Mirage Loudspeakers OM-C2 Center Channels

OM-C2

Center Channel with 5 drivers

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
Aussie Mike   AudioPhile [Apr 18, 2007]
Strength:

Full spectrum of sound
Nice piano gloss finish
efficient easy to drive
Great value used form Ebay
Can easily recommend even to audiophiles.

Weakness:

None realy, i guess the size makes it hard to place next to TV, i use mine with a 60" sony SXRD TV and it fits in well.

Originaly had a Mirage MCC center channel speaker, something was missing form the sound, i gve the MCC to my daughter and replaced it with the OMC2, now i realy enjoy the sound from my system, this is truely a first class performing center channel speaker, listening to it alone will show you its true range, lots of weight to vocals and lower frequencies and great dynamics.
Have had it in my system for two years and am comletely happy with sound.
I have Mirage M3's for left and right and the only problem i had was the different efficiencies of the speakers 85db verus 90db, my processor compensates for the balancing of volumes.

Customer Service

Never had reason to use

Similar Products Used: Mirage M3's
Pardigm
Mission
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
icsi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2003]
Strength:

Uncolored, transparent, omnipolar design, voices are very clear and realistic, the build quality is first class. You can set your center channel configuration to large and experience all the information that is on the center channel.

Weakness:

At times, male voices sounds a tad harsh but I attribute this to the speaker being new. I expect the harshness of male voices to smooth out after the recommended burn in period.

The surrounds on my center channel speakers (Boston Acoustics bookshelf) disintegrated (after 12 years) which started me on my search for a suitable replacement. I tested Definitive Technology's C/L/R 2500 with my setup and found it to be too laid back and had to turn up the volume in order to hear voice conversation even though I had calibrated my HT system with a SPL meter. Although it sounded full because of the powered subwoofer, the speaker sounded colored in the mid to low frequencies and not quite pristine in the highs. This led me to Mirage's OM-C2 center channel speaker. Within minutes of listening to the OM-C2 with my system, I knew that this speaker was right for my system. Voice conversation was clear and realistic, mid-low bass information was present but not overbearing, and the speaker sounded transparent and uncolored. This was noticeable when listening to Cate Blanchett's opening monologue during "Lord of the Rings" and Mel Gibson's voice in "The Patriot" which sounded very full in the theatre and closely reproduced on the OM-C2. I also set the center channel in my A/V receiver to large for the first time and am hearing/experiencing center channel information that was missing from my previous setup. During the evaluation period, I set the speaker up in front of my TV on a short stool and as stated previously, it sounded very good. After purchasing the speaker, I built a stand so the speaker could sit on top of the TV. This allowed the speaker to perform as intended utilizing it's omnipolar design. To my surprise, the sound field really opened up and presented a much larger sound field. I highly recommend placing this speaker as stated in the manual. The speaker is bi-wired to the A/V receiver. This speaker sounds very good for the asking price but even better at the price I paid for it.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics, Definitive Technology C/L/R 2500.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Kay   AudioPhile [May 02, 2002]
Strength:

Attractive and excellent build quality, crisp and detailed highs without being overly bright, superb midrange and surprisingly powerful bass (this speaker goes much lower than centers costing many times the price).

Weakness:

I really cant think of any. It absoulutely trounced the $1000 Sonus Faber Solo and $1150 Vienna Acoustics Maestro that I also auditioned.

I''ve upgraded my main channel speakers several times since the very humble beginnings of my home theatre, but I never bothered to update my old Advent B2R center until buying a Mirage OM-C2 about 6 months ago. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. The Mirage sounded great straight from the box, and after about 50 hours of break in it sounded simply superb. My main channels (Mission 772s) are great speakers, they have a wide and detailed sound stage with a beautifully warm and sweet midrange, and the Mirage is an excellent compliment to them. My next speaker upgrade will be to replace the Missions for Mirage OM-9s and complete that awesome Omnipolar sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LinC   Audiophile [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

Dynamics

Weakness:

Highs aren't detailed

Tested it against a B&w cc6 and a HTM 2. Would't buy it unless I had Mirage mains. I nice dynamic speaker, also nice soundstage but not detailed compared the the B&W HTM 2.
Compared to the CC6, its a better speaker by far, but against the HTM 2 it doesn't compare. Its a night and day difference with the detail.

