Sonus Faber Concertino Home Bookshelf Speakers

Sonus Faber Concertino Home Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

System: 9 litres two way system front reflex port. Cabinet: Construction with decoupled side panels for resonance control.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Aug 09, 2020]
mabuse


Strength:

Fine, well balanced sound with enormous qualities in the mids and upper range, an absolute highlight for vocals and jazz also piano an some electronic music. Given the small size, even bass is astonishing and well tempered... overall a very „round“ speaker with a wonderful finish!

Weakness:

Well balanced sound with enormous qualities in the mids and upper frequencies. When playing vocals and jazz and piano it’s never makes you fed up with it, it rather makes you addicted to the little pieces of handcrafted art. The Concertino home should be paired with potent amplifiers. I have them on two legacy stereo amps from the late 80s (harman kardon HK 870) which I drive in mono setup (one amp per speaker) . The Preamp 2a by Musical Fidelity picks up the signals from an Rega Jupiter CD Player and an legacy Thorens TD 147 analog record player with Ortofon VM 520 MKII system. Given the small size, the sound stage and clarity is wide and deep, just astonishing and well tempered... overall a very „round“ sounding speaker with a wonderful finish! The, naturally by this size, missing deepest bass regions can easily be added by a good and distinguished and precautious set up subwoofer, however this is not mandatory (if you want to play deep house or some other electronics music, this would be a nice option). Compared to my main stereo system with Nubert Preamp NuControl 2 and NuPower A Poweramp paired with profound 4 Way 100 kg speakers from the above 20.000 EUR league it is amazing, how often I like to go back to my legacy audio corner and never getting tired listening to these fine small speakers! Also I like the very elaborate looks and leather and high glossy piano finish...If you find such a pair in good condition ... go for it!

Price Paid:
800
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2006
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 04, 2008]
pabs911
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Powerful, dynamic, artful, subtle, open, airy, huge soundstage, almost holographic, never tiring, beautiful.

Weakness:

Only average efficiency, need a lot of power to perform their best, make me lose sleep during late night listening sessions. Siren's songs don't sound as sweet!

I purchased these off ebay including the Franklin&Lowell stands Sumiko sells with them. They are quite simply the best speakers I've ever owned. To this point I've only ever used them on my $1000.00 retail Yamaha 5.1 receiver (not the best amp in the world to judge such a speaker by) in an HT setting, but I am none the less astounded! This new version of the Concertino was made to be used in home theater systems as well as two channel ones, and it shows. There is a point during King Kong (HD DVD set to Dolby TruHD) when they first encounter the fog surrounding the island. The captain blows the ship's foghorn and these little speakers give that horn weight, power, dynamism, and reality like no other I've ever heard. A friend of mine has a very expensive Rotel/Def Tech system that at far louder levels simply cannot match the feeling that horn makes on my system with these Concertinos. That foghorn goes to my very core and in so doing immerses me more deeply into the movie. Kong's growls, the Rex's growls and gurggles...EVERYTHING takes on a realism that although dynamic is in no way overdone. That is what is so shocking about these little speakers... whether it's Diana Crall's voice or King Kong's growl, these speakers do it with art, style, and subtle power like nothing I've ever experienced before. Whether you paid retail or 40 cents on the dollar like I did, you cannot go wrong with these speakers. I've heard that many people actually prefer the Concertinos to the larger Concertos (I've never heard those) even though the Concertos go lower, but that is because the smaller speaker has a bit more "art" to everything it does. I can certainly believe it!!! WOW!!!!

By the way, these little piano black speakers are also the most beautiful speakers I've ever owned by far! Gorgeous!

Customer Service

No need... yet...

Similar Products Used:

Onix Ref 1.0 bookshelf speakers, Onix Ref 1.5 tower speakers, ADS Braun LV-1020 powered speakers, Thiel speakers (can't remember the exact model but the tweeter on those made my ears bleed...wonderful midrange and bass though!)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 19, 2007]
muziekfreak
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Open sounding, much much detail in mid/high region.
Great looks WAF* (Woman Acceptance Factor) approved for sure!

Weakness:

Xpensive stands (450euros) lowregion is good, pretty amazing for such a small speaker. But still lacking, suggestion buy a CLOSED subwoofer. Not a open one the are to slow compared with the Concertino.

4 stars value rating, because the stands are really xpensive! But nice ok, ok thats true =p

The looks

Like every Sonus Faber the looks are just awesome. Nutwood panels with attached to te sides with nice cuppe screws were even the Sonus Faber brand has been engraved/pressed in it. Futhermore the baffle,back even under the speakers you will find a nice leather finish. These speakers look so good!! Very timide in design (not 9 but 10liters cabinets) For sure WAF* approved.

