Boston Acoustics VR 12 Center Channels

VR 12

Center Channel Speaker - (2) 6.5" Woofers, 4.5" Mid and 1" Tweeter

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
elipogi   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2008]
Weakness:

none!!

The best center channel that i ever heard!!!!!!crystal clear and mids are amazin!!

Similar Products Used: klipsch,jbl.bw.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
filcro   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2008]
Strength:

Outstanding reproduction of Mid and Highs. Always clear never strains even at very high levels.. Soilid Image for movies and music.

At under $1000.00 it's a best in class.

Solid construction all around. Quality product at a steal of a price if you can get one.

Weakness:

Bass could be better but it's a center!. Best to roll off at 40 to your sub. A non issue for those with normal ears or with the ability to roll off at 40.

Using this Center with 4 Canton CT 1000's and I'm very happy with the VR12 all around.

The Bass, Mid and High reproduction of music and movies are outstanding. Best roll off at 40.

At times you've got to kick it down as it picks up everything. 7 of these in surround sound with a good sub would something I'd like to hear.

Customer Service

Never needed it as the product is built very well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
nick   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2004]
Strength:

Sounds like a center should, and then some. 250-watt rating makes it quite difficult to outgrow. If Boston made it right now, they could charge $800 or more new and it would sell sell sell...

Weakness:

Quite large and heavy. For TV's 32" or smaller I would find a good VR10.

I'll be brief here. Powerful, detailed, big. This is for large TV's only, a monster 30-pound center that's 25" long. Bottom line - probably the biggest "oops" concerning pricing in the history of center channels. Boston now makes the VR-MC two-way center, which is very nice and a good deal at $600. Boston began producing the VR10 and VR12 a couple years before the 5.1 receivers came onto the market, so the need for a center was a mere fraction of what it is today. The VR12 (and the much smaller VR10 as well) incorporates a dual-crossover network, with the fantastic VR tweeter, dual active/passive bass drivers, and a dedicated 4.5" midrange driver. A midrange driver in a center speaker? HELLO??! Where do most of the voices come from in DVDs? OF COURSE! Why make a center any other way? I beleive the detail and imaging that makes this center so great is due to that dedicated midrange driver. I now consider this a must for a center. The point is, the VR12 (and VR10) is simply a better-sounding speaker compared to the VR-MC. It's more powerful, and it sounds better. Given that $600 is a very fair price in today's Dolby-Digital market for the VR-MC, the VR12 was beyond a bargain at only $400. That's why it was so easy for me to realize why a handful of these centers sold on eBay Nov.-Dec. 2003 for over $400 even though they were SEVERAL YEARS OLD. Yes, a five-year-old speaker that listed brand new for $400 sold used for $465 PLUS shipping charges, $435, $430, $419, etc. Seems as though I'm not the only one out there that knows what a treasure the VR12 and VR10 truely are for the price. I bought my VR10 (50% smaller but 92% the sound of the VR12), brand new in 1999 at 15% off ($255+tax), and sold it a couple months ago to a guy who happily sent me $369.00 for it, letting me know later he was absolutely thrilled with the purchase. Kudos. And Boston, shame on you for going backwards on your centers.

Similar Products Used: BA VR10, Infinity, Polk audio, Kenwood (had to start somewhere)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Albert   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate sound reproduction.

Weakness:

Weight (about 32 lb.)

I bought this speaker as I was assembling my HT system. After reading positive reviews, I got it off Ebay (it has been discontinued for over a year) and I was not disappointed. This speaker simply produces accurate sound. Voices in particular are much more realistic than with anything I have heard, but the speaker works well with music, sound effects, or anything else. Having spent lots of time listening to different speakers, I agree with those who say this is one of the best center channels ever made.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2002]

serious contender for the best center channel speaker available for under $1,000.i amcurrently using a denon 5800 reciever with a sony es 9000 dvd player and an onkyo integra 606 cd changer,for speakers im using boston acoustic vrm 90's a vr 12 center and a vr 200 subwoofer and a pair of vrm 60'for surrounds,its an awesome set up that works equally well with music and movies

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Geoff 8201   AudioPhile [Aug 16, 2002]
Strength:

Very full musical, and cinema sound. Perfect for a serious dedicated home theater.

Weakness:

Really big, bass drivers could have been sqeezed together more for a smaller cabinet, but it's size acoustically is a strengh.

