Fluance AV-SC Center Channels

AV-SC

A flawlessly made two-way technology center channel speaker system. In the listening environment this speaker gives an exciting performance. With superb sound radiation and rich timbre, it converts the audio signal into an incredibly wonderful vocal experience. In movies it actually seems like the actors are speaking to you in the same room! Center Channel Speaker System, Magnetically Shielded, MDF Wood Construction To Reduce Cabinet Resonance, Ferro-fluid Cooled Tweeter For Longer Life, Butyl Rubber Surrounds For Increased Durability and Performance, 5 Way Gold Plated Binding Post Terminals for Optimum Conductivity, Banana Plug Compatible Connectors, Removable Flush Fit Grills, Tuned Rear Bass Port for Controlled Low Frequency Response, Crossover Features Butterworth Design, 18 Gauge Lead Wire to Reduce Signal Degradation

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Travis   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2011]

Phenomenal speaker for the price! No complaints. Great build and great sound! Whether purchasing for your main system or for a smaller one, this speaker will not disappoint.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gilles Callaghan   AudioPhile [Mar 25, 2010]

If you are looking for sound front and center Fluance is the speaker that will answer you request. Quality,well built accepts all kinds of wires also accepts banana plugs. This center or rear speaker compares to any other high end speaker on the market. the only difference is that your walle feels a lot better.

Combined with the AV-BP2 you can't go wrong. Quality, well made, well balanced great sound. Can't go wrong just compare, and beleive I did I am using them with a Yamaha HTR5750 and they respond to it.

You might need a sub if you want more depth.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
magikamos   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2008]
Strength:

Excellent Sound Quality for any center channel speaker! Unsurpassed quality for any speaker near this price! Wattage capabilities well beyond most system requirements!

Weakness:

Requires a receiver with tuning capabilities to get the best sound.

This is a good sized center channel speaker. If you are looking at this for a system, you need either large main speakers to cover the lows below about 180 Hz, a designated powered subwoofer, or both. Either way, you need a receiver that allows you to cut frequencies below their range to prevent damage. For anyone out there that might think a few of these will displace a big box for the low frequencies somewhere in the room, you are wrong. Then again, that is the case with any center or surround speaker and that is not their design in the first place. There is a quick audio buying education below.

I have built and designed many full home theater systems that ran into the several thousand dollar ranges on audio components alone. I get paid for my services. These systems have included Nakamichi, McIntosh, Krell, Velodyne, Definitive Technology, and the high-end components of Harmon Karden, Onkyo, Pioneer Elite, Yamaha, Klipsch, including many tube-amplified systems, just to name a few. Saying I am “picky” about audio is a gross understatement.

One might ask, “Why would he buy these for his own system?” It is a very valid question with a very valid answer: PRICE. These were part of my second home theater room. I originally bought these speakers as “disposables” that I could use temporarily until I got the money for others. After installing and adjusting them, I have no plans to replace them whatsoever. They sound far better than many of the bipolar speakers I have installed costing several hundred dollars a piece. This is an excellent center speaker and it is an UNPRECEDENTED bang for the buck.

I have pieced together and installed hundreds of home and car audio systems. I have not dealt with, nor will I deal with, crappy components. I always felt the end-result sound was a reflection on me, and I did not want that reflection to sound anything less than impressive. While many of my customers and friends have ridiculous money to invest in things like this, I allotted less my budget for financial and other reasons offered below. Over the 25+ years, I have come to realize many things. Here are some words of wisdom if you have the time.

MORE EXPENSIVE DOES NOT EQUATE TO BETTER. Often, manufacturers price an item way high and get away with it just because it is unique, not because it performs well. Listen to an “Acoustimess” system as a perfect example. If you think it sounds good, either you are impressed by the name, or you have never heard decent speakers. They are “neat”, but that is it. VERY tinny highs, lacking mids, and VERY limited bass. B0SE 901’s: yes; “Acoustimess”: no. There are countless other examples with other manufacturers. BTW: This crushes the sound of the “Acoustimess” cubes.

YOU WILL NEVER KEEP THE LATEST TECHNOLOGY. What may be “new and hot” at the time will turn into standard amenities a few months later. Decent receivers made two years ago exceed the needs for most buyers and have more features and functions than most people could ever hope to understand, or even need to understand. Buying a top-end component when it has been out for a few months saves from 20-60%. Having the coolest new thing quickly wears off, quality and money saved are permanent assets.

