Acoustic Energy AE2 Floorstanding Speakers

Acoustic Energy AE2 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

(2) 5" Woofers, 2" Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Sep 10, 2009]
Chan Kong Wa
AudioPhile

My speaker AE 2 rosewood had been broken all around because volt amp was too hot and continual playing are burn it up, and i need to replace the speaker, please advice.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 13, 2004]
JCsix
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

detail. neutral. size of sound ( place them correctly in the room though for this...). value.

Weakness:

a bit too revealing with bad recordings but I think my bryston amp being so reavealing has to do with that

I have heard many speakers and monitors in the 1000-3000 US$ range. I ended up buying these... The AE1 series from acoustic energy is a legend in the audiophile world and the AE2 product is really built on top of this and one notch up in performance. I use it with a Bryston 4b driving it and the sound is great - very neutral, revealing, somewhat warm compared to other speakers I tried and incredibly rich for a monitor. I did a blind test at the store with other speakers - i.e - the B&W 804s and I could not believe I chose this monitor for richness across the board from bass to highs vs a full sized speaker!! it can sure fill a room no doubt, the bass is rich and strong and most importantly fast!! I recommend these hands down to anyone who is seaking a speaker in the 2000 dollar price range - new. the odd thing is that noone will sit down in your living room and go WOW the minute they hear them - but after a while of listening - everyone who heard these thought the sound was just incredible after spending some time listening to high quality material on them. but I have to say this! i have the reference series of the AE 2 - I went to audition the signature series (exact same looking speaker aside from finish and of course electrical components used to build it) they sell for twice the price, but man..... incredible!!!! seriously the best sounding speaker I ever heard. if you can be patient - save and buy the signatures if you can ever find them.... far superior to an already great speaker.... hope this helps :)

Similar Products Used:

b&w, sililoquy, kef, klipsh

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2003]
tubes
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

details,incredible soundstage,bloom,imaging,craftmanship. PHIL JONES>>>>>>

Weakness:

soft base......

Phil Jones monitors are legendary,from his incredible details to acoustic designs to the manufacturing aspects his monitors are amazing.From his classic AE1..AE2 to his Solo's his designs are second to none.Having recently purchases the AE2 I can fully support other audiophiles claims this is a terrific monitor.It takes the AE1 imaging and details and widens its soundstaging with more depth and spread,Ae1 may have a little advantage in its transparency but the AE2 goes deeper and tighter.Instrument have a sence of bloom and vocals are fleshed out perfectly.The weakness is that there is a tendency to roll off a little too quickly on some material(pianos) but it does not distract the listener.AE2 luvs tubes or neutral solidstate amps.These speakers are very reveiling so equipment matching is a must.If your listening is not too large these speakers are a must have classic, good stands are critical for theses monitors.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2000]
Marino Marinkovic
Audiophile

Strength:

Transparency, dynamics, involvment ...

Weakness:

None.

I've just auditioned the AE2 Reference II, and was so impressed that I ordered a pair.

Of all the speakers that I have auditioned, this is by far the best one. This is the only speaker that dissapeared, and made me listen to the music.

Even my wife love these speakers.

The Acoustic Energy AE2 Reference II are the best speakers I have ever heard - by far. From top to bottom, they are clean, dynamic and engaging like no other speaker. The midrange is so clean and crisp; revealing every single sound and nuance of any recording, yet without being harsh (which Nautilus804 are) at very high volumes.

Celine Dion's presence on My Heart Will Go On is remarkable, as is the dynamic impact on Madonna's Frozen. And the drums, and voices on Bruce Springsteen's Philadelphia are just there with you in the room. These are just examples, I can go on forever, but I won't.

This is AE2 Reference II: A very natural sound, completely uncoloured. A transparent midrange, and smoth treble, and the bassreproduktion makes you think that there is a subwofer hidden somwhere. But you know there isn't; because the speakers are so fast.

The imaging is fantastic, far better than the Nautilus 804, and there is a depth that is hard to find. The pinpointing of the instruments are dead on. You know where every musician is, and you can feel him breathing.

In one word: WOW!!!

This is love.

(do keep in mind what else I've listened to)

Similar Products Used:

B&W Nautilus804,805, AE520, QLN Signature, Definitive Technology, Dynaudio, QRS Tellus, QRS Jupiter, QRS Saturnus, Thiel, Martin Logan, KEF Reference Model One, Canton, Audio Vector, Snell, Dali. I've listened to almost everything up to 40 000 SKR.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2000]
Carl Shaw
Audiophile

Got a pair of Ensemble Animata (a scaled-down version of Ensemble PA-1, sold only in some East Asian countries, I think). AE2 has a fuller-bodied sound and base punch, though Animata's high is slightly better and has more "air." Overall AE2 is a better speaker, though Ensemble has the chance to add a pair of Profundo subwoofers and enhance a lot. My friend ask me to sell any one of them. Hard decision as both are good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2000]
Carl Shaw
Audiophile