The Concertino stands are just the same. Nutwood sides with a hugh mass (heavy) to ensure that your speakers can lose their aweful cabinet resonanties. Iff their even present without!

Very nice, i loved them from day one for the looks allready,

The Sound

We have tested many speakers, about 15 pair of speakers ive owned a very few were monitors. The infinity QE is one of my best monitors (seen the price) But the Concertino is now my number one for sure. The have a senstivity of 86db. The newer one has 88db. Iv'e read the above review of the man who had them on a tubeamp.

Trust me these babys need to match your set. We have used..

Dynaco st80 power tubeamp (2x40w ultralinear 2x20 triode)
On this amp their very relaxed to listen to, not really like a it should be. The sounded like a speaker that you can listen to for oldies music very nice timide lowregion for such a small speakerssystem. But not my first choice of amp. Seen the fact mine are 86db the need al littel bit more power ot come lose. The Dynaco is capeable to drive speakers that have a 2ohm impedance.

Well i thougt lets try my reference set-up in the livingroom. Put a side my Magnepan mg1 loudspeakers. And hooked the Sonus Faber up to my Mcintosh c26 and Mcintosh MC2105 poweramp 105w per channel. Unbelievable what a detail and pristine sound ! Very nice...very very nice! I was stunned what those little babys can do. Detail beyond believe at ervery volume the keep on sounding awesome. Not harsh sounding or irritating SSS noises when playing on a unreal volume.

Just awesome sounding, a open sound, and real natural response. Voices and guitars sound the best on these speakers just so real. The set-up isw most important you need to find a GOOD match with these Concertinos. Then the will blow you away for their size!

Ive just bought meself a Rel Quake subwoofer to handle the lowest regions that lacks with the speakers. My magnepans mg1 is still standing still (and those huge boys make real music) now you know. How good the really are iff you let a magnepan standing still for it ;-]

We hooked them up to my other poweramp the Audiolab m480, 2x150w @8ohm 4 ohm 340w per channel.
The most powerfull amp i own, the just sounded great to, No problems their a little bit less detail then my beloved Mcintosh (autoformers 10-100khz) But yet still very nice sounding and powerfull sounding. A great soundstage their not for the rockers or livealbum lovers. Iff you buy them be sure that you hook up a nice subwoofer to get that great soundstage. That you want in a live preformance.

Do not ever underestimate the low regions of a loudspeaker. Most people think that the low region of a speaker is not so important in terms of quality. After all under the 100hz or so, you cannot place subtones anymore. That is true but do try with a bi-wire speaker. To leave you woofer off...you will notice that your dynamics are gone!

So important, buy a good sub. And that does'nt have to be a 7000 euro Luna or something. You have good subwoofers for realy low prices now these days. Just try it.

Similar Products Used:

Set-up used, Mcintosh c26 pre, Mcintosh MC2105,Cronenberg reference ls-cable,Sony XA50es modified cdplayer. Dynaco st80 tubepower amplifier, Audiolab m480 poweramplifier

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 08, 2006]
mbuc
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

involving, rich sound, very capable of revealing amplification quality, built quality, looks

Weakness:

doesn't seem to work very well with tube power amps

Very nice speakers, perfect built quality. Bass is better than you might think judging from their size. Bass even improves if the speakers are located in the corners of the room. The Concertinos sound nice with standard amplification but the sound improves dramatically if you use a high quality amp. I had best results with a tube preamp and transistor power amp. A tube power amp (Primaluna Prologue Five) sounded awful. If you use a high quality tube preamp even a standard transistor power amp like NAD will do very fine.

Similar Products Used:

B&W DM 110, SF Cremona Auditor

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 21, 2006]
audio217
AudioPhile

Strength:

Beautiful mid-range clarity and overall excellent audio reproduction of all types of music. Very decent price! You would have difficulty trying to beat this speaker in the $1400.00 - $1600.00 price range.

Weakness:

Bass is very acceptable but limited dut to cabinet size. The design of the speaker maximizes the bass reproduction.

The Sonus Faber Concerino speakers are the smaller brother of the the much more expensive Sonus Faber Concerto. They are smaller in size but do not take a back seat to their larger brother in overall audio reproduction. I auditioned both speakers and the Concerto has a deeper bass and does play louder but the overall mid-range presentation of the Concertino I think is sweeter and clearer. The Concertino is well suited to a small to medium size room whereas the Concerto is for a medium to large room. You don't need a lot of high powerered amplification. They will run fine on a tube or solid state amp 25w to a 100w. I have mine closer to the walls for a more prominent bass reproduction. Placement is of course very important and you may have to experiment to get the sound you are looking or. I have an Exposure 2010 50w Integrated Amp and a Philips 963A SACD player. I have a Silver Anastasia Audio Interconnect and PS Audio Prelude Speaker cables. The fit and finish of these Italian speakers and stands are first rate. Very high quality and look great! The are made of high grade walnut and believe it or not black "leather"!! I play jazz, blues, symphony and light rock music to a very acceptable audio level. The Concertino's seem to handle all sorts of music but of course they are excellent on vocals!

