JBL EC35 Center Channels

EC35

  • Equipped with JBL's tried-and-true titanium-laminate tweeters, 3" midrange and dual 5 1/4" woofers
  • FreeFlowâ„¢ flared port
  • The Elliptical Oblate Spheroidal waveguide
  • The computer-designed, lock-mitred cabinet virtually eliminates distortion

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Stege   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2006]
Strength:

finish quality
design
crisp highs
very good bass, not outstanding (for some maniacs a dedicated SW may be required)
pirce/performance

Weakness:

a little lack of lows in some cases. (for some maniacs a dedicated SW may be required)
the front grill may vibrate in some occasions but the fix is simple. remove it!
it may interfere with internal structure of the building u're live in. these MF's are powerful no doubt about that!

I also bought the Harman Kardon 970 amplifier and the Harman Kardon HD 970 CD-Player. Along with Oehlbach Silver 2.5mm speaker cable and the Oehlbach NF 214 interconnect cable. This setup is one of the best money can buy setups in its price range. The highs and mids are crisp and clear and go as high as drilling your brains if the volume is set to high. On a demo CD, fine metal powder was spilled along a thin metal pipe (I think) Man, u really need to hear how that sounds on this configuration!
The lows are really a statement until 75% of volume on original CDs. Im using ogg and flacs also but the sistem highligts the poor quality in contrast with a real audio CD.
Regarding the muscles. The 970 serie has a stated 75W per channel. The HK 3480 has a stated 120W per channel. However, testing these 2 side by side, the 970 has an ase in his sleeves. 970 can handle a peak of 75mA while the 3480 only 40mA. The sound is more well defined on 970 and as much as powerfull as his big brother sistem (with 3480)

Similar Products Used: Infinity
Mission
AKAI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ika007   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 05, 2006]
Strength:

3 way loudspeaker. Amazing sound... can hear every breath. Very clear and crisp pro sound.

Weakness:

Size. It's huge. Cannot place on any TV. I placed it on my Toshiba 29" and it's showing. Other that that none.

Excellent product! I am very pleased with this buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ika   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2006]
Strength:

Great and clear sound quality.

Weakness:

None that i can hear or see... maybe a little big but it's ok

Very good center channel. After reading so many good reviews i decided to go for it and eventhough the jbl northridge isn't the best system from JBL still i decided to only get the center channel cause of the good price and value for money and indeed i am very happy with my buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patrick   Casual Listener [Apr 21, 2006]
Strength:

3 way design design. Clear and natural sounding.

Weakness:

Big and heavy. Bland styling.

Bought based on the CNet review, and the fact that it was a 3-way center, which is almost impossible to find at a decent price. Was a little worried buying a speaker without having heard it first hand. First impression when it arrived- "this speaker is HUGE!"- do not expect to put it atop a TV.
Then I wired it in. The sound is fantastic. Voices come through clear and natural. I hear subtle sounds I never heard on a soudtrack before. I am so impressed with this speaker I plan on buying two more for my left and right.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jbl_forever   Casual Listener [Apr 06, 2006]
Strength:

Too much to list
It is amazing

Weakness:

It is very big for a center speaker
It is also very heavy

Every review I read had 5 stars on the JBL E35 so I bought it online. I was a little worried because I didn't listen to the speaker before I bought it but this speaker is absolutely incredible to say the least. Every sound is clearly heard and the bass from this speaker is impressive (even though it has two small midrange subs). This speaker blew away any of my Yamaha speakers that I previously owned. I honestly would rather listen to a movie with this speaker than go to a movie theater. I own JBL E80's and JBL E10's, but the JBL E35 has the best sound from any speaker that I have heard and you can buy it relatively cheap now adays. I have owned this speaker for three years now and never once had a problem with it. I recommend it to anyone that has space for it.

Similar Products Used: JBL
Yamaha
Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
1970 Cyclone   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2005]
Strength:

Clear and great sound all around with movies or Cds. Price. Can not beat the price.

Weakness:

A little big and heavy. But makes up for it in the qualty of the sound it puts out

It is big and heavy and looks great. I am proud to have the EC35 as my center speaker. It has brought a smile to my face more then once. I matched the EC35 center with Bic America Dv62si speakers for my suround and the Harman Kardon DPR 2005 for my receiver. The wife even likes the sound and she is hard to inpress with any audio set up. She just says why, what you had sounds fine. untell now. She loves it more then me I think.

Similar Products Used: Klips Yamaha Bose JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K.C.   Casual Listener [Aug 25, 2005]
Strength:

*Excellent sound *Inexpensive *Did I mention excellent sound?

Weakness:

*Big & heavy - but, then, it'll keep my TV from blowing away in strong breeze

I got really tired of straining to hear dialog over background music, so I went shopping for a center channel. The EC35 got great reviews everywhere I looked, so I bought it. Upon seeing it, my first thought was "wow - it sure is big!" But, I knew that'd be the case based on it's dimensions & weight. It just BARELY fits on top of my TV. It may be big, but it's worth the space. This speaker is amazing. I hear stuff in movies that I never knew was there. And as a bonus, I think the EC35 generates more bass than my front speakers (the woofers are almost the same size...). Overall - an excellent speaker. If it'll fit in your entertainment center, buy it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TheGerman   AudioPhile [Jan 06, 2005]
Strength:

Great Sound, fuller than most, and the tweeter sounds better than what any horn could produce in my opinion.

Weakness:

Heavy, could never see anyone putting one of these on top of a tv, then again, center channel speakers shouldn't be put on top of a tv in the first place. It did cause dilemmas when I mounted the rear channel. Simple fix though.

As far as Center channels go, I was completely in the dark. The right center channel speaker for you is simply what sounds best with your system. As it is, my system had already been somewhat of a patchwork, but I wanted a speaker that would accurately reproduce what would seem to be one of the most vital parts of your home audio setup. I auditioned a few different speakers and read pages upon pages of reviews. Christmas came and I made the decision on somewhat short notice since company (All movie lovers) was coming. I took the big plunge and bought two, one for the center channel and the rear channel (6th speaker of my 6.2 setup). The boxes came and I set them up right away. I must say that if some kind of breaking-in period is needed, then wow, out of the box these speakers sounded amazing. Whether I am playing music or a movie, the speakers hold up beautifully.

Similar Products Used: Tried out Klipsch models, JBL EC25, Athena models and a few Bose.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Athex   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2004]
Strength:

Sound quality Price

Weakness:

Styling not as good as other speakers

I purchased this center because of the price and the 3 way speaker. I have found that it acurately reproduces vocals for movies.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ixchnel   Casual Listener [Aug 02, 2004]
Strength:

Does a great job at bring out the minute details.

Weakness:

Non found yet

I love this speaker. After I hooked it up I threw in Secret Window (just rented it - not worth renting or watching) but after being able to hear the sound of the couch cushion sinking down when being sat upon I knew I had purchased the right speaker. My wife put on Ice Age (for the kids) and the ice cracking comes through with great clarity. I couldn't ask for a better center channel and am glad I made the purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com