Definitive Technology C/L/R 2000 Center Channels

C/L/R 2000

Heres a useful speaker that can be utilized as a center, left ,or right channel speaker in a surround sound system. The C/L/R 2002 includes state-of-the-art features like high-definition polymer coned cast-basket bass/midrange drivers, wide dispersion tweeters, and complex Linkwitz-Riley crossover networks. Center/Left/Right Shielded Audio/Video Loudspeaker

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
basshead   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 30, 2010]

Clr 2000 is the best center i have ever used

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent clarity and good imaging. Attractive design.

Weakness:

Large and relatively heavy.

After enjoying a Definitive Tech CLR1000 center for several years in my system with BP10 fronts and BP2X surrounds, I was considering a change to B&W or another more exotic brand. I decided to try a used CLR2000 that had been traded at my local dealer. Since the drivers in the CLR1000 and CLR2000 appear identical, I expected a modest improvement in bass extension and little other difference. To my delight there was a noticeable improvement in clarity of dialog and enhanced sound stage with the CLR2000.

Similar Products Used: Definitive Technology CLR1000 Definitive Technology C1B
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DanTanna   AudioPhile [Nov 06, 2002]
Strength:

Sound. Toughness.

Weakness:

None after 2 years.

Great speaker, period! Can handle every bit of power my Denon 2801 can deliver. It is huge, but fits nicely on top of a 36" Sony XBR. Matches the BP30's, BP6b's and 15TL+.

Similar Products Used: Altec,Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
randy ledford   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2000]
Strength:

crisp highs with good bass response

Weakness:

none

The c/l/r 2000 is a great product. It added to my front bp 30's i use the Onkyo 777 receiver. I can find no faults with these speakers and would strongly recommend them.

Similar Products Used: bose accusomass 7
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg G.   Audiophile [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

Quality Sound, Adjustable Feet, Biwireable, Great Bass

Weakness:

Size and Weight

When I first ordered this system I was somewhat skeptical about this center due to the fact that I purchased it along with a pair of BP30's without hearing any of them. The only thing I had to use for a reference was a pair pf BP10's. I was very impressed with these so i decided that taking the plunge into the BP30's would only be better. Boy was I right. The BP30's are the CLR2000 together make a wonderful system. I was very impressed with it. The sound quality was exceptional and the bass from this center channel was incredible. I almost think that the CLR2000 sounds better on music than my BP30's do. I have never been so happy with my HT system as I am now. I am always seeking perfection and quality sound. I think I finally have it now. Just need to replace my rear speakers with the DefTech BPX and get a 15TL sub to replace my current one and I think I will have a heck of a setup. If you are looking into this speaker, even if you have not heard it, take a chance. You will not regret the fact that you did.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm CC-350, Boston Acoustics VR-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

Adjustable feet for pinpointing sound direction,full spectrum frequency response,good looks.

Weakness:

needs to be broken in for about a week before harsh tweeter smooths out.

This speaker is a nice compliment to my bp-2002's and DCM Timeframe 600 rears.

The full range sound makes 5.1 a pleasure to listen to, especially music DVD's where it carries the vocals extremely well.

The piano gloss black sides really make a nice visual statement sitting atop my RPT.

I thought initially that it was rather expensive,however after listening to it these past few weeks I think it was a wise choice considering how much sound is being directed at the center now-a-days (5 channel stereo included).

In closing, I rate this speaker as a wonderful choice for Dolby Digital and DTS listening as well as the newer 5 channel stereo formats.

Similar Products Used: DCM center, Polk 400 center, listened to many other brands.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alvin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Clear sound, good bass

Weakness:

Heavy speaker!

I replaced a B&W2003 with the CLR2000. Big improvement - voices are clearer and more distinct. Sound is fuller and richer, with more bass impact. Great center channel, matches very well with the ProTower 400s I bought for the fronts.

Similar Products Used: B&W2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Thomas Prevett   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, great bass, great everything

I recently sold my CS400 on ebay, in order to persue the proper center channel for by DEF Tech BP30 speakers. Unfortunatly, probably due to the Xmas season, a CLR2000 could not be found. Armed with the reviews on audio review, I decided to purchase one used from the Classified section on this very service, and we happy to find one for a great price... Purchased without ever even auditioning one.

And so...

Boy am I happy, this speaker was everything that the polk wasn't. It makes my soundstage on HT very seamless... Perfect, no more blaring soundtracks from the center.. Extramely well balanced with the BP30s...

Very sound investment.. Very happy, (I might also note that it looks great atop my 52" PTV!

Similar Products Used: Polk CS400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron   Audiophile [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

An excellent choice for the center channel duties. Very articulate with dialog

Weakness:

Once again, like ALL Def Tech products, None to speak of.

I got this wonderful speaker about 2 weeks ago so It's still setting in that I even own it. It, like all my other Def Tech speakers, is a steal for the price I paid.

It handles a lot of bass for a center, but yet the bass doesnt make dialog muddy sounding. Its just the opposite. The dialog is precise and very, very clean sounding. I noticed a huge difference when running it with my Parasound amp, then my Pioneer Elite receiver.

The Amp really shows what this center is capable of. Not to say a regular receiver isnt good, this baby is great sounding with anything. But the more power it gets, the sweeter it is indeed.

I hooked it up as a main and was impressed at its sound. I guess thats why they call it the C/L/R. It can handle anything you throw at it, and them some.

Take a lot of $$$ with you next time you visit your local high fi shop, cuz when you audition ANY of Def Techs speakers/subs, you'll be sorry you couldnt take them home that very same day!!


Similar Products Used: JBL SVA center, JBL HLS center
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shane   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2001]
Strength:

bass response, clarity of midrange and tweeter, black gloss endcaps, built like a brick house

Weakness:

none like all definitive speakers

I cannot say enough about this great center channel speaker. I used to have the clr 2002 and wanted a little better bass response and a little clearer sounding vocals, so I bumped up to the clr 2000. What a difference, it was like night and day. The clr 2000 has great bass response and the sweetest sounding tweeters. This thing is extremely clear sounding on vocals. Another plus is the elegant looking gloss black endcaps, not only does this thing sound fabulous but it also looks it too. This speaker is built like a rock. Don't try to save yourself $100 and get the 2002, because that is what I did and regretted it. Spend it and get every penny's worth by getting the clr 2000. Once again, another great sounding speaker from a company that makes great products.

Similar Products Used: clr 2002, boston vr10, boston vr12, boston cr2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com