NHT AudioCenter-2 Center Channels

AudioCenter-2

3-way acoustic suspension center speaker

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
mars2k   AudioPhile [Sep 24, 2006]
Strength:

Great acuracy
Fantastic bang for the buck
Simple black box

Weakness:

Yes it's a little big but what a quibble that is

A total WOW! I have had several NHT speakes. This is a natural choice given current configuration. This is the center channel with NHT 3.3 for front mains and NHT 2.5 as rear pair. I am a music person with surround as an after though, movies only please.. One day I put in a good DTS version of "Hell Freezes Over" by the Eagles. What a treat! I'm still not much on surround mixes of music, however, when you get a good DVD this center speaker can do it justice. This is not one of those "for the money" descriptions. This speaker can hold it's own against almost any speaker at any price. A giant killer at what I paid. If you find one pre-owned don't hesitate. I'm a good judge of sound but I really know I've got something if it can fool my cat.

Customer Service

Don't know never needed it.

Similar Products Used: Pick any NHT product
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bill99hawk   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2003]
Strength:

Natural Transparent Sound, Best Center I have heard, Audiophile grade!

Weakness:

Big, noticeable size over over TV (not really a Con to me though).

I went shopping for a center channel speaker to go with my NHT VT-1.4 main towers. I wanted a good match like the VS1.4s or better. I was strongly suggested the AC-2 by the dealer, but I was a little concerned with it having larger mid-range drivers than my mains, but I decided to give it a shot. It turns out that the AC-2 has two different sizes of mid-range drivers, one of the sizes matches the mids in the VT 1.4s, so the match worked out well. As for the sound, MAN WAS I BLOWN AWAY! The AC-2 was so accurate that I almost cried in joy. Well worth the money I spent for this ultimate center channel speaker. True, natural, extremely clean, transparent, deep sound for both HT and Music. Musically this is known as one of the best center channels you can get in the sub $1000 range. My VT-1.4s aren't has deep sounding as this center for music though, I would love to have the multi-thousand dollar mains and surrounds to go with it, but my setup still sounds great. With the center being the most important speaker in the HT, it brings the sound to a new level. I also have 2 NHT Subtwo subwoofers that fill in the deepness that my VT-1.4s are missing and everything comes together very well. Oh yeah, DVD-A sounds great too. I am very happy, especially that I got a great open box price.

Similar Products Used: B&W Center and 601 mains that match.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2000]
Strength:

Stunning for both movies and music. Blends perfectly with my 2.5i's.

Weakness:

None that I have come across.

This speaker is in a league of its own for the price. It is absolutely stunning. I used to have the Paradigm reference 450 centre, but when I purchased the NHT 2.5i's for my main front and rear speakers, I just couldn't believe how bad the Paradigm sounded.

A week after buying the 2.5i's, I went out and bought the Audio Centre 2. I was totally blown away by the difference and the way it blended perfectly with the 2.5i's. Yes, I know you are supposed to match the Audio Centre 1 with the 2.5i's, but I wasn't going to go backwards from the Paradigm. There is a slight tonal difference between the 2.5i's and the Audio Centre 2, but only if you stand less then 30 centimeters (1 foot) from the speakers. At the normal listing positioning they blend absolutely perfectly.

I couldn't recommend this centre speaker more highly. It is perfect for both movies and 5 channel music. This speaker would be absolutely perfect for anyone who wants that little bit extra that the normal run of the mill and even some of the better quality centre channels just don't seem to offer.

Have a listen, I guarantee, you won't be disappointed!!

Similar Products Used: Paradigm reference 450 centre
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audiophile [Feb 08, 2000]
Strength:

Dynamics, deep bass, resolution, impact

Weakness:

None

I've just upgraded from NHT's AudioCenter-1, and the
AC-2 is a world better.

My old AC-1 sounded 'chesty', and I had to set it as
'small' on my processor to get it to sound OK, even
though it's a fairly large center channel speaker.

Well, the AC-2 is even bigger, weighs twice as much,
and sounds much, much better. My mains are NHT 2.9s,
and the AC-2 blends much better with them than the old
AC-1.

After calibrating the unit with test tones and a sound
meter, as well as playing a few DVDs, the following are
my conclusions:

Bass is much deeper than the AC-1; measured usable output
went to the mid-20s!

Dynamics are scary, as this will play louder and cleaner
than the AC-1.

Impact is significantly enhanced as well, as now I can
set all 3 front speakers to 'large', and all 3 deliver
when the material calls them into action. Before, the
mains had to do all the work, and I didn't notice the
hole in the middle until it was filled. Now, the front
soundfield is consistent from left to right (not just
imaging, but output level, and bass).

If you're using an AC-1 with NHT 2.9s or 3.3s, get
an in-home audition of the new AC-2, it will never
go back to the dealer.

It's not cheap, but for this level of quality, it is
much cheaper than some of its competitors.

Similar Products Used: AudioCenter-1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Larry Vale   an Audiophile [May 27, 1999]

I wish I had a ton of very nice specs for the reader but I don't. I am running a DC1 Lexicon Processor with 9 MA 500 Marantz amps, 5 AC 2's for my fronts sides and center with 3.3's as my rears..(placemnt issue) and Velodyne HGS 12's set at about 65 Hz and a Bag End ELF 18 still set at 100 HZ (until I get the new Lex MC1)Frankly I'm thrilled with the sound! Beatifully sonically matched. I was using Dunlavy SC1's for my fronts with an AC1 prior to getting these.

