Definitive Technology C/L/R 1000 Center Channels

C/L/R 1000

2 way center channel speaker

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
George McBride   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 20, 2008]
Strength:

Low end is great out of these. ( My personal cost =$0)

Weakness:

They are rather large, u must know this, take that into consideration, new furniture may be necesary in some cases, but the size is worth the sonic dilevery!!!

I just got 3 C/L/R 1000's given to me. A client of mine (i am a custom remote programer) upgraded to a LINN system and had no use to the DT speakers... i was thrilled to become the new owner, perfect condition. The sound is very responsive, low end is great, u can feel the bass. Im actually not using a sub right now (small one room studio apartment) its really not necesary. Taking the mesh grills off gave them a more crisp sound, plus i like the exposed driver/tweeter look. Mythos sound even better but for a gift, there is no way i can compare hehe.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
superryankatie   AudioPhile [Sep 09, 2006]
Strength:

to me if it sounds too good ..it is that good.

Weakness:

none

.This is one of the best center channel speaker out there. I listen to all kinds of speaker but for some reason always keep come back to definitive technology. Maybe is the best customer services they have. The sound is very detail, natural and the bass is tight and you can feel it from the two 6.5 inches speaker. I perfer the soft dome tweeter over the alumimun tweeter .. cause to me its just sounds more natural, better soundstage, and detail. If you can get one used ..i say jump for it. This speaker is very easy to drive at 8 ohms with very less power and it will sing at easy. This speaker is also very heay around 40 lbs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tho5   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2004]
Strength:

Full sound

Weakness:

A large speaker

Great center. Got it used and love it. Best $200 I have spent for theater system so far. Had a chance to compare with the Athena AS C1 and lived with both for a weekend. Like the CLR 1000 better. It has a fuller sound. The C1 is a very good center as well.

Similar Products Used: Linn Center
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yamahaLover   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 22, 2002]
Strength:

Price and performance. Bass response for a center speaker...I've set the center channel to "large" on my receiver, and this thing pounds away at the low notes. Perfect sonic match with my bp30s.

Weakness:

it's a big boy! this isn't necessarily a weakness, but still something to consider. Make sure you measure your space requirements before purchasing this thing. I had to build a separate shelf.

A very potent and smooth center channel speaker. Dialogue is crisp, clear, and precise. I don't see how the CLR 2000 can have nearly flawless reviews and this one not be up to par with it because it's practically the EXACT same speaker...same exact drivers in both. The only difference is that you're paying $250 more for those glossy endcaps. If looks matter that much, then by all means go after the 2000, but performance wise I couldn't distinguish any differences between the two doing a blind test. This is a great bargain in the pricey deftech center channel lineup.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KSC-C1...Great center channel, but blasted by the Definitive!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

-GREAT SOUND!!! -Cost friendly! -Customer service is one of the best!

Weakness:

-Doesnt offer piano finish. -Size could be a factor...measure your setup before you buy. Not a weakness IMO, just something to consider.

This is one of the best 'Bang for buck' center channels DT offers.... It doesnt have quite the bass response as the powered sub models DT offers, but it isnt no slack either!! I believe the clr1000 and clr1000b are the same except they changed the tweeter? Take a look at my side by side review of this speaker vs the clr2300 under the clr2300 reviews....

Similar Products Used: -Martin Logan, Def Tech, B&W, Paradigm, Energy -Polk, Bose (not even in the same league as the above listed IMO...)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Clark Ritchie   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 1997]

Outstanding center channel speaker. Quite impressive home theater performance. Crisp, clear and accurate. Money well spent!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Ravil   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

Very clear, neutral sound.

A real bargain...especially if you can find it used. Can't be beat at its price range. Specs may be a little optimistic, especially in the low freq. range. Great speaker none the less.

Similar Products Used: Energy, Mirage
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
David Barnes   Audiophile [Sep 27, 2000]
Strength:

Awesome center channel speaker

Weakness:

none

Am using this speaker solely for center channel with a 350 watt mono amp and their is little distortion with a wide center channel. Dialog is meticulous and movie soundtracks are tight with authority.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Hallmark   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2000]
Strength:

Overall a good speaker

Weakness:

None

I think this is a really good speaker. Not as nice looking as the clr 2000, but considering I could hear very little difference between the two speakers, I went with the 1000. Five stars.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
craig partridge   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2002]
Strength:

good bass extension,smoooth highs, fullbodied mids, price/performance ratio

Weakness:

none

was able to match all my drivers in all 5 speakers, CLR1000, DR7 Towers ,PRO200 rearsbuoght every thing but center used offnet, have 1100 into speakers(not including titan II sub) and positivly CANNOT be beat for the $$. I like almost all DEF-TECHS stuff, do yourself a favor and listen to their speakers if your shopping for gear, it is good value and quality

Similar Products Used: C1, C2 ,CLR2300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com