I used a Boston VR-10 for about 3 years and decided to upgrade for a number of reasons. I have Boston VR-950s as mains and a Denon AVR-4802 THX Receiver. To me the VR-10/VR-950 combo was a very well matched one. However there are so many films when dialouge is hard to hear, and you're missing that center channel presence which enhances what is happening on screen and distinguishes what is off-screen and in the surrounds. The VR-12 sounds about +2dB louder than the VR-950s but I feel this is a good thing cause what is offscreen is away from the main action so it sounding a little quieter is okay, and soundtracks always seem to play through just fine and I like soundtrack music to be a little subtle as to enhance the film but not distract from it. The VR-12 has better effects cause you can feel gunshots or sharp and loud on screen sounds, or when something is flying right at you. It is indeed very movie theater like and ideal for a dedicated, or large non dedicated home theater. Despite the increase in volume there is still a perfect timbre match on the front stage in my system, which is my number #1 concern always. When looking at it next to a VR-10 this speaker is HUGE! On top of my 32" TV on both sides of the speaker there is about 3" of space on each side. This is indeed a huge piece, and just looking at it will make your jaw drop (if you're used to cube speakers, or smaller more compact speakers that is). That's the good news... the bad news is you have a 99.9% chance of NOT finding this speaker. It was discontinued in 2000 back when it MSRP'd for $600 then $500 and virtually inpossible to find even on forums and auctions. I was lucky to find this speaker and win it with the help of a friend, on Ebay for $245 plus shipping. But finding it was very hard, and I almost gave up before an aution for this came up and I got a mint VR-12 (only damage is a scratch on the right side you can't hardly notice). The VR-920 which is almost a remake of the VR-12 I feel is a little less than its predicessor in quality cause you loose an inch on the midrange (important to me for a true center channel, my personal opinion on this), and a little bit of cone space on the bass drivers, but the 920 is a great speaker too, so if finding a VR-12 is hopeless here's an alternative worth looking into. BTW I'm not sure the review below this one is in the right sp

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics VR-10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
blun   AudioPhile [Apr 13, 2002]
Strength:

Put in 1watt its good put in 200 watts its good. Sensitivity plus does''nt miss a beat.

Weakness:

Not Portable : ( Can''t go away from the house any more.

This my friends is a PIECE OF SOUND ENGINEERING HISTORY. This speaker and its friends combined give nothing but the ultmate in audio listening pleasure.(FULL STOP).

Similar Products Used: VR 40 Boston Fronts VR12 Boston Centre VRS Pro THX Boston Surrounds Cerwin Vega 15in Cast in Folded W Bin enclosure. AMC AV81-THX Model AMC Power Amplifiers All Streetwires cables from RCA''s To
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ken   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2000]
Strength:

Unbelievable sound quality

Weakness:

This thing is huge. Even sitting on my 60SDX88b its pretty intrusive. Worth it though

I've got this thing centered between a pair of VR975 mains and for the money you can get a better sound stage. $1750 for the trio. The best money I've spent so far.

Similar Products Used: none in home
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond charland   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2000]
Strength:

able to handle excruciatingly powerful scenes with ease

Weakness:

none at all

Heh, I have to start off this review by sayin that this speaker is amazing in every way. I read a review in stereo review comparing home theater packages about two years ago that corey greenburg wrote and he gushed over this speaker so much that i had to take a trip to my local boston acoustics dealer and hear this behemoth for myself. WOW was all i could say after listening to this thing shake the room all by itself no other speakers were on but this one and it filled a very large listening room with sound. Very impressive to say the least. And talk about a loud speaker!!!!!! this thing is so sensitive that it takes just a few watts to drive this sucker, but dont let that scare you away from giving this beast some serious power I drive this bad boy with a carver amp that i have in bridged mode to deliver 300 watts to the center and man it NEVER sounds like its givin up it just rocks period. this speaker replaced a paradigm speaker that to tell the truth wasnt a very good speaker at all. I have since replaced all my paradigm speakers and im glad i did they are overrated speakers. although the budget speakers in the paradigm line are very good indeed. buy a vr12 if you can find one you will be happy you did.

Similar Products Used: paradigm cc-350
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Casual Listener [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

Terrific sound quality, clarity and range.

Weakness:

None

I went out and listened to everything else no matter what the cost and decided yet again on the Boston Acoustics Center. In my opinion, for $275 it is heads and shoulders above just about everything else in any price range. Fantastic performance value. Need 100 W Amp p/channel to
get superior results.

Similar Products Used: Replaced Boston Acoustics V 525 Center. Boston Acoustics Towers, NHT rears.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com