Klipsch SC-1 Center Channels

SC-1

Two-way system using one 1" (2.54cm) K-101-S magnetically shielded neodymium magnet, aluminum dome compression driver with a 90°x 60° Tractrix Horn and two 5.25" (13.3cm) K-1079-SV magnetically shielded woofers.

User Reviews (36)

Showing 1-10 of 36  
bigdaveman   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2005]
Strength:

Size is perfect for a 36 inch direct view.Movie sound is forward and dynamic.

Weakness:

None

I purchased this speaker to replace a smaller Klipsch center, boy am I glad I did. The SC1 matches beautifully with the other Klipsch speakers in my system. Voices and effects are crisp, with base to spare. Can also handle SACD and DVD audio with no problem.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch SC.5 Athena Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nethaniel   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2005]
Strength:

Clear accurate reproduction. So good this speaker is used as part of my regular listening -(not just home theatre). With 5 channel stereo (Denon 1801), the SC-1 is part of my regular music and movie listening. Remains clear and accurate even when pushed.

Clear & detailed sound. I connected all of my Klipsch speakers with a Denon 1801 HT reciever(known for smoothness & clarity). The center started life with KSB 2.1 book shelf front speakers (on speaker stands) and Klipsch rears (smallest horn tweeter and 4" woofer). The SC-1 center has held it's own and earned the right to stay with my systen during it's upgrade.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 57" H84 Denon 1801 HT reciever Klipsch SF-3 front Klipsch S-3 surround 12" BIC Sub 12" Polk KSW 450 Sub Subs hooked up via 2-1 RCA plug into Denon LFE sub output
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Just1n20   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2003]
Strength:

Love the highs from the horn tweeter. Midrange isn't lost. Bass is enough for my size bedroom.

Weakness:

Aesthetic appeal.

Love my SF-2's so I wanted a matching center to go with them. Really no long term searching for a center. Read good reviews on this site about it and made me feel more confident in my choice. And at the price i found it for couldn't turn away from it. Plain looking speaker but looks are made up for by it's sound. Size was good for my Sharp 27" flat screen. 5way Binding posts are nice to have. Midrange is well defined. Enough bass response for my 12'x12' bedroom. Crisp and clear dialogue and highs from the horn. Vocals in music are perfect with ProLogic II. I would love to hear this with DVD-Audio or a Multi-Channel SACD. Rubber attachable feet are supplied to keep it in place. Boxing was less then I expected, but sturdy enough and didn't let it move like nuts inside.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo SR500, Klipsch SF-2's, Klipsch SC-1, Sony DVP-NC665P.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
michael dobey   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2003]
Strength:

very clear for a two hundred dollar speaker! high freqs are highlighted,

Weakness:

none for this price, horns are great but an aquired taste for some folks.

klipsch always provides excellent value for the price , this is the best center at THIS price range, one hundred eighty to two fifty range, the only products at this price range that are equal to the value in loud volume and clarity are perhaps athenas.

Similar Products Used: klipsch, kef,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
niilo   Casual Listener [Apr 20, 2003]
Strength:

crisp and clean sound for music and movies grill is removable sits nicely on my 24 inch flat screen Toshiba

Weakness:

none to report

That price is 200 Canadian... I have been researching on this site for months before settling on the equipment I was going to purchase...After reading all the reviews, and doing the listening tests at local audio shops, I decided on the SC-1 as my centre channel...and I am quite impressed with the quality and clarity of sound reproduction at this price...Klipsch has been known for their crisp and clean sound quality so why look elsewhere for a quality centre channel? Presently the centre channel is being used in my one bedroom condo and it does not fail to impress...

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 24 inch Flat screen TV Yamaha 5550 A-V Reciever Klipsch 3.5 KG fronts Klipsch ss-1 Surround Sub- none as of yet (considering paradigm pdr-10)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stunner_720   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2003]
Strength:

Clearity, voice emphasis, projection. Also, in the other review a few down before me someone complains about up or down positioning, don't mind him, he's obviously not very good with geometry.

Weakness:

None!