LOUD DOES NOT EQUAL BETTER. I have always tried to “overbuild” systems so that they could handle more power than the listener’s ear cared to endure. That is not to say that a system needs to be “earth rattling” loud; it just needs to sound clean at the maximum volume that the listener would need or want. If you live in an apartment or town home, save your money and do not buy a ‘mega-watt” system. If you ever turn it up to the limits, you will likely be looking for a new place to live. Another technical note: peak wattages should never be confused with RMS wattages. Speakers rated at 100 watts peak will sound like crap and distort terribly when you pump a genuine 100 watts RMS into them. Speakers rated at 100 watts RMS will produce an almost infinitely cleaner sound. Ignore peak values and go by RMS on amps and speakers unless you fully understand slew factors, headroom, and other technical parameters.

SUMMARY: Get the best bang for your buck. Sampling rates and features have far surpassed what most listeners could ever hear, let alone understand. Avoid the Superstores when possible. They have good deals on some components, but they will make up for it with pricing on cables and assorted other crap they push on the buyer. Need a good center channel speaker? Throw this at the top of your considerations if money is at all a factor. Buy it. You will not be disappointed and your wallet will be thrilled.

Another reviewer commented on the lack of highs. Without an adjustable system, that might be a problem. For me, it was not. I also do not care for the super crisp highs that became popular with the digital age. Life is analog and so are the sounds.

Similar Products Used: Nakamichi, McIntosh, Krell, Velodyne, Definitive Technology, Harmon Kardon, Onkyo, Pioneer Elite, Yamaha, Klipsch, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
abstracta   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2005]
Strength:

Well built.

Weakness:

Muddy, lacks any dynamic range. Inefficient.

I'll cut to the chase and describe this speaker with the following; muddy, inefficient, and lacking any dynamic detail. I've honestly heard computer based center channels that sounded better. I planned on matching the Fluance with my pair of Alesis Studio monitors that are your typical 1" silk / 6.5" mid. Given that most center channels speakers use metal domes I figured the fluance would be a better sonic match for my silk dome Alesis, but I was wrong. When I put the Fluance on top of my set and tried to balance it, I found it impossible, and the inbuilt speakers of my 5yr old Toshiba sounded better. The AV-SC is horribly inefficient (88db, and I consider that generous), has a non existent crossover slope, muddy sounding tweeter, and empty sounding mids. The speaker is otherwise built well, but it sounds bad. It honestly sounds like it's playing with a blanket over it next to my Alesis. I paid $200 for my monitors, and while the Alesis perform well outside their price class, I was expecting better from the Fluance. Maybe the chinese are tone deaf...I dunno.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
tomflynn   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2004]
Strength:

Near perfect reproduction of voices in the center speaker as well as the other center recorded high and low frequencies. Excellent price! Spectacular performance across the spectrum!

Weakness:

None

I added this center speaker along with the matching front left/right speakers to my new 7.1 Sony home theater system as replacements for lower end speakers. The voice and low and high frequencies are reproduced perfectly. The sound reproduction is spectacular! Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Fluance matching front left and right tower speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mpepeii   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2004]
Strength:

Price / Value / Sound / Quality

Weakness:

None

I like many were leery about purchasing audio equipment on-line with out being able to see & listen to it first. The purchase was made on reviews alone so I figured I’d add to the list of reviews now that I’ve had a few weeks to listen and evaluate. First the company, the experience was great from start to finish. I called to ask a few questions, got a live person after a few rings that was very helpful and informative. Shipping – as described, quick and the item was well packed. The product - quality design, solid build, strong wire posts, wood frame speaker grill with plastic knob prongs to secure to the speaker. The grill is flush with the cabinet and the cabinet is rounded in the front towards the grill. These details are difficult to see in the pictures (one of my only complaints – more pictures/info needed on their site). Sound quality is excellent. Coming from a small bookshelf, anything would be better but the mids have excellent punch, dialog is sharp and the highs are bright and crisp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hilly gorelick   AudioPhile [Oct 28, 2003]
Strength:

APPEARANCE, BUILD QUALITY, SOUND, VALUE

Weakness:

NO ADVERTISING, I ONLY STUMBLED UPON THEM FROM DOING SO MUCH RESEARCH ONLINE, AND I DON'T EVEN REMEMBER HOW I FOUND THEM

I RECENTLY PURCHASED THE FLUANCE CENTER CHANNEL SPEAKER AT $69.00, ONE OF MY BEST DECISIONS. AS A GUY WHO OWNS TWO HIGH END SOUND SYSTEMS, BOTH IN THE OVER TWO THOUSAND DOLLAR RANGE, I AM INTIMATELY FAMILIAR WITH AUDIOPHILE GRADE SOUND QUALITY. AND AFTER LISTENING TO THE FLUANCE CENTER FOR ONLY A FEW HOURS (HARMON KARDON RECIEVER, 12 GUAGE FLUANCE SPEAKER WIRE-WELL WORTH 40.OO FOR 250 FT!), I CAN SAY WITH ASSURANCE THAT THESE SPEAKERS ARE IN MANY WAYS AUDIOPHILE GRADE. THE FIT AND FINISH ARE FIRST CLASS, AND THE SHEER SIZE OF THIS CENTER IS IMPRESSIVE. MORE IMPRESSIVE IS THE SOUND. I USED THE MOVIE "THE ITALIAN JOB", AS WELL AS THE FIFTH ELEMENT AS REFERENECE DVD'S, AS BOTH FILMS PRESENT A FULL SPECTRUM OF SOUND, AS WELL AS MUCH DEEP BASS MUSIC THROUGH THE CENTER. ALTHOUGH IN BREAKING IN THE SPEAKER, I HAVE KEPT THE VOLUME AT MEDIUM TO LOW LEVELS, I RAISED IT TO LOUD LEVELS TO CHECK THE POWER HANDELING CAPABILITIES, AND THE FLUANCE HANDLED IT WITH EASE. THINKING OF HOW IMPRESSED I AM WITH THE WAY THE SPEAKER WAS SO SECURELY PACKAGED WHEN I GOT IT, COUPLED WITH THE CLEAN LINES AND WARM, POWERFUL SOUND, AND THE FACT THAT IT IS SOOOO REASONABLY PRICED, HAS BROUGHT A SMILE TO MY FACE. I HAD A FEELING THAT THIS WAS GOING TO BE A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE, AND I AM REALLY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE. I WILL BE PURCHASING A COMPLETE SET OF FLUANCE SPEAKERS, AND I CAN'T WAIT TO COMPARE THEM TO MY HIGHER PRICED BRETHEREN. IF YOU'RE IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW SOUND, YOU NEED NOT SPEND AN ARM OR A LEG TO PUT TOGETHER A PHENOMINAL SYSTEM. RATHER THAN SPEND 4 TO 600.00 FOR ONE OF THOSE PRE-PACKAGED HOME THEATRE SYSTEMS THAT DO NOT REPRESENT AUDIOPHILE GRADE EQUIPMENT, SPEND A FEW HUNDRED ON THESE SPEAKERS, AND AS FOR RECEIVERS, I RECCOMMEND HARMON KARDON ALL THE WAY. BEST OF LUCK FLUANCE, THANKS:)

Similar Products Used: B&W SPEAKERS, DEFINITIVE SPEAKERS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MSkeezer   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound, can't beat the price

Weakness:

Not the most attactive speaker...

I purchased the SX-HTB system, which is really for the most part, but I thought the center speaker was a little on the "weak" side. While it might not be a problem for most people using it in a small room, I wanted something a little bigger, so I ordered the AV-SC center. After getting it set up, I put in "The Towers" dvd, and immediately, I noticed a big difference in the sound. Dialogue was fuller and more dynamic sounding, and the effects definitely had more punch. I am so impressed with this center, I think I might go ahead and replace the SX surround speakers with their better Bipolar surrounds.

Similar Products Used: Polk, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2003]
Strength:

Great Sound.

Weakness:

None

spent. I decided to buy the seperate SV-10's, the dipole surrounds, and the better center channel. This system blew me away the first time I heard it. I played blackhawk down on it and was amazed. Powered by a Denon 3300 this system really hits hard. For the price you cannot find a better system. I am a college student and this fit my budget but I got far more than I ever thought. I have also listened to Polk RT series and these could definately hold their own against them. For a beginning/intermediate system there shouldn't be a second thought.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cdaigh   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2003]

Have had this for a couple of weeks and I have no complaints. Keeps up with my fluance 938's. Easily a great decision.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com