Similar Products Used: B&W Nautilus HTM 2, B&W CC6
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Karim Nogas   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2000]
Strength:

See Review

Weakness:

None

My first centre channel was the Mirage OM-C3 but when I heard the C2, I simply had to get it. It is the perfect complement to a home theatre. If your mains are Mirage, you simply have to get your hands on the C2 and give them an audition. I have auditioned other newer speakers since purchasing and none have been as impressive. It will take *a lot* to convince me to switch to a different centre speaker.

Similar Products Used: Mirage OM-C3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul Lowe   an Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 1999]

The OM-C2 was top of my list for auditioning here in the UK. It was comparedagainst models from around eight other speaker manufacturers. The only speaker that fulfilled my criteria 100% was the Mirage. I have to say that the Omnipolar sound is unusual when compared to a forward firing unit, but you feel "there" somehow. Vocals are larger, cleaner, and far more dynamic. Central effects in DVD movies are more accurate and on-screen explosions show what this speaker is really capable of. It's been a long hunt for a good centre speaker - I've ended up with a magnificent one! Two thumbs up to Mirage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Bruce Irvine   Audio Enthusiast [May 23, 2000]
Strength:

Unbelievable control. And looks damn fine.

Weakness:

Not the best sheilding.

I bought this centre speaker sight unheard. Had the MC2 and had read reviews and other readers thoughts on this speaker. I initially had it powered by a 5 year old Pro-Logic Onkyo Receiver, was OK but room for improvement. Recently upgraded to Rotel DD/DTS Pre and Rotel THX Power amp....AWESOME improvement. Have 1090i's for Fronts. Best Centre Speaker I have heard. I have read to UK Home Theatre review ("Best Centre of the Year") and couldn't agree more.

By the way, if anyone from Australia (VIC) is reading and has a pair of 1090i's or 1295i's for sale, please email me at bruce@pnp.com.au

Similar Products Used: MC2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2001]
Strength:

Oops, a mistake in my previous post.

Hi again.
In my previous post I wrote "The OMC-2 is vg but the OMC-3 is much better - twice as good". This should have been the other way around.
ie: "The OMC-3 is vg but the OMC-2 is much better - twice as good".
Apologies for the mistake.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brett   Casual Listener [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

Very stylish. Great quality. Typical Mirage Build.

Weakness:

Barely sits on top of the 51" bigscreen.

This center finished my system off nicely. I didnt realize just how important the center was until i hooked this one up.

I was running the Paradigm CC350. Which in its own right is a nice center. But there is a dramatic difference between the two.

I am also runnig OM10's in the front & OM12's In the rear. Also have 2 BPS 150,s.

I am currently running an Onkyo TX-DS676 Reciever & will be adding another sub in the future.
When listening to either music or movies this center blends in nicely with the rest of the omnipolar speakers.

I have purchased most of my system from Village Sound, The service is second to none and they have been great with accepting trade in's ect.

Similar Products Used: OM12's OM10's 2-BPS150's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 10, 2001]
Strength:

Incredibly open spacious sound field. V natural realistic voices. Huge bass. Looks way sexy with the polished black ends.

Weakness:

It is big & heavy, but not too big & heavy.

Wow!!! Buy this speaker, especially if you have other Mirage Omnipolar speakers. The sound field is HUGE, & emanates from a space about 3 feet above & around the tv. It creates seamless surround sound with my OM-12s & OMR-2s. The OMC-2 is vg but the OMC-3 is much better - twice as good. It has a far more open, spacious & natural sound. It doesn't localise the centre channel info as specifically as forward firing designs, but after 2 seconds you realise it creates a much more realistic sound - voices sound very realistic & effects are fantastic. The bass it produces from it's passive radiator almost sounds like I have a small sub set up.
Regarding the size, don't let that put you off. It is not really that much bigger or heavier than the OMC-3, & fits on top of my 28" Toshiba with no problem. If you have a very narrow tv top, just put a shelf on top of your tv with arms sitting on the sloped back - it's worth it!
It pays to bi-wire it if you can - gives an even more open & detailed sound.
In NZ, this speaker costs almost as much as my OM-12 fronts but has been an excellent investment. Make sure you audition this centre speaker before buying anything else. At least see how it works in your system - you won't regret it.

Similar Products Used: OMC-3, Polk & Infinity centre speakers. Set up with Mirage OM-12 fronts & OMR-2 rears, a Marantz SR-8000 receiver & vdH D-352 speaker cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com