ACOUSTAT 2+2 MEDALION TRANSFORMERS Floorstanding Speakers

2+2 MEDALION TRANSFORMERS

FULL RANGE ELECTROSTATIC SPEAKER

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
MrAcoustat   AudioPhile [Nov 21, 2012]

Hi my name is Andre MrAcoustat Sevigny i belong to the Acoustat proud owners club here in Quebec Canada i have been an Acoustat owner for more than 28 years Spectra 22s - Spectra 33s - Model 2+2s - and three pairs of Model 1+1s this is what i own now a very special pair with 2x3 metal frame & base covered with wood they are 14x94 inches and weigh 200 pounds the making of these speakers can be seen in my Flickr Photo Galery with other nice photos.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mracoustat/

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Betty Clark   AudioPhile [May 14, 2007]
Strength:

I was able to find a light bulb at www.interlight.biz that I needed. They had a very fair price, also large cross-reference and lots of lcd projector bulbs

I was able to find a light bulb at www.interlight.biz that I needed. They had a very fair price, also large cross-reference and lots of lcd projector bulbs

Customer Service

very good

Similar Products Used: light bulb projection bulb lamp miniature specialty medical
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ewadley   AudioPhile [Feb 25, 2005]
Strength:

Amazing clarity, like they are not their at all. Tremendous resolution even with less than perfect sources - you hear what is really there. Extremely revealing, completely musical, an engrossing listening experience. Will reveal your weak links in compenents. I thought that kind of talk was all bull before I got these.

Weakness:

Supringsly bass is not as weak as you might gather. I mean they are BIG surfaces-- I find they're bass to be quite satisfying for most listening.

This review is for Acoustat model Spectra 22. I purchased it on Ebay recently for a song, and primarily because they guy lived in a very out of the way place and no one within 1000 miles would drive there go them. I did. The drive was not fun but well worth it. I first fell in love with Acoustats from listening to a pair of 2+2's that my friend's father owns. Anwyay these are an incredible value. You don't seem to hear much about them but they were rated a Class B recommend component in a 1990 stereophile review - I have a copy of it. Very impressive actually. They are not prone appearantly to a lot of the limitations of previous designs or manufacturers but were only manufactured for a short time due to Rockford getting out of the 'Stat' business. Anyay the sound of these things is truly breathtaking. They have an accompanying woofer with 4 cones (its really big, weighs 75 pounds) and I haven't even bothered to hook it up yet - these sounds so smooth without it. For years listening to standard dynamic speakers I have always been able to sense a sort of incoherence in music, especially in complicated passages - where I seem to have to strain to follow the instruments - not at all like live performance. I suppose that might be due to the crossovers? In any case I immediately noticed these things to be completely pure, devoid of phases incongruetities and downright beautiful. I currently don't have an amp strong enough to power them to sufficient levels but so far they have had no trouble playing even at fairly loud levels with no strain. I downright love these things - they are shockingly absolutely shockingly realistic in their resolution of all frequency ranges. In my opinion these works of art and science don't get enough press. There is so much more to say about these but I just don't have the time. I could go on and on. They have revolutionized my enjoyment of music.

Similar Products Used: Celestion Ditton speakers, Wharfedale Diamonds, JBL HLS series, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
FA Gunawan   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2003]
Strength:

Very very natural in mid and high freq. range.

Weakness:

Too big for a domestic room.

I bought Acoustat Spectra 66 from an ex Acoustat Dealer in Jakarta in a very good condition in 2002.This magnificent loudsdpeaker was produced by Rockport in 1989. We still can buy this loudspeaker in used condition (look at audiocircuit.com). Acoustat Spectra 66 or 6600 is a full range electrostatic loudspeaker with 6 panels in each speaker, 2 panels for high and mid, and the rest for the bass. The dimension of this speaker is 8ft height, 3ft wide and 4in thick,the same with Acoustat 2+2, rather ugly and difficult to match with our room. But, if you have a good system to drive this speaker, it will produce a very natural, clean, and transparant sound with a wide, deep, and magnificent sound stage, without hurting your ears. The bass is deep enough for an electrostatic loudspeaker, althought is not as tight as Revel Ultima Studio. I have compared directly this loudspeaker to B&W N802 and Revel Ultima Studio. Acoustat is still the best for naturalness in the mid and high freq. range. Revel is the best box loudspeaker in the market today, and has mid&high freq. near Acoustat, but Acoustat still more natural than Revel, although Revel is more detail. I use NAD S200 to power this Acoustat and still try to upgrade it.

