Angstrom Omega 26 Floorstanding Speakers

Omega 26

2-way, 2x 6.5" woofer, 1" tweeter

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
mhaw2001   AudioPhile [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent value Amazing sound quality Excellent build quality and craftsmanship 10 Year transferrable warranty Canadian designed and build Proper anechoic testing and specs Copper woofers are eye catchers

Weakness:

Towers too short - need to be tilted up Grills mar the sound quality slightly Bi-Wiring is a must to achieve proper sound quality Usable bass is limited to 40Hz- a sub is req'd Maple or Rosewood cabinets would be nice

Canadian's build the best speakers in the industry. The Angstrom Omega 26's are no exception. These are fabulous monitors. The sound is beyond what you would expect in the midrange playing field of $500-1000 speakers. The speakers are unique. To their small and slender shape to the beautiful shine from the copper woofers the speakers stand on their own. The sound is detailed with excellent highs and no signs of compression and distortion by bi-wiring them to a Kenwood VR-6070 THX surround recevier in Pure Stereo mode. DVD-Audio sounds fantastic with a full Angstrom setup. I have Omega 26 fronts, Omega 5C Center (VERY unique!- triangle sides with a SINGLE 5" woofer and Dual tweeters) and two pairs of Omega 5's for side and rear surrounds for THX-EX processing. I use a Paradigm PW-2200 to fill in the bottom end. These speakers need the grills removed and the cabinet tilted up so you can get the glorious and wide soundstage I experience everyday. This is a must. The speakers take on a very different sonic character with the grills and and the whole speaker flat on the floor. The speakers are unfortunately too short so the speaker NEEDS to be tilted up! Bass is somewhat lacking due to a 40Hz bottom end but Angstrom does their homework. Just by reading their pages and pages of speaker design philosphy and testing on their website at angtromspeakers.com, you can't help but give them credit. Angstrom and Paradigm are probably one of the few manufactuers that give proper specs above the board. The Sensitivty ratings are done at ANECHOIC levels and not the industry standard IN-ROOM response. 90db Anechoic = 93db In-room. The also give proper power response in Wattage Amplifier Power clipping 10% of the time with musical signal. The 26's are a real world proper 100W. Build quality is excellent. 3/4" MDF with real wood laminar veneer. Anyways, check out these Angstroms at any Leon's Fine Furniature or local high-end hi-fi shop. There is a list on the Angstrom website. You can't go wrong with Angstroms *10 YEAR* warranty.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sideshow885   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Very pleasing mids,and highs low destroion at high levels* grate build quality bi wireing i love it perfect size for an appartment nice crossover

Weakness:

lacking bottom end (bottom bass) little hard to place need a sub wofer

At first out of the box they seemed a little small,with basic styling. I then noticed a heavy set of duel binding post indacating bi wireing. I recomined anyone owing thies to bi wirire it does make a difference. I enjoyed the style of the duel 6.5s the were very pleasing to the eye,in there copper coloured drivers. After a little time setting them up about 20 min and running acoustic research master series cable i was in business. I first noticed that the speakers needed a little time to work in so i allowed this before my judgment on them. I slightley angled the cabnets back because of ther small size. I started with a anamated movie Titan A E Bam The sound was right in my face and diolag was clear and strong,the music was as it should of been intence and enterting. In the terms of two channel audo provited by Onkyo 196khz 24bt in pcm was clean and detaled, but i noticed it lacked a little bottom end but most og use a sub anyway and i recomend one with thies speakes. The build quality was at par with speakers in twice ther price. In all they are a grate product and I have no desire to reinvest an any loudspeakers and would recomined them to any one with a small to med room thanks Angstrom

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
sideshow885   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Very pleasing mids,and highs low destroion at high levels* grate build quality bi wireing i love it perfect size for an appartment nice crossover

