B&W LCR60 S3 Center Channels

LCR60 S3

This is the smaller of two LCR (Left, Centre, Right) models in the range and, like all speakers intended for centre channel use, is magnetically shielded to avoid television picture distortion. This feature is essential should you need to mount either the left or right front speaker close to the television too.

The symmetrical design lends itself to use with the drivers either horizontally or vertically in line. Typically, horizontal orientation would be used in centre speaker applications, where the low profile sits well on top of or directly beneath a television, or if you need to suspend the speaker tilted down from the ceiling. In most other situations, vertical orientation is usually more appropriate.

The twin 130mm (5½-in) drivers allow the LCR60 S3 to match the output capability of the smaller models in the range - DM600 S3, DM601 S3, DM602 S3 and DM602.5 S3 – for which it is the recommended centre speaker. Alternatively, the LCR60 S3 can be used in all front and surround positions of a home theatre for a perfectly matched installation.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
adam ribbands   AudioPhile [Dec 21, 2007]
Strength:

Very strong in the bass, port does not make that `wooshing` sound

Weakness:

sound a bit tinny. uncut levels, and they sound too high.

Bought these great speakers a fiew years ago now. I have been very pleased with them, they produce all the high end and low end stuff extreemly well.

In conjunction with the asw 675 sub, the sound is near too perfect. although the high end is slightly too `frugal` when you are using un-cut levels. I do not like cutting the levels as the switches in the amp create slight distortion.

They sound great off centre aswell, so you do not have to be infront of them too hear how great they sound!

Customer Service

very good, we kind of know them now!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
brett   AudioPhile [Oct 15, 2007]
Strength:

excellent value for the money, warm, sweet, smooth, not very boxy sounding, as good as a $700 centre channel

Weakness:

low end is not deep, maybe a little mid-high harshness

My home theatre audio consists of Martin Logan SL3 fronts and Energy small bookshelves for the surrounds. I use a Denon 2307ci to power the non-fronts and modified Dynaco Mk 3's fro the M-Logans. The "problem" with the Logans are that they are provide a big, airy, smooth open sound, so finding a centre channel speaker to compliment them is difficult. Even the ML centres have problems because of the narrow directionality of them. And even though I have a nice set up, I didnt want to shell out a lot of money for a centre. I was looking for smoothness, warmth and non-boxy sound, knowing I'd have to make compromises in the purchase. I bought the LCR60 S3 for $300 on ebay and i have to say its great! It sounds better than the $700 Totem and Distinctive Audio centres i auditioned. It sounds almost as good at the $1500 top of the like signature totem.

when i listen to speakers i like to have the speaker seem to disappear. the ML's do this being big electrostats. having this characteristic in a centre would be a god-send for obvious reasons. the LCR60 S3 is not bad at making itself invisible. while watching movies on my 50" HP plasma, i rarely find myself thinking about the centre channel speaker as the LCR60 S3 effectively disappears. Not bad at all for a budget speaker!

about my rating: its not the best centre channel out there. the martin logan cinema I is pretty amazing. its the best centre i have ever heard but it really has a narrow field. my rating of 3/5 is compared to the best centre i have heard, the martin logan cinema I. i'd give the totem mite/dreamweaver a 2.5/5 and the totem signature a 3.75/5 just to give you a sense of it.

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: klipsch kv3, totem mite, dreamweaver, signature, martin logal cinema
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Widowmaker   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2004]
Strength:

Attractive and well made. Five year warranty. Excellent sound and accurate bass. B&W prestige. Easily bi-wireable.

Weakness:

Expensive. Pretty big and heavy. Voice and dialog are more pronounced from one speaker as opposed to the other.

Excellent, outstanding speaker. I had many brands in mind when I was shopping for a new center speaker, but when I heard this, game over, I bought it. After listening to Boston Acoustics and Klipsch (both too bright as if the treble and midrange turned up too high), the warm, open sound of this B&W is quite noticeable. First of all, it is a very attractive unit. With the grille off, the yellow Kevlar drivers are pleasing to the eye as well as the silver tweeter. Heck, even with the grille on, the handsome and understated B&W logo is nice by itself. Secondly, this is a great sounding speaker. Voices are clear and not overly bright or boomy, tangential sounds from soundtracks come through clean, the list goes on. There are some drawbacks, though. Since speaker is designed for horizontal or vertical use, as such, one driver is for the bass while the other is for the midrange; in other words, speech and dialog will come through mainly from one driver and make it sound unbalanced. This is not an issue if you sit far away but it is more pronounced if you sit close. Also, this is an expensive unit for being "entry-level." I got it on sale but it retails for $350 (on the other hand, you get what you pay for). Lastly, this thing is very wide, very deep, and HEAVY (20 lbs.). Before purchasing, make sure you have a wide top TV or a sturdy shelf. All in all, a great speaker and one that will motivate me to buy the matching DM603 S3 floorstanders.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics, Klipsch, Definitive Tech, JBL, Polk Audio, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Alan Ranch   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound, can be used as fronts, rears and centre channel, center channel thats packs good bass, great build, mids and highs make music and movies come alive.

