioPhile

Strength:

Absolutely wonderful and relaxing sound. And the look. A big MUST for music-lovers.

Weakness:

Sometimes the size. Difficult to place.

These speakers are a wonderful investment for those that have the opprotunity and money to pair them up with the proper components (strong Amps!). The soundstage and imaging is fantastic. In instrumental music, you can clearly identify each instrument and its location. And how clear and natural sounding the Apogee is with female vocalists - breathless! And the bass? It is very fast and for me it is deep enough. They make me to stay at home and look and listen.

Similar Products Used:

Apogge "Calipper Reference". Audio Physic "Caldera". ProAc "Response 2.5". p.a.t. "Bolero" and many others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2002]
hemant
AudioPhile

Strength:

soundstage- width, depth, and height accurate tonally

Weakness:

i have a dedicated listening room so aesthetics is not an issue

In the right room with the right equipment, these speakers make you forget that you are listening to a stereo and put the performers on a stage in front of you. The musicians are IN THE ROOM!

Similar Products Used:

magneplanar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 1999]
Brian Rowland
an Audiophile

Every once in a while a very special audio product is produced........ Back in the 60's and 70's Radford produced the STA15/STA25 valve amps which are now highly collectable. Quad was pleasing people with their 'hand built" ESL's
In the 80's and 90's companies like Audio Research and Apogee have continued to "craft" audio components while setting new standards in performance.

My Apogee Duetta Signature loudspeakers were purchased in 1994 secondhand to replace a pair of Quad ESL 63's. While the Quads were generally rewarding to listen to I found myself making too many excuses to myself about "leanness" and strained dynamics......

Before purchase I was able to do critical AB comparisons. My equipment consisted of Linn/Koetsu/Marantz CD 94 Mk2 and ARC SP11/D125 amplifiers.
Using this equipment in my room the Apogees were clearly superior - notably in power handling and bass response. Treble was more extended - but in the mid range the Quads held their own!

The Duettas need a very good power amplifier that will drive a 4 ohm load and I was lucky enough to acquire an Audio Research D125 valve amp which matches extremely well. This combination was favourably reviewed by Martin Colloms (Hi Fi News) in 1990 and I agree with his observations regarding the synergy of these two components:

Bass is truly excellent mid range/treble is smooth and well integrated. The Duettas have excellent power/linearity characteristics and go seriously loud without strain! All system cables are very important - I have found bi wiring the best way to get optimum results. The room size/shape is also a factor.

Many people under estimate the influence of room acoustics. Having recently changed house I have been able to observe a radical improvement in sound performance. My current lounge is large and symmetrical (previously L shaped). The improvement in imaging and low frequency performance has been dramatic.

The Duettas are equally capable of reproducing church organ, large scale Classical Music, Folk or Rock When playing well recorded music the speakers "disappear" and the apparent sound field is wide and deep.

Overall the Duetta Signatures are an outstanding audio component - beautifully made and fully recommended.

As a final observation products made by this company in recent times appear to be receiving less market success than they deserve. I hope the audio public see the light before another great company disappears.







OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Mar 17, 2000]
Dan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

From what I am told, these are supposed to be awesome. incredible sound stage, openess and clarity on fem. vocals.

Weakness:

Tear a ribbon, and you are S.O.L.... (hear kitty kitty kitty, click,click .... BANG!!!) dont run bass throught them ..

Though they are large in size it is said that they are very impressive to hear. Problem A: Apogee Acoustics was sold to A.D.S. of which no longer have replacement parts available. So after a few days of searching, Still nothing on finding replacement Kapton or mylar. I contacted Dave at the carver repair center and he had no leads on parts. Simply speakers in clear water florida do great work on old altec/jbl and some 901's , but again no ribbon drivers. If you get a pair be carefull, take care of them. If parts were available, they would get 5 stars easily. If anyone knows were to get replacement ribbons please contact me (309)688-5103 or email at bolesde@home.com thanks all.

Similar Products Used:

first time with ribbons...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 03, 2001]
carl shaw
Audiophile

Strength:

soundimage, soundstage, air,

Weakness:

extreme low end and power handling

Just got a demo pair of Apogee Duetta Signatures from the importer here in Taipei. Sitting by the long wall in my living room. Driven by an used Jadis JA200, also from the same source. Unbelievable sound. Terrific, huge, sound image and soundstage. Very authentic vocal and string reproduction. Has all the virtues of small monitors, with significant improvement on all respects.

JA200 produces much more power than Duetta demands. Do not feel Apogee's "power thirsty" fame at all. Actually the speaker will rattle if I turn the volume too high. JA200 came with the Gold Lion KT88 of later production, may be made in China. Will replace for the Tung-Sol 6550 in due time (i.e., when any KT88 break), should have significant improvement.

I asked my contractor to make a pair of 75*55*9 cm wooden base (filled with sand), and securely screw the dusttas into the base. Also insert coins between the panels and the aluminum feets to reduce the shaking. These tweeks significantly improve the base and stabibility of soundstage. Any suggestions on the preper tweeking of Duetta will be greatly appreciated.

Similar Products Used:

Thiel, Sonus Faber Electa Amator 1, Ensemble Animata, AE2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2001]
don b.
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

voice

Weakness:

bass

great speakers

Similar Products Used:

polk audio speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2000]
Richard
Audiophile

I purchased my Duetta Signatures in 1991 and have spent the last 9 years improving the rest of my audio system around them. I think that speaks volumes about how much I like these speakers. When I was able to invest, at the time, some serious $$$ into home audio, I believed then, and still do, that loudspeaker selection is the place to start. I paid $4,000 for my Apogees(brand new) and have been thrilled with them ever since. Because of the ribbon technology, these speakers absolutely disappear from the listening experience - seamless, transparent - you name it, the room you are in becomes the speaker box! I listen to music as a hobby, so I will sit and enjoy all types of music for 2-4 hours per session. Whether I play at high volume or low volume the Duettas are consisent in their precise and musical response. Most importantly, I NEVER suffer from listening fatique, even after 2-3 hours of high volume.

The tweeter responds just the way I like it, not shrill or piercing. The ribbons are so quick that mid base and base response is crisp, accurate, and with plenty of slam - but very little booooommmm. Midrange and vocals are especially excellent. I have been unable to be satisfied with a variety of subwoofers which I have tried to mate with the Duettas (I've tried Mirage, Velodyne and REL), because they never sound quick enough to keep up with the Duettas, and consequently, I find myself tweeking the sub down to the lowest volume so it doesn't overpower the Sigs.

The Duettas can handle lots of power and a midsize to large room. I am using them bi-amped (Forte Model 6a amps at 400wpc)and bi-wired. If you want to spend $2,000-$3,000 on speakers, look for a used pair of Duettas or Divas (3 way version of the Duetta)and you'll be thrilled, otherwise plan on spending a lot more for comparable sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2001]
David
Audio Enthusiast

Agree with other reviewers that these are the best sounding speakers I've ever heard- truly magical and fun! The more power the better. I've been pleased with combining them with a pair of Vandersteen subs for extra bass. Does anyone have a newer pair for sale? or Divas for sale?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2001]
pat
Audiophile

Strength:

sound is full

Weakness:

Sound reproduction is not flat.Bass is too loud relative to mid-range and and high frequency

I bought this pair of Duetta second hand and have a lot of problem with unbalanced level between bass and mid/high. I get some improvement by attenuating the bass but still find mid-high lacking. I wonder if bi-amp would help. Would welcome any comments or suggestions. How can I get a copy of the manual?

Similar Products Used:

megnepan

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com