Boston Acoustics VR 10 Center Channels

Boston Acoustics VR 10 Center Channels 

DESCRIPTION

3-way Center Channel Speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 21  
[Sep 28, 2012]
lytehows
AudioPhile

I just brought this thing, and wow. I had a Klispch Quentet system which I really liked matched with a Klipsch sub 10. The sound was ok. I recently purchased 2 Polk r40s. The center speaker for the Quentets couldn't keep up with the Polks, in comes the Vr10. Diolog is nice and clear. The woofer, mid and high all work together for a great sound. I know this thing is older than my kids combined, but it stills hangs with the newer centers out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 19, 2005]
Alexpm
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Boston sound Size

Weakness:

None

I just want to write to say what a great speaker this is. I originally purchased the Boston VR-12 to accompany my VR-40s, but found the speaker to be much too large and bulky and also on the loud side. When the VR-10 was released a year later, I quickly purchsed one and the VR-12 went into storage. I recently sold it. I have read that the VR-12 was one of the best center speakers ever made and have at times regretted my decision, but every time I think about how massive it was, I realize I made the right decision to keep the VR-10. The VR-10 has a lot of power and very clean and clear sound and I also understand it to be a better speaker than the VR-MC which is similarly built and with similar specs.

Similar Products Used:

Boston VR-12

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2003]
thammer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

You'll think you have a good speaker because it has gold plated binding posts in the back - don't fall for this manufacturer!

Weakness:

muddy, highs are high, little range - bass, what's that? for a little bit more you can get a REAL speaker that's designed to play - STAY AWAY FROM THIS MASS MARKET GARBAGE!

I had Boston's going all around my home theater and thought they were the best. But wait all of you mass market buyers out there! I just wasn't pleased with my Boston Acoustics VR10 and recently purchased B&W's (I'll leave out the models to prove I'm not advertising for anyone out there)for my L and R speakers. I wanted to match my front 3 and listened to a B & W center channel (again leaving out the model). I brought the Boston speaker to the store to compare and lets just say I had to laugh as their is NO comparison! The mass market equipment out there like Sony, Pioneer, Kenwood may sound good if that's all you've heard (bread is good until you've had pizza - then it sucks right?). This is no different - take your gold plated deluxe edition mass market speaker that you want/have and take it to a REAL audio store that has REAL audio equipment like B&W's, Paradigm, etc. and compare. Even these 'entry level' speakers are sometimes just a little more than the mass market crap,and they will blow the mass markets out! I just did this with the VR10 and my new B&W and OH MY GOD! I went from loving bread to tasting pizza for the first time and my B&W center only cost me $75 more!

Similar Products Used:

Stay away from Sony, Pioneer, Kenwood,Radio Shack, Onkyo, Monster Cable etc. Get Marantz, Kimber Cable, Paradigm, B&W's, and similar stuff at those real audio stores!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 21, 2002]
joshtuttle
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

VR tweeter, good bass response for its medium size, includes midrange which was removed for the VR-910 center channel which replaced it

Weakness:

NA

Couldn''t be happier with my purchase. The speaker is an ideal size for a center channel, it doesn''t even dwarf my 20" flatscreen television in my entertainment center and puts out crisp,full voice and sound effects. If you can still get hold of one of these (even used) pay up to retail to get it and you won''t be sorry. It is a 3-way speaker with the beautiful Lynnfield VR tweeter, a midrange, and a pair of woofers (1 active and 1 passive). Connected via Monster Z1 cable with banana plugs to my Denon AVR-2802 for a great combination! Get one!

Similar Products Used:

Infinity, Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 21, 2000]
George
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Smaller than the VR-12. 3 way speaker. Great Boston sound.

Weakness:

$300.00 seems a bit expensive.

I recently upgraded to 5.1 DD & DTS via an Onkyo TX-DS575 and a Polk PSW-120. Even after calibrating with a Radio Shack analog signal meter, I found myself struggling to hear the center dialog on some sources. I knew that my 404V had two midrange drivers and thought the three way (with a real tweeter) VR-10 might help. The VR-12 is simply too big for my cabinet and a 32" TV. I also wondered how a low end of 58Hz versus 65Hz, 1db greater efficiency, plus the ability to handle 250W instead of 150W was going to benefit me. The reason why I especially wanted a Boston center was the fact that I have A150's (which I adore) in the front and thought a Boston center would hopefully blend well.

Although I'm still struggling with dialog at times, the VR-10 has made for an audible and significant improvement over my 404V for many sources and has reduced the problems with understanding dialog. I can solve the dialog problems with either turning up the center channel or turning up the overall volume. The problem with some sources is that when the sound is turned up enough for the dialog to be natural the loudest parts of the movie cause my wife to complain bitterly. :-(

The Bottom line is that I can strongly recommend this speaker. High quality, well-mixed sources sound absolutely great. I have tested DTS, DD, and Dolby Pro sources. Note, if you have the space and the extra $100.00 you might want to audition the VR-12, but it's a big and heavy speaker compared to the VR-10.

As a footnote, when I removed the 404V from my TV, I noticed odd red and green patches at the top of the picture.
My salesperson told me that this is a common problem and the problem would go away in a day or two. He was right.

To send me e-mail simply remove the no and spam from my e-mail address.

George

Similar Products Used:

Boston Acoustics 404V

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 14, 2000]
Jack Wynn
Audiophile

Strength:

There are so many strengths to this center speaker--but the bottom line is listen. How much clearer can one center speaker sound in the $300.00 dollor range. By far it's much better then the VR12. Who want's a trunk on top of your TV which is about the size of the VR12. Buy the VR10 and enjoy your purchase.

Weakness:

NONE

My summary is all said in the strengths of this product. This center speaker is great, if you are thinking about making this purchase for $300.00 just do it and enjoy what a center speaker should sound like.

Similar Products Used:

BOSE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 1999]
Christopher
Audio Enthusiast

This center channel speaker is very nice. The sound quality is very good and matches well with the rest of my BA Speakers. It is a very sturdy speaker with binding posts that accept banana jacks as well as bare wire (I'm not sure if they accept spades) Highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 03, 2000]
Todd
Casual Listener

Strength:

Size

I am just starting to get into the audio scene and I've only listened to a few different brands. The Bostons were extremely clear and accurate and offered the best price performance in my opinion. I heard things in movies I had never heard before. As a result I am upgrading the rest of my speakers to Bostons. I like the sound of the speakers and my wife likes the size.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 28, 2001]
Justin

Strength:

High end quality at mid range price!!

Weakness:

none I'm aware of!

Excelent purchase, I bought a pair of vr20's about 3 years ago (350 for the pair on clearence), and was amazed at what I had been missing. When I added the vr10 it just brought it all together. I love the BA sound, the lynnfield vr tweeter is amazing.

Similar Products Used:

vr20's main(l&R)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 18, 2001]
Jim McKenna
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Everything - great range, clean sound, nice tight bass, power-handling ability, nicely matched to other VR's, smaller than the VR12 for easy placement

Weakness:

None at all

Can't beat it for the price. Dialogue sounds great and true to life, and the imaging is great for a center channel due to the vertical layout of the mid and tweeter. Just got the VR970s and I couldn't be more impressed with the match. Just buy it if you can find it, you won't be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com