Sory Guys. I attepmted to tamed the AE2's and got some positive results. First, I change all tubes on my front gears to NOS old tubes lkes Mullard and Telefunkens. Changing the KT88-6550 power tubes into the Tung Sol 6550 works marvously. Second, I find that swiching the left and right speakers so that the tweeters are on the inner edges, plus toe in quite a bit, can soften the sound. Although the AE2's are still "hi-fi" speakers for my ears, I can now enjoy their sound mow.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 27, 2002]
David
Audiophile

Strength:

speed - this is the fastest speaker around! dynamics, bass response - very clear and articulated, midrange is clear, open and full. Great design/finish, super stands (check 'em out!). Build quality is awesome

Weakness:

treble does not reach the same level as both bass and midrange do (treble rolls of at 17.000 hz). revealing - demands high-end components, or they will sound awful, thin and forwarded. Very different presentation/soundstage/response on different stands - sounds like a total different speaker.

I've lived with these speakers for about 3 monts now, and I can truely say that they keep getting better and better for each day that passes.

The bass response is equal to no other speaker - it's fast, tight, articulated and dry, BUT with body.

These speakers love playing loud live music, since they are so fast, you'll soon be playing air guitar and singing along for hours.

As I mentioned above they need quality equipment, or they will sound worse than the cheapest BOSE sattelite/sub system (currently the worst sounding speakers on the market, and proberbly the worst speakers ever!). These are studio monitors and will reveal the slightest fault in your system, thus making it unlistenable.

But if you hook the up with tubes (preferably high power push-pull amps) and Nordost cables combined with a musical and high resolution cd player, these speakers will blow you away.

If you are planning to buy this speaker, please take some time ajusting your system, or you will not hear the full potential of these speakers.

I highly recommend the AE2 mk2!

Regards

Similar Products Used:

Dynaudio Contour 1.1 and Geminis, Chario Reference 100, System Audios, B&W Nautilus 805.....and many more.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 06, 1998]
Rob
an Audio Enthusiast

The AE2's are the closest you can get to "being there" in anywhere near this price range (about US$2000 not including the stands)...THEY BRING THE MUSICIANS INTO YOUR ROOM!!...yes that means they are on the forward side...but hey, do you want to be there or not? And if you say not always, then great because these are the most dynamic speakers around (say micro dynamics) and are a pure pleasure at lower volumes as well. They image wonderfully, and are liquid smooth...with great subjective bass that extends into the low 40's (again with the right gear/room). This is REAL base...not the boomy chuffs, but clear stuff the way it is "live", they way it is supposed to be. And the midrange? The best I've heard below $5000 -- NO CONTEST (and what are speakers without a decent midrange)!!!
The AE2s are very flexible for all types of music...classical, Jazz, pop, rock (only if you listen to a lot of Symphonies this is not the top choice), but rock they do, and with Jazz in puts you in the club!!!!

However -- you need to very careful on amp/preamp selection. They need an amp wiht POWER! I use a CJ MF2200 (tubelike solid state)...and a CJ tube preamp. I would not recommend a pure solid state setup with these speakers - with a ss preamp matched with a powerful Bryston they sounded a bit bright, and with the Parasound the liquidity was lacking...but they are wonderful with at least one tube in the amp/preamp chain.

After some experimentation I settled on Tara Labs Master Gen 2 cables -- that brought a new level of clarity/detail/image (but a long break in period to get optimal)! Then the top of the line Audio Alchemy DDE 3.0 and Transport PRO combo-- you need the source to bring it all together and they givea huge sound stage.

And by the way...get the Stands (List is 1200 but I got them new for 700)...it makes a difference you could not believe (it was the last thing I added cause I thought the stands weren't worth the money -- I was WRONG).

Anyway if you want to hear the real thing -- look no further...just remember to match them carefully with the right amp/preamp.




OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Jul 21, 1998]
ABDUL KALIK RAZAK
an Audiophile

Each person have individual taste in music,well I for one have to disagree about the AE11 being the best under $5000/- for starters it could'nt match the SONUS FABER ELECTA AMATOR($5000/-)and guys please listen to SONUS FABER CONCERTO which is far more cheaper than AE11, it outclassed it in every department,I challenged anyone to placed "sonus faber concerto" &AE11 side by side I assure you'll wonder why AE11 is pricy.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
[Sep 13, 2000]
Hung DT
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Big, clear sound.

Weakness:

none

I bought these used speakers few months back when I heard them at the shop and immediately felt in love with their sound.
Compared with my Sonus Faber Concertino, AE2 got more masculine and thicker sound yet its tonal is still extremely natural and large. It poscess very own sound that makes me keep these speakers (may be forever) with me though I already own Concertino. Classical music sound best on them.
In short, you can't make any comparison out of it, just judge them with your heart.

Similar Products Used:

Sonus Faber Concertino, B&W CDM1.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com