Cerwin Vega LS-6C Center Channels

Cerwin Vega LS-6C Center Channels 

DESCRIPTION

6.5" 2 way center channel

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Mar 04, 2006]
vinnie69
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

CLEAR,DETAILED,CAN HANDLE A GOOD AMOUNT OF BASE FOR A CENTER CHANNEL.GOOD MATCH FOR VS-150 SPEAKERS.

Weakness:

A LITTLE BIG IF YOU DONT HAVE MUCH ROOM,OR IF YOUR WIFE DOS'NT LIKE BIG BLACK BOXES.

AFTER A FEW TRY'S TO MATCH A CENTER CHANNEL TO MY CV VS-150 I DECIDED TO GO WITH ANOTHER CV.YOU SEE I DONT SEE MANY USED CV SPEAKERS FOR SALE(THATS A GOOD THING)AND I DONT LIKE BUYING NEW.SO I KEPT LOOKING ON E-BAY.THEN ONE DAY I SAW THIS LS-6C SO I DECIDED I WOULD GET AND I DID.BUT NOT WITHOUT A FIGHT FROM ALOT OF OTHER E-BAYERS.I WAS SHOCKED TO SEE HOW BIG IT WAS(ALL CV STUFF IS HUGE)BUT IT IS A PERFECT MATCH FOR MY 150"S.VERY CLEAR,AND DETAILED.MY FRIEND HAS THE SMALLER CENTER WITH 5-1/4 WOOFERS AND IT SOUNDS GOOD,BUT THIS THING HAS 6-1/2 WOOFERS AND YOU CAN HEAR THE DIFFERANCE.YOU WILL NEVER GO SMALL AGAIN.IT IS ALSO MAGNETICALY SHIELDED SO YOUR TV WILL NOT GO ALL GREEN.

Similar Products Used:

INFINITY,ATHENA

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 09, 2004]
fitzeke
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear vocals Balanced midrange Detailed sound Great dynamic range

Weakness:

Average looks

Timbre matches my other Cerwin Vega main speakers perfectly. Very nice speaker that does everything well and is not overpowering in any one area. For a center channel speaker, it has great dynamic range and great lower frequency extension. This means that the vocals sound clear and not muffeled. If you need to pick up a speaker to improve the clarity of the vocals when watching movies, this one is a good choice.

Similar Products Used:

E-76C, Infinity center, JBL center, Klipsh

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2004]
Stiggyrawl
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very Impressive Performance Clear Dialogue Crisp Highs Full Midrange Surprisingly Low Extension Does everything a Center Channel Should

Weakness:

None

Crystal Clear Center Channel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2003]
MrPorterhouse
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very Powerfull Full-Range Output for a center channel. Its really important to get a center channel that can extend it freq. response to a reasonably low level(at least 60hz), and this speaker will hit 50Hz and do it with authority. Matched with Cerwin Vega Fronts(I have the matching LS12's), the LS-6C will blend seamlessly all the way across the front sound stage for an absolutely stunning Home Theater Experience. It has a full midrange(important for clear dialog) and crisp highs(great for effects like glass shattering). This speaker does everything a center channel should ever have to do, and then some!

Weakness:

Its rather large, but then again it has two 6 1/2in drivers and they've got to go somewhere.

I have always been partial to the "sound" of Cerwin Vega. Powerful low end and crisp highs with a full midrange. The LS-6C does not disappoint. Music comes alive and movies are powerfull. Dialog can be clearly heard, even during loud action sequences. I have researched and listened to many center channels, and this speaker is right up there with the other speakers in its class. It compares very well with the Polk Csi30. The Polk Csi40 will blow it away, but then again, it should because its a much more expensive model. All in all, if you can get a good deal on this speaker, don't pass it up. I recommend the LS-6C very highly. I have the E-76C(newer model) as my rear center, Cerwin Vega LS12's as Fronts, Bose 201's as surrounds, and TWO Cerwin Vega LW15's as subwoffers. Yes, I said Two. I guess you could say I'm a bass freak. I've got a Pioneer Elite VSX 43TX Receiver and Pioneer DV-563A DVD Player to complete the package. The E-76C works excellent as a center back, which in my HT is mounted vertically due to room configuration. By all means, give Cerwin Vega and the LS-6C a listen and you'll be happy you did.

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega E-76C, Old Bose VS 100(single 3" driver center channel), Infinity Alpha, Polk Csi30, JBL S Center II

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2003]
pounder
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Loud, clean and great looking.

Weakness:

It is big, but I hate wimpy speakers.

This Centre channel rocks. Very loud and clean. For the cash you would be hard pressed to find a better centre channel. What else can you say about this thing. It's great. Too bad they discontinued the line. I need one for my rear centre also.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer and kenwood centres.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2003]
thmswmck1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very crisp and clear. This product stands behind Cerwin-Vega's reputation for strong bass.

Weakness:

None at all!!

I got this of an auction at UBid.com. As I was in desperate need of a new center channel for my HT system and I already owned Cerwin-Vega LS-12 speakers, I figured this would be a nice addition. Well I was right, as this is a GREAT center channel. The dialogue is very clear and crisp. In DTS and Dolby Digital you hear things that you never heard before on cheap center channels. I only paid 29 bucks for plus shipping but I would have been willing to pay the $300 price tag for it a audio dealers because this is probably the BEST center channel you can buy for under $500. I was very surprised when I hooked it up into my left channel just to hear what it could do in comparison with my LS-12. Well, it didn't have the thunderous bass like a 12" sub does but it actually sounds kind of like an 8" or a 10". Great sounding bass response for only 6.5" woofers.

Similar Products Used:

Sharp 4" center channel (piece of CRAP)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 20, 2002]
Scott
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Booms. Excellent balance

Weakness:

None for a mid level center.

Had to repalace an excellent JBL ce. My other 4 speakers are Cerwins so I went with the L6. Can handle lots of power and gives a great balanced sound.

Similar Products Used:

JBL CE

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 18, 2002]
bbgallaway
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound, bass reflex design.

Weakness:

Perhaps too large for some HT systems? Could have added a better tweeter.

Extremely large center channel, with dual 6.5 inch drivers and a dome tweeter. Bass reflex design sounds great, excellent addition to a home theater. I'm using it as my front center channel in a 7.1 speaker set up, and it performs very well for both movies and music.

Similar Products Used:

Jensen CCS

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 28, 2002]
andy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Use it as a sitting stool ?

Weakness:

Poorly sheilded, will serverely distort & damage your TV tubes. Cheap drives that sounds terrible.

The speaker is very large & heavy. On of 32-36" tube TVs, it looks bulky & really ugly. When placed on 32" JVC only for few minutes, it distorted the tubes & made top corners green ! Took days to clear up, but not completely. Try with a Panasonic & got black corners ! The Panasonic seemed to recover better. For a projection TV, this is not a problem. But the drivers look cheap & sound terrible both for music & HT.

Similar Products Used:

Mission

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 02, 2002]
fallenlordz
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good mids and highs

Weakness:

Size - To some people. But I love it

I bought this because the old center speaker wasnt doing it for me. The voices and sounds could barely be heard. With this speaker it was a big change, everything could be heard. And once you use a DTS encoded sound - man the speaker is amazing. The size is kinda huge, but I like it. My old speaker was half its size. The bigger the better :) Great highs and mids. I can hear the bass also, not present in my old speaker. (I also like the binding post) Wished it was gold, but oh well. ($65.00 which includes shipping, Not a bad deal)

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Wharfedale, Aiwa etc...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com