Klipsch RC-7 Center Channels

RC-7

In conjunction with the introduction of our new Reference Series flagship floorstanding loudspeaker (RF-7), we have also introduced the RC-7, a new high performance center channel that matches the flagship model in performance, technology, materials and styling. The new RC-7 center channel also features Klipsch’s tapered array technology, which provides more consistent coverage across the listening field and improved dialogue intelligibility.

The RC-7 was designed to provide "best in class" home theater and multi-channel audio surround sound (with the matching RF-7 flagship loudspeakers, RSW-15 subwoofer and RS-7 rear channel speakers), but its striking metal drivers and real-wood enclosure also make it a desirable complement to any decor. Available in three beautiful furniture-grade veneers — black, maple or cherry — each handcrafted, real-wood finish is unique.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Don   AudioPhile [Dec 17, 2013]

If you think these are good wait until you get them upgraded by Dean Wescott AKA DeanG
Dean takes these babies to a whole new different level.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
theatrejunkie   AudioPhile [Mar 12, 2007]
Strength:

Big Center for BIG ACCURATE sound!
Metal drivers with heavy duty rubber butles built to last!
Once you've gone with a horn loaded speaker, there's no turning back.

Weakness:

With any well built driver, break in time is looooonnngg! Although they still sound good right out of the box! Just keep in mind, if you think it sounds good brand new.... just wait!

After 18 months of demanding use, it just gets better with time... Ceramic metal drivers take quite a while to break in properly, so, i thought I would wait until I've had plenty of time to break in this C.C. Also the compression driven horn loaded tweeter takes almost as much break in time as does the mid/bass drivers. I have my RC-7 on top of my entertainment center which is about 5 1/2 ft. high, with a pair of RB-75's on stands at about 5 ft. to create as seemless of a soundstage as possible.
After about 4 months I decided to use the adjustable screws that angle the center down a bit to accomodate the 1/2 ft. difference in height with my RB-75's. The dialog from male voices are as realistic as if one was standing there speaking in real life. Female voices just sing with realism. Klipsch (with horn loaded tweeters) definately has built a strong customer base over the years, and once you've listened to a properly broken in RC-7 (and any of the Reference line), you will have a difficult time ever going back to anything else.
I have yet to find a C.C. that sounds this good anywhere, especially for the $$.
With a Denon avr-3805 these speakers are so easy to drive with their incredibly high efficiency rated at 98dbls.
I have changed speakers so many times over the last 20 years, I think its a fair thing to say I've got a bit of experience in this department.
At any rate, if you have the $$, and are in the market for a new center channel, buy one while you still can. It may be the last center you'll ever buy.

Customer Service

Excellent!

Similar Products Used: Way too many to list here!
Current main Home Theatre system-
2 - Klipsch RB-75 Bookshelf Speakers for mains
1- Klipsch RC-7 Center Channel
2- Klipsch RS-7 Side Speakers
2- Klipsch RB-25 Bookshelf Speakers for rears
1- SVS PB12/Plus2 Subwoofer (another incredible product)
Denon AVR-3805 Receiver (compliments the Klipsch Reference series very well)
Denon DVM 4800 DVD Player
10guage Canare Cable bi-wired to RB-75's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jdant   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2006]
Strength:

Clean Sound Looks Dynamic Cost Efficient

Weakness:

NONE

Unbeleivable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best center speaker I have ever owned! I went from the RC-3 to this and boy was it worth it. Vocals and bass response improved a ton-muddiness is now gone. Great value.

Customer Service

Excellent-

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RC-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
HTNut2K5   Casual Listener [Jul 22, 2005]
Strength:

Able to hangle demanding soundtracks.

Weakness:

None

Another great Klipsch product!!! Awesome center channel for movies and HT use.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KLF-C7
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kjasey   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2005]
Strength:

True movie theatre sound for home. Incredible 5.1 music playback. The Horn Tweeter was meant for home theatre. Try finding a center that can play LOTR 1,2,and 3 better regardless of price range.

Weakness:

Should cost more money. Large room application only....this isnt a weekness...honestly the louder you play the RC7 the better it sounds.

When you’re at a movie theatre you ask yourself…why doesn’t my center channel sound like this…huge soundstage, very open and transparent? Some centers sacrafice woofer size and cabinet weight for cosmetic reasons, in return you have a congested sounding speaker. This was the problem with my Energy AC 300(two 5'.25" woofers)which bottomed out during the trailer for Texas Chainsaw Massacre (check it out in the special features section). The RC-7 is something to behold. This size of this thing alone is ridiculous. It weighs more than my Energy EXL 12 sub. The sound coming from this speaker doesn’t let down its physical attributes. This center was made for movies; movies that demand power output from your center. This RC-7 will completely blow you out of a 10x10 room. Road to Perdition gunfire scenes are like no other when comparing with other center channels. Live music or DTS music sounds are true to life. I'll say it again, "it was made for this". My center is always set to Large and there isn’t any LFE it couldn’t handle yet. This center channel is unbreakable.

Similar Products Used: Energy, Paradigm Studio and Signature.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve fortune   AudioPhile [Jan 27, 2005]
Strength:

Clean,crisp. full range even decent lows. Best deal for your money.

Weakness:

Heavy.

Great this center realy improved my home theater expereince after all movies are 70% center. I serched the land high and low and was ready to give up on improving from my s centers that even combined wernt that great the Nuaunce Spatial Baby and the Paradigm older version of the cc 370. Then I tried this beauty completely clean and crisp un mached.

Similar Products Used: Nuaunce,Paradigm.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
plissken99   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2004]
Strength:

Nice and heavy, very well built, and impressive looking. I love the copper colored woofers.

Weakness:

It's pricey, but worth every penny.

In upgrading to a Klipsch RF-7 based system, this was the first speaker I bought. The difference was immediatly noticable. Dialog is so much clearer. Unfortunatly it outshines the rest of my speakers at the moment, but not for long.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Ellis   Casual Listener [Nov 30, 2003]
Strength:

Large. Crisp.

Weakness:

None.

Excellent product. Purchased this center channel to replace a Canadian made center channel. This RC-7 is much better. Very clear and concise.

Similar Products Used: Canadian models
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Casey   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 24, 2003]
Strength:

Power, build quality, clarity, appearance, "cinematic effect".

Weakness:

None.

This is the most powerful center channel speaker that I have listened to. It is not harsh, or too bright; In fact, I find it to be perfect for movie sound effects, and still very nice for vocal or orchestral music. For Big Band enthusiasts, the Klipsch line will add some brightness to the old recordings. If you use the RF7 main speakers, do not consider another center, this is the perfect match.

Similar Products Used: RC3, various Polk Audio centers, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gottadraw3   Audio Enthusiast [May 06, 2003]
Strength:

The looks, build and clarity

Weakness:

None

I was looking for a RC-3 II because of the price. When I went to my local Klipsch dealer and they had a great sale on the the RC-7 and the rest is history. This speaker is built great but it is big in size and weighs a lot. This is not a flaw. It is a speaker for larger rooms. The cherry wood is the only way to go. The grill and the wood gives it a classy more refined look. When I hooked it to my system I was not thrilled. The first movie I watched was Lord of the Rings. When the male actors spoke at a low volume there words got hard to understand. So I had to tweak the mids a little. After that was done this speaker came to life. It has really clear and smooth high end. The low end is tight. A total sound the is very clear and open feeling.

Similar Products Used: klipsch, JBL, Yamaha, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com