Great center channel! I had a Definitive center which cost a bit more and wasn't as nice as this. I have one for my center and plan on purchasing 2 more for my back surrounds. If you find a dealer that has them in stock pick one up! My system............ Reciever....Integra Research DTR 7.3 (awesome reciever 1,500.00) Mains......Cerwin Vega LS-12 (plan on new mains but not a priority with the Integra receiver, the Integra would probally make KLH and Sony speakers sound superior) Center......obviously the SC-1 (NICE!) middle surrounds......Yamaha Ns200xt (Each middle has dual 8's with 5.25 mids and 1inch ferrero cooled tweeters) and soon for the 2 back surrounds 2 more SC-1.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
isabum   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity and fullness at all volume levels.

Weakness:

none

Very pleased with this speaker. It is everything claimed about it.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Advent, Mitsubishi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 2002]
Strength:

-Awesome, awesome sound -Great value for the money

Weakness:

-Can't be angled DOWN from vertical, only UP -Grille mounting pins are fragile

I have two SC-1's, actually, the second being my rear center channel. Got that one off of eBay for only $100 with shipping, believe it or not. I was so happy with the first one that I purchased from the authorized dealer, I just had to get a second one. My center channel replaced a similarly-sized 5 year-old Yamaha, and the difference is staggering. It is much more efficient and plays more loudly with none of the HF distortion that the Yammie was guilty of providing... And it matches beautifully with my other Klipsch speakers. The sound is very bright, which is a characteristic of horn-loaded tweeters, but after you get used to it, you won't want to listen to anything else. I have no reservations in recommending this speaker, though you might be annoyed by the fact that the angle-cut cabinet only allows you to angle the speaker UP and not DOWN. Only a problem if you put it on top of, say, a rear-projection TV and the speaker is a yard or more above your listening position. You can shim the cabinet yourself, of course, to angle it down if you need to. Anyway, it's a great speaker and compares favorably to its' larger brother, the RC-3... At half the price. Feel free to ignore the foolish comparison to a $700+ "DefTech" speaker outlined by another reviewer below, as there is no imaginable reason why you would compare this to something that is three or more times the price... Why not compare Hyundais to BMW's while you're at it? *sheesh!*

Similar Products Used: Yamaha center channel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hirsch22   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 26, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity and fullness of sound.

Weakness:

I'm addicted, now I'm shopping for new Klipsch fronts.

Discovered this speaker while switching between all the center channels in a listening room at a local store. I'm ashamed to say that I actually went there with the intention of buying a Bose VCS-10. At least I had enough sense to compare it to the rest of the speakers on display. From across the room at the control panel, the SC-1 stood out from all the others in terms of fullness and clarity. I had to walk over to see what it was, and was pleasantly surprised to see a $250 price tag, considering the group I was testing ranged from $150 up to $500. I was even more thrilled when I went home to research reviews and pricing on the internet. Thanks to this site I saw that others were happy with the speaker. I also discovered www.acousticsounddesign.com who sell it for $179 plus $15 shipping cross-country! It's a terrific speaker that really stands out from it's peers. Plus, I can't recommend acousticsounddesign highly enough if you are looking to buy Klipsch online. Great prices and great support.

Similar Products Used: Others demo'd included Bose, Mirage, Polk, Acoustic Research & Vienna
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
alsoundsgood   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2002]
Strength:

Loud, clear, precise, timbre matched

Weakness:

Nothing, I love it, I can't get enough of it(That is my weakness)

When I first test ran it in my house, it sounded a little tinty, After two days of intense low frequency movies(Final Fantasy, etc...)along with some extensive adjustments or my reciever, the center channel created a wall of sound in my living room. It is so well timbre matched to my other speakers, I don't want to hear anything else when the system is running. There is absolutely no distortion no matter how loud I have the system, the only thing that happens is the house sounds like it is going to come down from all the sound. It is to the point(sometimes) where I can't take the volume and I have to turn it down. The crossover frequency cut-off is 2200Hz and the lowest it drops is 50 Hz. Unbelievable speaker for the price. There is nothing I can find wrong with this speaker. My speaker system: Center: Klipsch Sc-1 Towers: Klipsch Ksf 8.5 Sides:Customs with Pioneer elite 6.5" Rears:Klipsch Ksb 1.1 Sub: Paradigm PDR-10

Similar Products Used: Paradigm cc-70 Tested:Paradigm cc370, BnW
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com