Monitor Audio Bronze Center Center Channels

Bronze Center

The Bronze centre is voiced matched to the Bronze series and provides consistent sonic panning between speakers in a home theatre or multi-channel music system.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Johnny Farm   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 26, 2005]
Strength:

Clear, Natural and Clarity sound. Looks. Build Quality.

Weakness:

Havent found any yet.

Excellent Center Speakers¡¡¡¡ Crisp, Clear and Clarity Sound. Very good build quality like many England speakers. Im very impressed with its performance. Amazing.

Similar Products Used: b&W.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RoyY51   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2004]
Strength:

Perfectly matched to Monitor Audio's Bronze 2's. Creates seemless panning across entire soundstage.

Weakness:

None, really. I guess I'm just a little disappointed that I wasn't bowled completely over.

I purchased the bronze center to compliment my new bronze 2 speakers(review on this site). I had been using an Infinity Sterling series center for 3 years and had always enjoyed the sound. However,I wanted to make sure that I had that much sought after "seamless sound stage" so I bought the Bronze Center at the same time that I bought the B2's. I broke in all three speakers for the recommended 50 hours (now closer to 100). This is what I have observed so far. Is it a "seamless sound stage"? Most definitely. Having grown used to the somewhat disconnected panning from the Polk Audio rt15i to the Infinity Sterling and then to the other Polk, I was unprepared for the liquid smoothness that only timbre matched speakers can provide. Voices that walk from speaker to speaker don't sound like different people anymore. The 747 that screams across the front of my viewing room sounds amazingly believable. I find myself shuffling through my entire dvd collection, looking for scenes that have killer pans. All in all, I am totally satisfied with this aspect of the Bronze Center's performance. Does it blow the Infinity Sterling out of the water? Regretfully, no. I would consider the Bronze Center's performance to be on a par with the Infinity. I feel that I have not lost anything, but not gained much either. I don't know if this is a result of the Infinity being a much better speaker than I gave it credit for, or my expectations for the Bronze Center being too high. Either way, although I'm not knocked out by the Monitor, I'm not really disappointed either. After all, I have what I was really looking for; a beautifully integrated soundstage. And for 500.00 for all three speakers, it would be churlish of me to complain too much.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Sterling center channel.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
open_book_test   Casual Listener [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Sounds great, detailed sound, when combined w/surrounds and bronze 3's the experience is awesome

Weakness:

no bi-wire

I had originally planned to purchase the new bronze series in a few months but blow-out pricing lured me in. Interestingly enough, Monitor ran out of bronze cabinets so I received my centre with bronze drivers in the "real veneer" silver cabinet (complete w/silver series tweeter). Monitor assured me that the cross-over is designed to match the bronze series. The entire bronze series is money well spent.

Similar Products Used: H/K AVR 500, Kimber 8TC, Bronze 3's/1's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Simon   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2002]
Weakness:

None

Great match for my Bronze 2 main speakers. Very detailed sound, and as other reviewers have said very neutral. Sounds similar to silver 10i, but is a little bit harsher, where as silvers are more musical. However you get what you pay for.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steen   Casual Listener [May 12, 2001]
Strength:

Nice and comfortable, but still lively, sound and soundstage

Weakness:

None at the price

I used the Baby Center for 5 weeks, but it has a particular weakness: upper mid (definition of male voices) is poor or weak.
The Bronze Center does not have this weakness.

The Baby Center is not at all a lousy speaker; the Bronze Center is just better.

It provides more control and strength.

Both of the two "missing" stars are just reserved; I haven't found other products that fits my other MA's better.

Setup:
Yamaha RX-V496
Monitor Audio Bronze 2 fronts
Monitor Audio Bronze 1 rears
Monitor Audio ASW 100 sub

Including the other MA's and the Yamaha, I haven't been able to find as high "feel-good-factor" as this setup provides for the money and the center has a great deal of responsibility for this.

Similar Products Used: Eltax Millennium Center, Monitor Audio Baby Center
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris Lee   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2001]
Strength:

Its price. Sound quality. The quality that is inherent with the Monitor Audio name.

Weakness:

For this price... nothing.

I must say that I really wanted to go for the Monitor Audio Silver Center but I just couldn't afford it. Although the Bronze can't touch the Silver, it does a great job for the price. I've got it hooked up to a Denon 1601 and it sounds really nice. The highs and mids are super clean. My sub fills in the rest. I'm very happy with my purchase. If you don't have a lot of money to spend on hi-end speakers, this will make a great purchase. You get the hi-end name and all the experience that comes with it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audiophile [Feb 11, 2001]
Strength:

Clean, Clear, Good on Music, Great on voice and background sounds--foot steps, car doors, etc.

I needed a bright center to go with my old Infinity SM 150s. This one matched fairly well. It needs about +9dB to match the volume of the SM150s (these are insanely efficient speakers).

It was more "in your face" than the Energy, Athena, or Infinity centers. It was slightly bright, flat, and articulate. The bass is good.

The Paridyme was also good, but not a match for the SM150s.

The Klipsch were the best, but this means one must buy a totally Klipsch system ($1600-1900).

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Paridyme,Infinity, Energy, Athena
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Babcock   Audiophile [Feb 01, 2001]
Strength:

Very neutral, wide dynamic range. Superb treble.

Weakness:

I think it only comes in one finish. Black works for me, but some may prefer a choice.

I would have to agree with Mr. Lee about this speaker. It is no Silver (I have a Silver 12i), but it shares many of the virtues of that speaker.

The Bronze center is exceptionally neutral. Vocals are better through the Bronze center than through many main speakers. This is achieved without sacrificing treble or dynamic power. This speaker is a very musical center, a really big plus if you listen to a lot of surround music. A really good test is strings- most affordable centers can add an unpleasant edge to violins, while others sound like you've draped a damp towel over the center. The Monitor avoids these faults with a laid back yet very neutral quality. Throw in the DVD edition of "The Red Violin" to see what I mean. This is exceptional resolving power and musicality.

One of the most impressive thing is how well they integrate with the Bronze speakers they were designed to complement. My household contains two Monitor Audio theatre/music systems: Silver 7i/12i/FXi with a pair of subs in the main system and Bronze 3s and a Bronze Center in a bedroom. While the Silver is even more detailed and neutral than the Bronzes, I think the Bronzes actually integrate more seamlessly together than the Silvers do. I'd also say the Bronze system is slightly less placement dependant than the Silvers. That said, the Silvers are superior, but require more work to live with.

A set of Bronze 3s and a Bronze center up front, with a pair of 2s or 1s in the rear and mated with a good subwoofer system would definately give you a high-end sound at a Best Buy price. I recommend the whole Bronze line without reservation.

Considering the price, I give the Bronze Center five stars. For value, I wish I could give it six!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com