M&K LCR-750 THX Select Center Channels

LCR-750 THX Select

Left, Right, and Center speakers

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Paul Herold   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2003]
Strength:

Clear, accurate, flexible. Forgiving imaging.

Weakness:

Like most M&K's, their accuracy is often perceived as a flaw. The 750LCR is no exception. The sound is bright.With HT material, that is perfect : 'the clinking of spent rounds on marble'. For music, I would prefer more mid-base, but I still dont have my speakers' placement and levels dialed in, so the mid base might just be hidding.

The LCR 750 is an excellent center channel speaker. I am using the LCR 750 with a brace of M&K SX-7's on either side. The SX-7's were refurbished by M&K, and their EXCELLENT tech support/customer service folks suggested the 750LCR since it's drivers were a good match for the rebuilt SX-4's. Even with my challenging placement (36" higher than the L/R speakers), the 750LCR does a great job on HT. With M&K Surround 550's as side surrounds and the modest VX-7 sub, my whole system sounds great.

Similar Products Used: Bose. Could'nt stand 'em. And people say M&K's are fatiguing? Jeeze
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 15, 2003]
Strength:

unbelievable imaging with proper placement

Weakness:

music not quite as 'full' sounding as i would like, but must be a tradeoff to get proper movie soundtrack sound, because movies sound incredible

These speakers are awesome! i did a lot of research looking for the perfect speakers for my home theater setup. I looked at B & W, Paradigm, Energy, all of the big names. These speakers ruled them all. Not the most technologically advanced speakers out there (nor the most attractive), but they sound fantastic for home theater. Their imaging is unmatched. My system consists of the 3 750 THX fronts with the M&K S-85 surrounds and a MX150 sub. The surrounds are incredible if placed correctly. Even though i dont have a 7 channels setup, when the soundtrack dictates that a sound come from behind the listener, it really sounds like it comes from behind the listener. This is particularly amazing because in my setup, the surrounds are very slightly behind the listening position mounted on the side walls facing each other. i dont know how they make that sound appear to be coming from behind, but it is amazing. For music these speaker are OK. They seem a bit weak in the midrange. Nice mesh though with a M&K subwoofer. For a dedicated music setup, i would go with floorstanders anyway instead of a sub-satellite.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
kram   AudioPhile [Apr 12, 2003]
Strength:

Crisp clear vocal and effects presentation. whispering or walking in the snow - it all sounds good. Can match a wide variety of mains.

Weakness:

No bass at all - I don't know why M&K has such an abrupt rolloff at or above 80hz in most of their line. whatcha got against a little bass M&K? Still, for the center channel the good far outweighs the bad.

This is a tremendous center speaker. If you have very fine mains, and it isn't practical to precisely timbre-match them, give these a try. A very coherent presentation with ACI Jaguars. I really like this center channel. I had a nOrh 4.0 as center channel for a long time, but placement was impractical for a marble speaker and I grew weary of the nOrh fad. This speaker is the equal of the 4.0, with a little more punch and pop, and easier to place. Even if you can't negotiate any discount, these are a good value at $400 list.

Similar Products Used: nOrh 4.0, Polk 245, ESS 820, Boston cheap CRC POS I hated that boxy little box. The M&K and nOrh are a close 1-2, with the marble losing out for convenience reasons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
annguyen251   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2002]
Strength:

The sound is incredible! very clear. No other speaker I have heard has clearer and stronger sound than M&K (including Atlantic Technology THX)

Weakness:

The Cabinet enclosure is made by compressed particle wood, which is easy to get damaged.

This review is for the LCR-55 MKIII Center Channel speaker.While I am waiting to get the 750THX complete system, my Yamaha RX-V1 requires a center rear speaker so I bought the LCR-55 MKIII for my rear center. This small center speaker is AMAZING!!! The regular cost is $265.00 at authorized dealer. I hooked it up as a front center with a pair of BOSE 301 for the front L/R. The sound produced by this center is truly clear, crispy, and strong. This speaker is excellent. Strongly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Atlantic Reasearch system 250THX, Bose 701, Boston Acoustic, AR...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brandon   Audiophile [Feb 24, 2000]
Strength:

Small footprint, great sound!

Weakness:

Hard to buy right now, they are M&K's best selling speakers to date so no one has them in stock.

This was the last upgrade in my B chain. NAD 2700THX powering them with Lexicon CP3. Listening to these was like the first time I listened to a CD. Very clear, spacious and quite punchy. Coupled with a Sunfire True Sub they fill my room full of wonderful sound.

When calibrating them I couldn't beleive they were putting out 75db, I even replaced the batteries in my meter to be sure. They sound very effortless.

I know there are much better speakers out there, but for the money these can't be beat.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Mastrocco   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent center speaker - true sound reproduction

Weakness:

None

Purchased as part of the 750 MK II THX system.

This speaker is a great center channel speaker with true voice reproduction and excellent handling of all other sounds.

Very ahppy with the set.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bill trip   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 1999]
Strength:

terrific soundstage, clarity great detail for music&movies

Weakness:

to me none

a great sound for movies the whole system just kicks ass.music detail is outstanding.its like listening two my cds for the first time&also hearing things that i didnt notice before.awsome tonel balance

Similar Products Used: paradigm ref 20&energy take 5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Klaatu   Audiophile [Feb 12, 2000]
Strength:

Looks, SOund

Weakness:

Front grill, beware there is a design fault here

Crystal clear sound, excellent THX Theater reproduction coupled with a THX Receiver, Music was a little cold, but the DSP on my receiver is flexibile enough to overcome it.

Similar Products Used: Atlantic, Bose, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joel   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2001]
Strength:

matches my M&K Bookshelf speakers
THX Certified
Not too big, fits on top of my Sony 24" Wega just fine
Outstanding clearity with voices on a good recording

Weakness:

none

When I went to magnoilia hi-fi to buy components to complete my new Home Theater system (already had TV, Reciever and 2 bookshelfs), one of the lame salesman sold me a satalite for a center channel.
They should not have sold me the satalite for a center and I didn't have much experience to know better untill listening to the system. It was a clear weak spot.

I went back and found a different salesman. I asked him for a center that will match my existing M&K bookshelfs which sound great.

He showed me the M&K LCR-750 which I had already researched and planned to buy. This guy was more familiar with HT setups obviosly. Another bonus was the grill matches my L&R channels perfectly AND it was on sale.

After watching several movies, I'm satisfied with the speaker. With a good recording, the human voice sounds AWESOME, that is definitly its strong point.

I'm giving a 5 stars on both value and overall. However, I think its a very good product, not necissarly far better then I imagined because I had high expectations and have high standards. I dont want to lower the scores for this piece because its a great speaker for the lower budget folks like me.

Joel

Similar Products Used: M&K K7
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com