Definitive Technology C/L/R 2500 Center Channels

C/L/R 2500

Reference Center/Left/Right Shielded Audio/Video Loudspeaker w/ built-in powered 150 watt Subwoofer

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
horrorfan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2004]
Strength:

beautiful styling . excellent full range response

Weakness:

a bit heavy but hey it DOES have a amp and subwoofer onboard

I bought this speaker to complete my definitive technology set up. I was using a beloved Boston Acoustics VR12 for my center for about five years . I didn't think that the subwoofer built into the center would make much of a difference . Well I was wrong real wrong . The effortless sound produced by this speaker hass to heard to be beleived . When low bass info is sent to the center it really rocks the house. Male voices sound approriately deep and resonant without sounding chesty. You can make it sound chesty if thats what you like ..but I prefer a clean deep bass . This speaker really is a steal at the price they want for it . I am a true definitive fan . They simply cannot be touched in this price range .

Similar Products Used: Paradigm cc-350 . Boston acoustics VR12. pinnacle center channel .
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DeF_TecH_FreaK   AudioPhile [Aug 28, 2003]
Strength:

Unbelievably clear dialog. The 8" sub adds a whole new dimension to center channel duties. Set it to "Large" and you'll hear what real center channels should sound like!

Weakness:

Weakness? From Def Tech? Hahahaha Not in this lifetime!

I recently sold my well-loved Def tech CLR2000 center to a friend because his JBL(one I sold him as well)center was useless. I was left with nothing so I was deciding between the 2500 and the 3000. Because I'll be going 7.1 soon, I decided to get the 2500 for now, and a few months down the road, I'll get another one and move them to the back of the room for the rear surrounds, and get the 3000. This thing, no offense to clr2000 owners, kills it. The 8" sub makes a world of difference. Listen to movies will Mel Gibson, Sean Connery, and a host of others, and you can feel their breath. It is like they are in the room. Having decent cables help too, I use BetterCables Premium's and they are awesome. I used my trusty SoundCheck CD and ontop of my Pioneer HDTV, in the middle of the room, 5 feet high, this center channel at 25 Hz, put enough energy into the room to make it temble slightly. At 31.5 Hz, it blew all my friends away. They got up to see if My Def Tech Supercube was On, it wasn't. Infact, at 31.5 Hz, my TV still wasn't vibrating at all. Amazing! I can't even imagine how good the clr3000 is! Where ever there is gun shots, and deep voices in a soundtrack, this center will make your $800.00 possibly the best 800.00 you will ever spend, period! Def Tech has done it again! Now if I can only figure out how they managed to get their Supercubes to pound the foundation..they are so tiny!

Similar Products Used: JBL HLS Center JBL N-center JBL SVA Center Def Tech CLR2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brent   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2003]
Strength:

Great dynamic range, good bass and an overall quality that must be heard to be believed.

Weakness:

None that I can find.

First, let me say that I am extrmemely happy that I decided to purchase this center channel for my system. I had been using a somewhat sub-standard center channel for the past few years and I finally decided it was time to get a high-end cc to improve the sound of my HT. I auditioned several other center speakers(B&W, Martin Logan, Paradigm, Infinity, etc), but the CLR 2500 just seemed like the best overall choice for me in the end. Not taking anything away from those other brands because they were all very good and I probably would have been happy with any one of them. The Definitive just had a special quality to it that won me over and after a few months I'm still amazed by the clarity and quality this speaker delivers. I can see why Definitive Technology wins awards and gets great reviews--they really make excellent an excellent product and I couldn't give this center channel a higher recommendation. If you get a chance, go listen to one for yourself and you'll see(I mean hear) what I'm talking about

Similar Products Used: I looked at B&W, Martin Logan, Paradigm, Infinity and a few others, but for the price the CLR 2500 was the hands-down choice.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2003]
Weakness:

needs built in legs for on top of my hdtv. I will have to make a shelf soon.

Great clear sound. I bought a CLR 2300 and returned it, then tried the 2500. Night and day difference for clarity and detail. I am using the 2002tl's for fronts and bp8b's for rear surround.

Similar Products Used: Powered by Integra 7.1 receiver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anthony Diego   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2001]
Strength:

Really strong bass, Very open sounding, Voices sound very accurate, Strong cabinet.

