Definitive Technology ProCenter 100 Center Channels

ProCenter 100

Center Channel Speaker with 2 4.25 in. mid/woofers and one aluminium dome tweeter power handling 10-175 W magnetically shielded

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
lsmar   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 28, 2004]
Strength:

Accurate image. Crisp highs and decent lows. Nice unobtrusive form factor.

Weakness:

Lacks some of the bass depth of the C2.

I recently replaced my C1Jr (moved it downstairs to my main HT system) with the ProCenter 100. Perfect timbre match between my BP6 main speakers. Nice accurate front channel sound, but not without quite the depth of the C2. For the price, it can't be beat.

Similar Products Used: Definitive Technology C1jr
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
antbene   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2003]
Strength:

clear voice for all types of movies, plays loud, great construction.

Weakness:

none i can think of, or have encountered

great highs, tight bass, sounds great with polk rti38 fronts, paradigm pdr10 sub, and paradigm atom surround speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
leo   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2003]
Strength:

great speaker, stero subs will change the way you think about music and movies. dont need a seperate sub if you dont crave huge bass price size effeciency

Weakness:

had problems with port noise on a couple pairs dealer gave me new ones, so no problem.

these speakers have changed what i expect out of speakers, bookshelf or floorstanding. i would never again buy speakers that dont include built in sub woofers/amps. having truly full range speakers (these are rated down to 22htz) will alter the way you listen to music and movies. i normally use a deftec pf15 subwoofer with my pm500's to get really low and loud...i was recently forced to use the pm500's w/o the seperate sub and was again thoroughly impressed by the bass coming from these small cabinets. not only is the bass clean and low, it is integrated perfectly with the clear and mellow mids an highs. keep in mind also that my amplifier has to only powere the mid driver and the tweeter, alowing you to use a less powerful amp to drive these powerful speakers. i could write for ever on the advantages of built in subs, but these spekers do everything well. they image with depth and precision, creating a wide and deep soundstage. highs are apparent without being bright and mids are perfectly blended into the mix...voices are crisp and accurate. wow, over all great speakers for the money and the size....i had paridigm monitor 5v2's before and loved them, but they could not come close to the pm500's in terms of bass clarity and well blended mids highs and lows. ok, go listen to as many speakers as you can, trust your ears and good luck

Similar Products Used: paridigm monitor series, polk, other def tec klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dwayne   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity of voices
good for small theatres
inexpensive

Weakness:

Lacks range for music

Having used the Def Tech 100 for almost two years I have noticed The Def Tech 100 does a very nice job of vocals in a movie if the theatre is fairly small(i.e. in an apartment). It is also fairly economical and a very good deal for the money. It is solidly built and heavy for such a small speaker. This would be an excellent centre channel for someone just getting into HT (as I was when I first purchased it). The footprint of the 100 is also very small and so is very good for tv.s with smaller tops. The Def Tech 100's weakness lies in that it does not reproduce music very well (it is somewhat brilliant or "tinny" sounding when pushed very hard) and does not have a really large soundstage, so if you intend to be using DVD-Audio look elsewhere. Although there are many other centre channels out there that far surpass this model's abilities it is a very nice model for either the beginner or those creating a theatre where space is at a premium.

Used with: Infinity fronts (yeah I know), Mirage surrounds, and an NAD 760 amp

Similar Products Used: B&W CC6 S2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2001]
Strength:

Matches Definitive Technology ProCinema Speakers

Weakness:

Not in the same league as it's big brother, the ProCenter C2. Spend the extra $100 and buy the c2.

The point of my review here is only to help others about to make a decision on buying a center channel speaker - not to put down in any way something someone else might own.

That being said, I'd highly recommend anyone looking at the ProCenter 100 to consider the ProCenter C2. It's estimated that around 70% of the sound during a movie is generated by the center channel. In other words, this is the one speaker in a small HT setup that you may want to splurge a bit on.

My local A/V store was out of new C2's when I bought mine, so my salesman loaned me a 100 while I waited for the order to arrive. I used it for about 3 weeks.

The difference in the c2 and 100 is substantial. The 100 often felt strained during heavy action sequences. Having used a Polk cs-175 (which is only $125), I honestly felt the cheaper Polk was better. Frankly, vocals sometimes seemed hollow through the ProCenter 100. The 100 was not able to handle large action sequences or heavy music scores as well as I felt it should have.

My point is this: if you're looking at the ProCinema series (great speakers, btw), you owe it to yourself to audition the C2. Do a direct A/B comparision, and I guarentee you'll fork over the extra $100 for the C2. It has a much larger range, and voices are more natural. Teamed with ProMonitor 100's and a Prosub = excellence.

Anyway, don't take my word for it. Just trying to help out with someone looking at the Cinema series: at least test the C2 before going with the 100. Even at $100 more, the c2 is a better value.

Similar Products Used: Polk CS-175, Definitive Technology C2
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Ave   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Insufficient clarity

I originally ordered a ProCenter 100, but prior to delivery of the speaker I decided to upgrade to a ProCenter C2 after reading the reviews of the C2 on this site. I must say this decision aved me from a lot of disappointment.

Just like Chris in the review below, I too was loaned a ProCenter 100 while I awaited the arrival of my ProCenter C2. The ProCenter 100 sounded unpleasantly harsh and thin to my ears. This was my first center speaker, and I was pretty disappointed. I had to raise the volume of the center channel and even then dialogue from the center channel was sometimes difficult to make out.

When the C2 finally replaced the ProCenter 100 5 weeks later, I felt that there was a SUBSTANTIAL improvement to my home theatre system. The clarity of the C2 far exceeds that of the ProCenter 100. The ProCenter 100 never sounded right to me, and I was glad to be rid of it.

I would recommend anyone thinking of getting the ProCenter 100 to get the ProCenter C2 instead; the difference is literally like night and day.

In case anyone is wondering if I am unfairly bashing Definitive Technology, this is my current system, which comprises entirely of Definitive Technology speakers:

Marantz SR-8000
Definitive Technology BP-30
Definitive Technology ProCenter C2 (perched on top of my 19" monitor)
Definitive Technology PF15TL+
Definitive Technology ProMonitor 100 (as surround speakers)

Similar Products Used: Definitive Technology ProCenter C2
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Kyle   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent clarity, vocals are crisp, high power handling

Weakness:

NONE!

This is an excellent center speaker which I would highly recommend to anyone! I listed to various brands such as Klipsch, Polk, Infinity, and Bose speakers and this one blew the others away. The aluminum tweeter has a very crisp sound, and nothing is missed, it goes to (30khz!). Voices couldn't sound clearer and the treble and mid/bass is the best in class. The Klipschs and Infinitys were about $100 more and didn't have the clarity the ProCenter 100 had. You will not regret the purchase of this speaker, it will never let you down. I have it set up with ProMonitor 80 surrounds and a pair of ADS towers infront, I love my system. If you are thinking of the purchase of a Def Tech ProCinema system, or this speaker just to go along with what you have, you CAN'T GO WRONG!

Similar Products Used: Klipsch and Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chad   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2000]
Strength:

smooth vocals, 5.1 is great

Weakness:

Lacks some depth. Probably need to open my wallet again.

So far I have enjoyed everything I have listened to. I purchased the complete Def Tech 100.6 and a Denon 2801.
The speakers have not yet been broken as suggested, but overall the system has handeled everthing I've thrown at it.
My only complaint is that the center could sound a little more life like. I'm waitng on a call from my ever so busy sales rep on the availability of a C2 so I can test drive it. I will post my comparison if and when he calls me back.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm, Bose(Waste of time), Klipsh
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com