Weakness:

None at all

I just love the lcr60 s3 center speaker. Great mids and highs with deep bass for a center channel(lcr = left center and rear or right). That is what the seller told me. it works on whatever set up you like. From music to movies this center channel delivers. The sound is awesome highs and mids are perfect and voices and strings come alive withouth the highs being too bright! I definitely recommend this product

Similar Products Used: proud of my set up coz I didnt go for the same surround. I went to a lot of stores and tested a lot of speakers and decided to build a system based on the sound I like. so here is my set up B & w Lcr60 s3 (center) Energy c- 3 (fronts) Mordaunt-short 907w (subwoofer) Yamaha NS-160 (rears) Jbl Simply cinema (surround back) Marantz sr4300 (100x6) Amp
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
thestu   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 31, 2003]
Strength:

Exceptional acoustics,good looking picks up voices and sounds from a movie as if you are right there

Weakness:

Cant fault this product.

We have had our B&W centre speaker(LCR60 S3) for 10 months now.Cant fault this speaker,very clear definition in sound, looks great,compliments beautifully with any other speakers from the B&W 600 series 3 range.Well worth the money spent.

Similar Products Used: marantz,Aaron,pioneer,krix
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
djxorbital   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2003]
Strength:

Tonal Balance. Bass (especially for a center channel) Imaging. Build Quality.

Weakness:

Price. Size.

Just upgraded from the LCR 3. What a difference! Gone is the 3's boxy sound and muddled midrange. The LCR60 belies its size with spacious imaging and crisp sound. A little steap price-wise, but in the end well worth it. I'm currently breaking it in, and hopefully the sound will improve, but I don't know how it could. It is important to tone match this unit with your main speakers, and anything smaller than a B&W 602 S3 will sound weak compared to this center. A definite recomendation.

Similar Products Used: KEF, Bose (not worth their price), JBL, Vienna Acoustics, Thiel, Dynaudio, Mirage, Niles
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Will   Audio Enthusiast [May 28, 2003]
Strength:

accurate & quality build

First B&W speaker I've owned. Accurate. Quality build. We are both completely satisfied with the speaker. We are not audiophile experts & have just recently finished getting the "theatre" together. I'm anxious to replace my rear speakers with B&W. Driven by H-K 520 AVR

Similar Products Used: Boston Aqoustics, Infinity, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mchlhotrod   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2003]
Strength:

Cool looking, very good imaging and soundstage, Neutral sounding, great mids and highs.

Weakness:

You want to look at it while you're watching a movie since it looks so good with the cover off

This is my second Center Channel, my first was an acoustic research that i hated, sounded so dull with no life and hard to hear the voices in movies. So i decided to start upgrading my equipment to B&W. First piece i got was this center, when i brought it home and opened it up i was amazed at what a difference it made, the voices came to life and music was played flawlessly. Highs are not bright at all, i would have to say almost perfect, mids will hit you right in the chest suprisingly good for two 5 1/2 inch drivers, it can even go down and grab some low freqs, but i usually let my big dog SVS sub handle all the lows it wants to. The looks of the unit is one of the nicest i've seen in this price range, i have the sorrento finish along with the yellow kevlar drivers, big metal tweeter, and the stylish silver colored front of the unit makes it look VERY cool, and find myself looking at the speaker while im watching a movie just because it looks so cool. Highly recommended

Similar Products Used: Acoustic research, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bbakota2000   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2003]
Strength:

maybe look

Weakness:

voices are like people are speaking in another room, they can't go very deep (expected)

This is my first center channel speaker. I have it for 2 months now. I'm very unsatisfied with it. Voices are so unnatural. I have listened my friend's setup, and on his mirage center voices are great, like people are speaking right here in the same room where I am. I first let the speaker break in for a while, but I can't see any diference now after two months. I don't know is it a problem in something else. I hate this speaker. My setup: Reciever: Marantz sr6200 DVD player: Marantz dv4200 front: B&W 603 s3 (awesome) rear: B&W 601 s3 center: B&W LCR60 s3 (waste of money) cables: Van den Hul the first, clearwater, cs-122 TV: Sony kv32 fx-66

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Takalani Nefale   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2002]

I bought the speakers during Dec 2001 specials and keep them in boxes until February 2002 when I bought my receiver. I enjoyed listening to this speaker. It had a brilliant performed that I am satisfied with. In future I am going to use it as a surround back as my receiver is six channel. Defintely I will be buying the LCR600 s3. B&W really do their homework very well

Similar Products Used: B&W 601 S3 B&W 603 s3 Onkyo dvd 535 Onkyo receiver 797
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com