Weakness:

None found so far

This center channel is so good that it could be used as a main speakers. Very full and strong sounding. Hands down this is one of the best center speakers out there. I'm very happy with my purchase. No regrets!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2001]

This is a follow up review:

I have used the 2500 now for about 3 weeks and it just keeps getting better. I want to change one thing from my original review with regards to set up; again if you can swing the cost wire this thing to the max!! (first remove all of the jumpers) I connected a MIT Terminator 4 Biwire into the upper and mid connection points. Next I ran a Y adaptor from my Lexicon DC-1's center out; I connected an amp interconnect to one of the arms, and a MIT Terminator 4 mono cable from the other arm of the Y. The amp interconnect runs to the center input of my Rotel amplifier which has the afore mentioned Terminator Biwire going from it to the speaker. The mono Terminator is running to the low level input on the speaker. I set the center to "large" in the DC-1 and let her rip. The speaker is still breaking in, but man what a difference. Try it!!! I will follow up once more after complete break in.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Felix Alonzo   Audiophile [Jun 08, 2001]
Strength:

Full range center channel! High frequency response.

Weakness:

none

Those similar products that I used do not nearly offer what this milestone of a center channel has. Built-in sub for pinpoint male dialogue and gunshot blast reproduction! 30,000Hz response for crystal clear highs. And best of all a very reasonable price tag Def Tec ask for all of this.
I have gone through 7 dialogue channels with-in 2 years and I finally found my home theater's "center of attention".

Similar Products Used: B&W,Legacy Audio,M&K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2001]
Strength:

Strong, tight bass. Dialogue is clean and full. Flexible wiring and placement options.

Weakness:

Recommend using quality cable to hook up, not because this speaker can't handle lower cable; why would you waste your time hooking up such a quality item with anything else.

First, let me say how can there be only one review for this product?? This is probably the highest quality center channel available!! Where else can you find a center channel that will give you the availablility of:

1. Full range output
2. single, bi-, or tri-wiring
3. a dedicated powered bass section
4. attractive gloss finishes
5. all this and still be able to put it on your TV.

Unless you want to shell out big $$$ you are going to have a tough time beating this speaker. One caveat that has plagued Definitive speakers is their "warm" or "soft" midrange. This speaker clears up that matter. If you have the means utilize the wiring options and either bi- or tri-wire this speaker, set the crossover in your digitial processor to 40hz, and sit back and prepare to be amazed. There is absolutely no slop coming from this speaker. Listen to the scene in "The Fifth Element" (yeah I know not that movie again, but trust me) where Bruce Willis comes out from the auditorium with guns blazing. Set the level knob on the back of the speaker to about 2 o'clock. Man, I tell you the guns thump from that 8" powered subwoofer, the ricochets off metel come with precision from the tweeter, and the grunts of the Bangalors come with authority. I feel this speaker is the best of the CLRs because the 2500 has more punch than the 2300 due to its 5.25" mid-drivers, and is more precise than the 3000 due to the 8" sub rather than the larger, slower 10". Not to mentions the 2500 is made in the USA unlike the 2300, but hey we're all on the same team. I just want people to be aware of what looks to be the forgotten champion. Audition this speaker. Shop for a great deal like I did $600 factory sealed, and you will have one of the best investments available in a center channel!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2001]

First, let me apologize for not getting back sooner. I've been on the video side of the fence lately. Purchased a 65" Mits HDTV...sweet!!! Anyway, I have had the 2500 for some time now, and it improves each time I fire it up. I have recently up graded my low-level input cable again; what a difference. The level of frequency information that is missed from "regular" center channels is overwhelming. Watch "THE PATRIOT"...the Mel Gibson one, not the Steven Segal...., and you will see what I mean. Mel's voice is low growl which gives his character an added dimension of power and conviction. On a conventional center this part of the character is missed; not that Mr. Gibson needs any help, but hey it don't hurt:-). Not to mention the gun blasts and cannon ball fire...the added bass energy the 2500 brought to the room was significant. I have my 2500 set to large, and my Velodyne HGS-15 subwoofer crossed-over at around 65-70hz. I have my Definitive BP-30s crossed-over at 40hz. I have found this combination to provide me with the fullest and cleanest sounding combination. I have not experienced any cancellation; each speaker seems to pick up where the other leaves off. Well I suppose that's it. There is not much else I can gloat about this product. Audition one and you will see what you've been missing!!


System:
Lexicon DC-1 v4 DTS,DD,THX EX
Rotel 200x5, 200x2 amps
Pioneer DVD
Mitsubishi 65" HDTV
CAL ICONmkII CD player
Definitive Technology...BP30s, 2500, BPXs
NHT Super Zero (rear surrounds)
MIT Terminator 2000 and Reference interconnects, speaker, and component video cables

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon Murray   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2001]
Strength:

Where to start?

Weakness:

None

Oh. My. God. This is THE center to own. The thing is not even broken in yet and the sound is amazing. The options are never ending on this speaker. You can tri-wire it, run a y-adapter or just run a single wire. The sub is there, but it does exactly what it is supposed to, and that is give that extra depth to male voices and low end blasts that come from your center. This is my first def tech product, and I can't wait to buy more. I think I'll get a pair of the 2500 towers just to go with this speaker. I don't think it can get any better then this.

Similar Products Used: Klipcsh, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com