Similar Products Used: B&W Nautilus 802, Revel Ultima Studio.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stilespj   AudioPhile [Aug 17, 2002]
Strength:

Same as my review of July, 2000

Weakness:

Same as my review of July, 2000

This is a followup to my review of July, 2000. I recently re-worked my Acoustat 2+2s. I replaced the input coupling capacitor network (a non-polarized electrolytic cap in parlalled with a plastic cap) with a parallel combination of a 200uF metalized polyproylene, a 10 uF polypropylene and a 1.5uF polystyrene cap. These capacitors couple the input signal to the high frequency transformer. The 1 ohm wirewound resistor in series with the low frequency transformer was replaced with a 1 ohm wirewound non-inductive resistor made with non-ferrous materials. The rheostat that adjusts the high frequency level was kept. A second set of input binding posts and fuse holders were added (the original set was replaced as well with higher quality ones) so that each of the stepup transformers has their their own set of binding posts and fuses. I would like to eliminate the fuses and fuseholders entirly, but in the event of an amplifier failure and damage to a transformer (most likely the low frequency transformer), I decided to keep the fusing in place because replacement transformers are not available and I do not want to have to take one apart and rewind it. In the high voltage end (the transformer's secondaries), I replaced the capaicitor there with a series-parallel combination of 1600v metalized polypropylene capacitors. I would have liked to have been able to use one capacitor rated at 10KV, but the place selling these has a large minimum order and accepts only company p.o.s. I did not replace the 50K ohm in the low frequency transformer secondary side because I could not locate anyone with 50watt, 50k ohm non-inductive power resitors, even though some manufactures list such in their catalogs. They will make a batch for you if you are ordering 10,000 or more. Anyway, with the changes I did make, the speakers have a newfound clarity that is wonderful to hear, even with my non-state-of-the-art system. The imaging of these speakers, while still not a strong point, is improved inasmuch as sounds located midway between the speakers are more pinpointed in their location. The upper and mid bass is more well defined. For the amount of money spent on parts (I also laid out and made new circuit boards for the high voltage circuit) and the time expended, the improvements in sound quality are worth the effort. Paul J. Stiles

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
superstat   [Feb 15, 2002]
Strength:

Lower and upper midrange is the best hands down. Upper frequencies are crisp and clear with excellent clarity that allows you to distinguish different size cymbals, cymbal brushing, drumstick striking and various percussion sounds. Accoustic guitars are very clear with hand movements being noticed as fingers press against frets. Vocals are produced with clarity that will astound the fussiest listener. My system has two small shelf speakers for rear channels with JVC sound processor and an Infinity HPS-1000 subwoofer. As a combined system in a biamp situation, the dsp will create a sound enviroment that has no words to describe the clarity and realism. Since the electrostatics have a natural wide soundstage, the dsp will push the soundstage back and create depth beyond belief. Instrument clarity and placement in the soundstage become extremely focused and the small listening sweetspot will vanish as you become a spectator for LIVE MUSIC!! The two 8 foot high panels will absolutely vanish in front of you as you notice different locations of instrument across the stage. Under typical stereo conditions the speakers are wonderful, the dsp is another tool to push the s

Weakness:

Typically all electrostatics need low end help, Accoustat included. My Infinity subwoofer has filled the void with powerful punch and blends seemlesly around 80 HZ. Base notes are enhanced with clarity as the Accoustats fill in the upper base spectrum with string or synthesized qualities. In normal stereo playing the base will extend low but is a bit weak.If you are willing to boost base with tone control, you can produce pleasing lows at sufficient levels without coloring the mid frequencies.

Accoustat 2+2, Medallion Transformers. I purchased these speakers in 1987 for $1700, that was a lot of money for me at the time but has proven to be a bargain over the years. Considering all the speakers I owned and tried through the years, the Accoustats broke my habit of wanting another set! I have owned them for 15 years without any failure or problem. Last month my wife stiched new light gray knit fabric for new covers, it was a family affair we both enjoyed. The sound produced from these planars have sonic qualities that literally put them in their own stand alone class and in my opinion is a benchmark due to the honesty of sound. The speakers have passed the test of time using proven older technology that will compete with the best designs of today. I tip my hat to the Accoustat design group for the remarkable job they did, a lot of thought and critical decisions were made to optimize their electrostatic panel. I feel so lucky to be one of the few owners who have lived with their accoustats and experienced the personal relationship of the music''s mood and feeling the artist desires!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anoop   Audiophile [Apr 21, 2000]
Strength:

Beautiful sound stage

Weakness:

HUGE, don't over drive them, pick placement

An absolutely amazing speaker if you can find a pair.

ONE WARNING, DON'T OVEDRIVE THEM!

I streched the membrane on one of them by playing them too load. Fortunately I was able to get them back to proper order with a few treatments of a heat gun. PAIN IN THE ASS TO WORK ON! But well worth the effort. After that I bought a servo-15 and music once again fills my house.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michel Sicotte   Audiophile [Apr 11, 2000]
Strength:

Sound warm and rich. Superb soundstage. Indestructible. Very good imaging and low distortion

Weakness:

Expensive to drive they need an amplifier stable and powerfull, small listener's aera, need a good and big listening room.