Weakness:

lacking bottom end (bottom bass) little hard to place need a sub wofer

At first out of the box they seemed a little small,with basic styling. I then noticed a heavy set of duel binding post indacating bi wireing. I recomined anyone owing thies to bi wirire it does make a difference. I enjoyed the style of the duel 6.5s the were very pleasing to the eye,in there copper coloured drivers. After a little time setting them up about 20 min and running acoustic research master series cable i was in business. I first noticed that the speakers needed a little time to work in so i allowed this before my judgment on them. I slightley angled the cabnets back because of ther small size. I started with a anamated movie Titan A E Bam The sound was right in my face and diolag was clear and strong,the music was as it should of been intence and enterting. In the terms of two channel audo provited by Onkyo 196khz 24bt in pcm was clean and detaled, but i noticed it lacked a little bottom end but most og use a sub anyway and i recomend one with thies speakes. The build quality was at par with speakers in twice ther price. In all they are a grate product and I have no desire to reinvest an any loudspeakers and would recomined them to any one with a small to med room thanks Angstrom

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
birdseye   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent value, very good bottom end.

Weakness:

A bit too warm in the midrange.

I just picked these speakers up used from Oz Enterprises, (excellent service and shipping) and am pleased with them over all. I am trying out speakers to replace my old Mission 770's and these have much better bass and seem to present a larger soundstage. I do find them to be somewhat veiled in the midrange, everything sounds warmer but a bit less precise that I would like. They excel at rock/pop electric type music but in my opinion fall a bit short with acoustic music as the detail suffers somewhat. I would say that they are an excellent value at this price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Loris   [Sep 14, 2000]
Strength:

Definition of instruments, everything is so tight. Looks great, size, price.

Weakness:

None

The best sound for the money. I bought mine for about $700 Cdn. over a year ago, but I believe they are up to $800 now. I have a Nakamichi A/V 8, so the sound from that is amazing, but I use to run them off an old Technics amp and they still sounded amazing. The sound is so clean and real, everything is seperated perfectly (in my opinion), no muddy sounds.
I listened to alot of speakers at the time, some twice the price, but none matched the Angstroms, in sound or price. The price comes from the fact they are Canadian. The sound from the fact that these speakers are tested at the National Research Council in Ottawa, said to be one of the best sound studios around right now. Like the Paradigms of old, these speakers are designed for great sound, not great sales (although I'm sure they'd like to sell a few).
Quality at an amazing price, period!
Find them and have a listen.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2001]
Strength:

deep bass, clean highs, durable

Weakness:

lower quality binding posts on rear

I can only agree with what others have posted. Mine have survived 2 years of college, and they still sound great.

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Omer   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

Build/sound quality. Biwirable. Very naturalpresentation, tonal balance is pleasingly perfect, can be played loud without signs of compression, impressive imaging

Weakness:

looks like any other black tower speaker

I like supporting Canadian product, especially when you gaet a LOT more for your money than you expect. You simply cannot do bettre than these speakers for about $500. Biwireable/biamplable, they really sing when wired this way. Imaging is rock solid, so good in fact that I don't even use a center channel in my home theater anymore. The bass is smooth without being thumpy and unpleasant. Metallica sounds just as good as Diana Krall. Highs are smooth and extended without harshness. They play just as well loud with no sign of compression as the do low for those candle-lit dinners. The only thing is the finish - the built quality is excellent, but I wish they were offered in a birch or rosewood instead of basic black.
I highly recommend these Canadian monitors, espeically if you're considering the higher priced competition.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Monitor 7, PSB, Energy, Axiom, any other Canadian speaker, Polk Audio, etc
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
loop da loop   an Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 1999]

these things are killers! i listened to mirage fx series as well as paradigm performance and monitors, and these blew 'em all away--and for a great price. i was about to buy the paradigm phantoms, but you can't remove the grills, so be careful cuz you don't know what kind of materials are behind there. paradigm make great speakers, but the angstroms sound better, are well-made and super solid.
i lucked out and got the omega 26's and the trinity surrounds for $825 including tax. the bass is solid and the highs are crystal clear. match that with a good-looking design, solid construction and a ten-year warranty and you can't lose. five stars all around.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Graham   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2001]
Strength:

Sound quality, design, looks

Weakness:

Know of none

Imaging is great! The bass response is simply amazing also! Considering the woofer size and the fact that my previous speakers were 12" Cervin Vega's I'm very happy with these speakers. Bass response was one of my main concerns prior to buying these...but there's absolutely nothing to fear. To boot, there's a 10 year guarantee. Can't go wrong for the price even if double what I paid.

Similar Products Used: PSB, Paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com