Yamaha NS-AC40X Center Channels

NS-AC40X

utilizes two 5-1/4" aluminum cone woofers with inverted dust caps and 1" aluminum dome tweeter to deliver the important center channel.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
eric de hoyos   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 14, 2002]
Strength:

clarity - bose center speaker does not compare.

Weakness:

size

I bought this speaker thinking it will do for now but I was really impressed on how it held up especially with my new av reciever (yamaha HTR-5590)pumping out 120 watts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Harpo   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2002]
Strength:

Clear and accurate for voice and music. TIP(make sure you set to small for the 80hz and under go to you sub)

Weakness:

Maybe the 80hz could be lower...but the bass management adjustments on your reciever takes care of that limitation.

A great center channel for an even greater price. Very clear and handles all the power I can throw at it with-out break-up. A perfect timber-match for the 200xt mains and the 50xt bookshelf speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alton Marschall   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2002]
Strength:

Highs Mids, High Tone Limiter, for macthing up with other speakers

Weakness:

A little Big

I had purchased the NS -A100-XT Towers from Best Buy First. (Which are great Speakers. But I had an old Crappy JBL Center I had been using for about Three months with my New Yamaha Towers. The Center was killing my Movie Experience the Towers would overwhelm my center. So I went to Best Buy (where I work) and picked up the Yamaha Center. Can''t be any happier. And now with the bigger NS A200-XT as my Fronts and the NS A100-XT as my rears my system just Rocks. And working there I picked up the whole speaker set for under $400. Now that’s a deal!!! Oh and the guy in the above review that asked about the Limiter on the back. That is a High Tone Limiter. If you have Towers aren''t quite as good as your Center you can tone back the Center some to get a better Blending Effect from your tweeters...

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brad   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2001]
Strength:

Looks nice, great sound

Weakness:

It is rather heavy

I saw only three reviews on here for this speaker before I purchased, but they were all good. J&R cut me a deal (knocked off $40) so I couldn't pass it up. This thing rocks. At full volume, I notice zero distortion...sounds perfect. I can't recommend this thing enough. I was considering a more expensive JBL center ($250 range), but when I listened to them both in Best Buy, this was by far much better. Unless you need a speaker for a huge room, this should be enough.

Similar Products Used: My tv speakers (virtual surround center...don't ever do that)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Steele   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2001]
Strength:

Good price, crisp and clean

Weakness:

Overwhelms the OEM Yamahas that came with my HTIB system (5440 and NSP-220 speakers) - Also, "manual" doesn't describe the tweeter attenuator knob worth a darn.

I got this speaker because someone gave me a $100 Best Buy Gift Card. So, for $60 including tax, I got the center speaker upgraded.

I wasn't as impressed with everyone else here. I am still tuning the center speaker. It is a little harsh, and maybe I can get that tuned out. However, the speaker sounds good overall, I think I just don't have it tuned with the rest of my system well.

I also have a YST-800 (I LOVE IT) and I am thinking about the 100 tower speakers to go along with the system. Since I'll probably order them online, rather than pay BB's prices I will wait until after Christmas to avoid the shipping hassles of having to be at the house when they come by, etc...

I'll post a review of it once it is paired with these speakers.

Overall, it sounds good and is a great buy for the money.

One tip, compared to my old center speaker I assumed this should be set as a "LRG" speaker on my surround sound. After reading the manual, this is not so. That has already helped the harshness by making it a "SML" speaker on the surround.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha HTIB center speaker
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2001]
Strength:

Clear highs and mids

Weakness:

None so far!

I've demoed many center channels from $100-$250 range, and this one is the best by far. It sounds superb (at least to me) in my HT setup.

Not sure how to use that attenuator knob though. Anyone want to shed some light on what I'm suppose to listen for?

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joey   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2001]
Strength:

Great sound and excellent value

Weakness:

Way to big

Upgraded the stock center that yamaha had with the rack system that I had purchased a while back. And what a difference it has made, it sounds like a brand new home theater system. Binding posts, great off axis sound, strong mids,excellent vocal clarity,at $90 this is the best bargin that I have ever bought. Just tell J&R to price match.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha full range center
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
sean altous   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2001]
Strength:

Crystal clear highs, with an unusually rich sound for the price. OVERALL LOOKS.

Weakness:

very large and heavy.

I first purchased it at video sphinx for a well worth it price. I had purchased it after I had already bought my yahmaha ax200xt, Which Are the best overall speakers you can buy for the money. I was running my sony for awhile with my mains and it gave me listing fatigue like you would not believe, one movie and that was it. Now with my new yahmaha I can watch movies all day. If you only have a few hundred to spend don't go with sony or optipuke go yahmaha.
Also this is by far the best speaker setup for the money

Similar Products Used: Optimus, jbl, sony. And a yahmaha 5280 reciever(also a must have)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   [Jan 16, 2001]
Strength:

Crisp, clear sound. Yamaha brand name.

Weakness:

Size and weight (it's huge)

I was putting together my first home theatre system and I listened to JBL, Cerwin Vega and a few others to name a few. But, I went with Yamaha because of their name and quality in their product. The crisp, clear sounds that this center channel speaker produces is awesome. I have Yamaha's NS-A838 as my mains, NS-A638s as rear surrounds. On a budget, I now have an excellent home theatre system to enjoy DVD movies in Dolby Digital as compared to the much more expensive systems.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Maxwell   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2001]
Strength:

Rich sound. Magnetic shielding is for real, sits atop my TV with no problems. Tweeter attenuator allows timbre match to different mains.

Weakness:

Heavy (14 pounds) and BIG: It made it look like my 27" TV shrunk once I put it up there!

I have posted several glowing reviews of Yamaha products here recently and I had started to become worried; I was noticing quite a bit of listening fatigue after any back to back movie watching sessions.

Was it the new Yamaha mains? Please say it ain't so!

Nah, it was the El Cheapo JBL TLX center channel. Although I can't say I was directly conscious of it, I think the mismatch of rich sound coming from the mains paired with the not-rich-at-all sound coming from the JBL center was causing some major listening fatigue.

Darn, I was so trying so hard to hold out on spending more money right away on the center channel; but I just couldn't stand it anymore! Well, I have no regrets. The fatigue simply evaporated. I could tell immediately that the Yamaha center simply sounded "better" overall. A couple of back to back movie sessions confirmed my hypothosis: Yamaha center kicks major !@$#@ and the JBL TLX movies center sucks major
@#%*@!

As an added bonus, I don't think you have to have Yamaha mains to timbre match due to the tweeter attenuator knob (a great feature) Although my A638 produce such crystal clear highs, I have the knob wide open! An excellent center at any price range!

Similar Products Used: JBL TLX movies center (although the Yamaha is so vastly superior I hesitate to call it "similar"!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com