PSB Speakers Stratus C6 Center Channels

Stratus C6

This center channel speaker includes 2 X 1" (25mm) Treated Textile Dome Tweeters with Ferrofluid and 2 x 6.5" (165mm Polypropylene Cone Woofers with Rubber Surround.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Wes Godell   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2000]
Strength:

Outstanding imaging and accuarcy, Life like sound all the time. Creates a HUGE sound stage with precise detail.

Weakness:

Maybe a bit big ( I am streching on this one)

This center channel is truely in the upper class of HT center channels. The first thing I noticed once I replaced my B&W center channel was how the sound stage expanded along with the depth, while before it was quiet easy to tell that my center channel could not preform at the same level as the rest of my system. I really haven't been able to find a single weakness with it except that I can't put enough power to it. It handles the entire spectrum of HT. Voices are all to real. The C6 reproduces back ground music and "noise" with excellent detail, accurate and all very transparent that does not take away from any dialog but adds to the scene. Simply put I have tested many center channels and the only one that I have found that can hang with the C6 is the Martin logan center channel but its alot more money $1400.

I am useing the PSB C6 as my center, PSB stratus goldi's as my left and rights and Mission 702's for my rears ( I liked them better than the PSB's rears)

Overall I think that you'll be hard pressed to find a center channel that can out preform the C6.

Overall rating 5+
Value rating 5

Similar Products Used: B&W, Vandersteen, Energy, Martin Logan, Magnepan, Mirage, Snell, Mission
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roy   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2000]
Strength:

Clean open sound

Weakness:

Perhaps cost

This review is for PSB’s updated C-6i center channel. This speaker uses metal dome tweeters similar to those in the Stratus Gold’s, or at least they appear to be to be physically similar domes. I replaced the C-5 with this speaker and have been very pleased. The Lexicon Music Logic and Music Surround modes are very much better with the C-6i than with the C-5. The biggest difference is in the high end, where the sound is open and airy. My system is used for both music and video, as I assume it true for most people. If you use surround speakers in your music reproduction, I recommend that you audition this speaker, it deserves a listen. The Stratus Gold speakers have a very clean and open sound, which is closely matched by the C-6i.

Front Speakers – PSB Stratus Gold
Rear Speakers – PSB Alpha
Amplifier – Bryston 9B THX
Processor – Lexicon MC-1
Sound – Outstanding

I purchased this speaker from Len Gerling at 604-859-4200 for a very good price!

Similar Products Used: PSB C5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sonic   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2000]
Strength:

neutral, soundstage

Weakness:

price

got this hooked up my rotel rb985 thx power amp and yamaha rx 995 receiver and sony 7700 dvd player. Using regular 12 gauge monster cable with spades (can't afford better right now). I 'am very happy with this, the human voice is very lifelike and the sound stage if phenominal; its so big that i have to turn it down 3db. Build quality is very solid and attractive (i have got black oak veneer finish), altough it weighs like 30lbs. The twin silk dome tweeter is very smooth and not ear piercing. At 700+ Canadian, this very pricey but worth it if you watch a lot of movies.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Bruce Abar   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2000]
Strength:

Build, sound stage

Weakness:

none, maybe alittle big for 32" and below T.V.S

I do like this Center speaker better than the Energy AC300, has a good sound stage, important with a Center. The tweeters sound very natural, anouther important feature for a center. With at least 60% usage during movies, I find this very important. I use the Denon 3300, so I use five channel stereo alot, the C-6's disapears with the music! Anyone can email me for a Canadain shipper, he will ship anywhere at the best price, a lot less than the reviewer below me has suggested, and with the exchange rate, you cant lose.

Similar Products Used: Energy AC300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Titus Tolson   Audiophile [Nov 25, 2001]
Strength:

Clear and detailed, Size, Metal tweeters, dynamic

Weakness:

none

I originally had the PSB C6. After purchasing a pair of Goldi speakers, I decided to purchase the updated C6i with the metal tweeters so the front end would match. I also didn't like the C6 because it didn't seem to be all that detailed and clear plus it had a "boxey" sound. To achieve the sound I wanted, I had to resort to running an equalizer on the center channel. I hate eq's and really didn't want to degrade the signal and sound by going through an eq.
After living with the C6i for about six months, I've noticed more clarity and detail in the center channel. The metal tweeters seem to do the job. I took things a little further by adding a PSB Subsonic 5 (10" powered sub) to the mix. I'm going straight from the amp to the subsonic 5 to the C6i. I have the sub crossed over at about 110. What this does is take some of the bass out of the C6i to help to perform better. Now the center doesn't sound as "boxey" as it did with the C6. The sound is much more open and and has more of a full range sound that works well with the Goldi. I used the open of "Austin Powers- The Spy Who Shagged Me" and "New York Minute" from The Eagels' "Hell Freezes Over" DTS DVD to see the difference with the addition of the sub with the center. On "Austin Powers" the voice that reads the "story line" during the opening theme is much more dynamic and has more power and majesty than it did without the sub. On the "New York Minute" track the drums and bass are more dynamic and has more weight. The bass licks are more detailed than before and Don Henley doesn't sound like he has a cold or is singing through a rolled up newspaper. The kick drum has resonance and a killer "thud" sound. If you're a drummer like me, you will definitely appreciate having a sub on you center. My ht system sounds so much better with the addition of the C6i and subsonuc 5 combo.

Components:

PSB Goldi (front)
PSB C6i wired to PSB Subsonic 5
PSB Bronze (rears)
Proceed AVP
EAD Powermaster 1000
Sony SCD C333ES CD Changer with Modwright Upgrade
Toshiba 3109 DVD
PS Audio 300
Phillips CD Burner
Sony JE520 Minidisc Recorder
TMC Yellow, White, and Gold Label
PS Audio Lab Cable (on PM 1000)
Harmonic Tech Pro AC 11 (on C333)

Similar Products Used: PSB C6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Manuel Furtado   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2001]
Weakness:

Bit large for some set-ups. No connections for Bi-wiring (not a big deal)

This is an excellent center channel. I'm pumping 140w into it and it can and handle more. It can fill a large room with clean sound. Dialoge with male and female voices is excellent and it leaves nothing out of the soundtrack. All the little details can be heard and you won't have to strain to hear it. Dynamics are first rate. You can run the speaker full range and it will belt out chaos and explosions without any complaints. This speaker blends perfectly with the PSB Status Series. My front stage is seamless, there are no holes or gaps. Have I heard better, not from a horizontal speaker at this price.

This is an exceptional center in everyway. I would highly recommend it. 5 stars all the way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wesley Creekmore   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2001]
Strength:

Reproduces every thing with reality.

Weakness:

A little on the big side

I liked the Center Channel Plus very much but when I upgraded to PSB Goldi and the Denon 4800, the center took on a decided boxy, hollow sound with voice that was just not accetable. After trying all modes and considerable experimentation, I cut the center and played in stereo. That sounded the best. After the addition of the C6i, I am back to THX, Dolby Digital, or 5 Channel Stereo. I like 5 Channel Stereo on most music and THX on most DVDs. The Golds and the C6i have made me very happy. If you can do better, jump on it. I now own the best system I have ever heard

Similar Products Used: Cambridge Center channel Plus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Minh   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 1999]

Have own the C6 for 8 months. I brought these new with the Stratus Goldi's. I brought these instead of preowned B&W 802 III and HTM. The PSB's sounded more dynamic then the B&W's. Highly Recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Siege Fire   an Audiophile [Apr 25, 1999]

I picked up this center along with the PSB Stratus Silver-I fronts and Stratus Minis Rears all hooked up to a yamaha RX-V995 receiver via 12 gauge.
I am very pleased with the center. I have it on top of a 61" rptv. I was concerned that the rptv would "cave" in because of the weight of this center. But the Toshiba (TP61H95) is quite durable, as are most. So I wouldn't concern yourself much with that.

Although I haven't pumped much bass thru this center, the spectrum is quite clean and clear. I have no problems whatsoever with this center. The whole setup is incredible, but the center is where I need the best quality. DVD movies are incredible via this center. Vocals are very clean and clear, every breath and whisper to the loudest scream can be distinguished easily - no muddy vocals.

I highly recommend this center speaker (as well as the rest of the stratus line). I also highly recommend spending the extra $70 on the high-gloss black finish, it adds alot to my living room with all 5 PSB high-gloss black speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Bruce Abar   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2000]
Strength:

Blends in with the Golds nicely, leaving no dead spots in your imaging

Weakness:

It took PSB this long to have a true tonal match speaker for the Stratus line

It is about time, the matching center is here for the Stratus line. If you have the C-5 or C-6, now is the time to trade them in for the new metal dome tweeter to match your current Stratus speakers. I found a huge difference in this speaker compared to the C-5. Your 5 channel mode will also benifit greatly. You can contact me for a direct # to a Canadian supplyer who will ship anywhere( I guess everyone knows now, Len Gerling)giving my name will get you a good deal, so please do email me for the proper phone #.

Similar Products Used: C-6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com