Wonderful for both home theatre and straight audio.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2001]
Strength:

Quality of sound. Full Range for a Center Channel Speaker.

Weakness:

None

Being into DVD-Audio and SACD multichannel big time, I started becoming disillusioned with my Audiocenter1, in that it just couldn't go low enough. With many multichannel music recordings, alot of vital musical information is sent to the center channel. For instance on the multichannel SACD of Miles Davis - Kind of Blue - all the bass is in the center channel speaker. With the Audiocenter1 this bass was lost. I knew I need something more in the center.

Since I have 2.5i's in the front and 1.5's in the rear, I knew I needed an NHT match, so I went up to the Audiocenter2 from the Audiocenter1.

WOW. What a difference. Where the Audiocenter1 sounded 'boxy', the Audiocenter2 just disappears into the mix. On James Taylor - "Hourglass" in multichannel SACD, all all James' vocals are mixed to the center channel. With the Audiocenter1 you could tell the vocals were coming from the center channel (they sounded boxed in). But with the Audiocenter2, you knew the vocals were coming from the center, but they were open and airy. I had to move close to the Audiocenter2 to make sure that the vocals were definitely coming from the center channel as expected.

Not an inexpensive center channel speaker by any means, but if you are serious about multichannel music (DVD-Audio or SACD) you have to have the NHT Audiocenter2.

Similar Products Used: NHT Audiocenter1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
J B   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2002]
Strength:

Clear, beautiful sound, full range, seamless addition to the fantastic NHT floor standing speakers speakers. Quality construction.

Weakness:

none

The center channel is a critical element and I didn't want to cut corners. This was a bit more expensive than I planned but it's proven to be worth it. No regrets, beautiful sound. After 2 months of in home use, I give the AC-2 my unqualified endorsement, a true 5 star speaker.

I picked the AC-2 to match NHT 2.9 front speakers, incredible speakers themselves. The AC-2 is a worthy addition. Searching for a new speaker system? Before buying anything else, audition NHT, you'll be blown away. I have the NHT AC-2, 2.9s in the front, and NHT 1.5s in the rear.

I've heard the AC-2 will be discontinued soon - this means two things - 1) get one before they're gone, and 2) you might be able to get a bargain price.

Cheers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
haru   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 22, 2001]
Strength:

Flawless match for the NHT 2.9

Weakness:

none

This speaker is perfect. I won't go into poetic detail except to say that it does exactly what it is supposed to. It is a PERFECT match the for 2.9s. Not just in sonic and tone character, but in also in terms of dynamics and blending into a complete, coherent front sound stage. I wanted a Center speaker that would sound like it was a 2.9. and the AC-2 sounds exactly like that- as if my center was also a 2.9. I can't ask for anything more or better than that. SIMPLY PERFECT.

Similar Products Used: AC-1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim R   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2001]
Weakness:

No real weakness except it's a big and heavy center channel speaker. Need to be careful when placing it on top of your TV.

Before I review the speakers I wanted to plug Dave Moretto at Discounts-n-deals.com. He has a very professional online site with great service and prices. I would suggest to anyone looking for NHT product to contact Dave prior to buying from anyone else.

With that said, I have enjoyed the NHT speaker line for some time. They are a great value although he AC2 is relativily exspensive for a center speaker at $850 retail. I moved up from the NHT 2.5i's to the 2.9's and in doing so I wanted to get a matching center.
Prior to owning the AC2 I had the VS-2A center. I had been very happy with VS-2A center. Now moving up, I find the AC2 is head and shoulders above the VS-2A and the AC1. Although I knew I wanted the AC1 or AC2 with its metal tweeter I went out to compare against Kef, higher end Infinity, Monitor Audio and B&W. I listened to several music DVD's, 5 channel stereo and some other processor modes. It was amazing how much better the AC2 sounded in comparison to the rest. Dialogue was much smoother and natural with male voices. Music took on a new demension.

If you are looking for an huge improvment in you Home-Theater enjoyment or yuor 5 channel music take the time out to listen to the AC2 even if you don't own NHT mains. You will not regret your purchase.

Associated equipment

Marantz SR7000( Great reciever and preamp)
Rotel 991 200 watt amp.
NHT 2.9 mains
AC2 center
NHT 1.3a not bad for rears cieling mountable.
Definitive tech. 15TL sub
Sony DVD S3000
Mitsubishi 40" direct veiw will upgrade once it's dead.

By the way 5 stars for value at a discounted price. You get quite a bit for what you'll pay,

Similar Products Used: NHT VS-2A, Klipch KV3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audiophile [Mar 07, 2001]
Strength:

clarity, construction

Weakness:

none, except the price

Holy smokes this is THE center channel speaker! Blends perfectly with my NHT 2.5i's too! I was originally shopping for an audiocenter-1 but the dealer made me a great deal on a brand new audiocenter-2. Still not cheap for a center channel but the sound is truly stunning. If you can afford it, you cannot go wrong with this speaker.

Jim

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com