Similar Products Used:

Sonus Faber Conterto Proac 1sc Proac 2000 Totem Signature 1

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2005]
ivan
AudioPhile

Strength:

Open sound with great dynamics, overall design

Weakness:

none at this price point, stand is necessary

This is a review on the new Concertino DOMUS. I bought these beauties in february to complete my Roksan Kandy amp and cd setup. I heard the Home and the original Concertino before and IMO the Domus has a bit "cleaner" character. The sound is more open with better dynamics. I think it is due to the new tweeter similar to the ones in Cremona Auditor. The design is exceptional. It has the SF´s lute shape with teak wood and black leather.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 06, 2004]
bubbles
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

vocals,acoustics jazz,very holographic

Weakness:

Treble grey and unrefined

Firstly the good points,the Sonus Fabers look a million dollars!.Very well made attractive styling,wife friendly,choice of finishes in walnut or piano black,I chose walnut. I used the SF with a Copland CTA401 valve amp,a match like strawberries and cream. The SF are very beguilling and draw you into the music,for me thier strenghts lay in vocals reproduction,acoustic music and jazz,they create a holographic image that makes you want to reach out and touch,play to thier strenghts and you'll be very contented,but also I felt they do have some noticeable flaws. Firstly the treble I found to be very grey and unrefined,it didnt feel natural,and a false brightness to it. The lower midrange also suffered from bloom,I felt as the boxes are small,with a small main driver this impression was created to make them sound bigger than they are,but to me I felt a coloured bloominess and nasal quality to the lower midrange. Obviously the boxes are small,and I felt I was getting only half the music,OK they are for small rooms,but they still need space,but I just kept missing the lower octaves to make it truly involving and more real,but as I said play to thier strenghts and the right type of music and you'll have a very rewarding speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 20, 2004]
pedromatinez
AudioPhile

Strength:

clear, musical.umbeatable construction

Weakness:

Nothing

For the size, construction, and sound is difficult to find similar loudspeaker! The concertino sound is really very musical and very appropriate for small rooms ( 10 m2 ). The sound is clean and there is not distortion. Euphya 270 alliance Metronome technology cd1v signature VDH firts ultimate VDH magnum

Similar Products Used:

PMC LB1, Acoustic Energy A 209

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2003]
shaka
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, detailed sound. Sounds "right" on a variety of music and movies. Great on vocals.

Weakness:

none

These speakers have the ability to allow the listener to look "into" the recording.Great imaging,details, and a sense of "space" around intruments and vocalists.Also does a great job on massed vocals and instruments in allowing you to "see" individual instuments. It sounded great right out of the box. I have them on 30" sand filled speaker stands. I have them mated to a REL storm 3 subwoofer. I highly recommend them. Equipment: Sonus Faber Concertino Home Denon AVR-3300 Receiver Denon DVM-3700 DVD Sanus sf-30 Speaker stands Transparent speaker cable Infinity IL-10 surrounds REL Storm III Subwoofer

Similar Products Used:

auditioned the following brands: Vienna,M&K,Phase Tech,Def Tech,B&W,Monitor Audio.Rurark,J&M Labs,PMC,Boston Acoustics,Paradigm,NHT,Revel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2003]
uwiik
AudioPhile

Strength:

The best sounding speaker at this price level, will kill all competitors, even some at much higher price. Really good speaker for warm music lover.

Weakness:

Nothing at this price point.

Can't say anything but agree with all other reviewers. One must be mad not to audition this excellent speaker at this price range. With this price, it sure blow away all it's competitors. Warm seductive sound, enough bass - not too much, deep and tight, will wash away the birghtness from your system while not sacrificing the detail and clarity. Auditioned Dynaudio audience 52 (totaly blown away) Monitor audio s8 & s6 (bass too boomy, not refined midband) B&W CDM1NT.... totaly rubbish, my ear almost bleed bcause of the high. bought dynaudio contour s 1.4 (great) and sold due to overspend on audio. I can say that the concertino (AU$2000 w/ stand)is a better value than the contour at AU$5600 w/stand, they sound pretty similar in every way, even I could say the concertino win over the contour at hi freq, the only flaw compared to the contour is the midband. The contour s1.4 got a bit more bite in the midband, yeah you can't have everything. I think the italian really take proud on their work, you can tell by the quality and finish of this product. System: Meridian 508.20 CD player Musical Fidelity FX/F22 pre power amp combo Nordost Red Dawn RCA (CD to Pre) Nordost Red Dawn XLR (Pre to Power) Transparent cable Musicwave speaker cable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com