First, excuse my english:)
Second: This speaker are older than 1995 but i have no choice.
Beautifull soundstage, rich medium and sweet high, the bass is fair and very deep for an electrostatic but i use a subwoofer and the match is very good if you cut it very low
(ex: 60hz or 80hz max) It give a natural voice and good positionning of instrument. Indestructible, this speaker can give a very high sound pressure with no listener's fatigue. I try many electronics with them and i made a conclusion you can't made a compromise with this part because the 2+2 will give you the truth and nothing else but if you find the right stuff the pleasure will be great. Don't forget you need a very good quality amplifier an preamp because this speaker is very revelant. I have this speaker for many years and i can't replace them when i listening the sound giving by a pair of box.
Better than a MartinLogan SL3 because the high is more sweet and naturel, the bass is definitively better and the imaging is more large and deep. The comparaison with the Magnepan is simple i don't like the sound's texture of this speaker.
The 2+2 or 3 are for electrostatic's lover if you can find them i recommand it all the way. You probably find it at low cost in the used market.

System:
Sony CDP-XA7ES CD player (Cardas Hexlink)
SonicFrontiers SFL 2 preamp (GoldenDragon tube)
Krell KSA 100 MK2 amp. (WBT + StraightWire)
Velodyne ULD 15 (modified: alimentation X 2 , Vampire cable, born )

Similar Products Used: MartinLogan (hybride), Magnepan (isodynamic)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank Monaco   Audiophile [Apr 18, 2001]
Strength:

Best soundstage I ever heard, Delicate, airy, pinpoint accuracy.

Weakness:

Bottom Base is not tight.

I have been in love with my Acoustats since the day I Bought them New. I built a room just for these speakers. (converted my garage)Took about 6 months of tweeking The speakers and my equipment and been in heaven ever since. Five months ago I moved, I thought the room I was going to use for my sound room would be too small so I sold the Acoustats and bought a pair Magnepan 3.6S. Just want you all to know I screwed up big time. I through $4,200.00 away and now am looking for speakers again.
Frank

Similar Products Used: To date I have used nothing That I thought was close.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Laszlo Bencze   Audiophile [Sep 16, 2001]
Strength:

Superb bass, openness, incredible soundstaging, extremely revealing, "bullet proof"

Weakness:

Lacks the 20hz to 28hz octave (who cares?)

I have owned these speakers since 1983. I have lived in 4 different houses since then and one of my criteria for purchasing a house has been that the ceilings be high enough to accomodate these wonderful speakers. The most remarkable point about them, if I had to narrow it down, would be the midbass response. The sound is so "there." It envelopes the listener. I have heard much more expensive speakers than these, but none of them have ever had that enveloping quality. It is so liberating to get away from the constricted sound of a box (even a very expensive box).

When I say they are "bullet proof" I mean that it is very difficult to damage them in normal use. If overdriven, the mylar simply touches the stator panel and a crackling discharge noise happens. This causes the speakers no harm. Once my teenage daughter called me to the house saying that "the stereo sounds funny." When I entered the listening room I saw that she had turned the pre-amp up to the maximum level and the speakers were producing nothing but crackling static discharge noises. I turned down the gain and all was instantly well. So if you drop your pick up cartridge onto a record or your amp shorts out, it won't hurt the speakers at all. (Someone else in this forum stated that he had overdriven the speakers and "stretched" the mylar panels. I don't understand how this could happen.)

The speakers are extremely revealing of electronic componentry. For years I used Cary SLM-70 monoblocks paired with a Cary SLP-70 preamp. Not long ago I auditioned a Quicksliver preamp and instantly noticed vastly more bass. It literally sounded as if I had added a subwoofer (and very good one) to the system. I had no idea the speakers could produce this kind of bass until the Quicksilver joined the system.

I suppose if you must have the really deep bass you could add a Hsu subwoofer; but why complicate something that works so well when it is simple?

Regarding loudness: these speakers play as loud as I ever want to hear anything no matter how excited I might be. If you listen to music louder than these can play, you are most assuredly damaging your hearing.

By the way, I gave in and added a HDTV (Toshiba 40") to my music room and I have to say that with these speakers and electronics the system is as fine as I could ever imagine a TV playback system being. I have no center channel speaker; yet I easily hear the subtle movement in space from dialogue between two people on screen. It sounds as if there were speakers directly behind the screen that transmit dialogue exactly behind the actor's mouths. I'd call that excellent soundstaging!

Bottom line, I'm soon going to be auditioning new speaker cable (Silver Audio), I'm sure that eventually I'll replace my CD playback system, and I may even buy a new preamp or amp, but I have no intention whatsoever of replacing these speakers.

I saw that someone in this forum bought a pair for $200! I would have to call that the bargain of the century. If I ever saw a pair for sale for $200, I would buy them myself and give them to a dear friend as a gift.


Similar Products Used: Large Advents, KLH model six
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com