Sjofn-Hifi The Clue Bookshelf Speakers

Sjofn-Hifi The Clue Bookshelf Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Feb 18, 2018]
Pittmani53


Strength:

Once again, I write about Sjofn Hifi's (the clue). Ethan Brown is the new owner and will serve the brand well. By avocation, Ethan is a musician by night and speaker builder by day. I have immensely enjoyed these speakers and plan on keeping them for a long time. A rarity with me and speakers. I do listen at relatively how SPL. Thus, I did have an issue with one tweeter with a bit excessive sound. Contacted Ethan and had my new tweeter, no cost, with instructions on how to replace by week's end! Upon opening he cabinet I realized how well these cabinets are made with a very clean layout of capacitors and crossover. The "fix is in" and once again the speakers are "tip top." I do not know Ethan's current trial policy as (the clue) is sold over the Internet, no dealer mark-up, typically 50%! A real bargain here. Read all the positive reviews on the internet, as well as, this forum. Want to get into 2 thousand and above speakers at less than half the price then give Sjofn HiFi's (the clue) a go!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
[Feb 23, 2015]
Robert L. Pittman
Audio Enthusiast

The search is over. The " Holy Grail" of affordable loudspeakers is at hand!

Everything that you read to describe the ridiculously priced loudspeakers are found in (the clue). Whatever your parameters for truly exceptional sound (the clue) will meet or exceed.

Holographic soundstage, precise location of instruments, deep bass, plumbs the Stygian depths, tonal accuracy, and most of all they sound alive, like real music in your room.

Lars @ Sjofn HiFi, took the time to properly locate my speakers in my rather large, converted garage. I have never received such attentive customer service in my life. A true gentleman.

Don't believe me about (the clue) just search the internet and article after article, show review after show review, all speak with one voice. ( the clue) is incredible!!!

One only needs to follow basic Set-up Instructions", fine tune with Lars if your listening does not conform to the basic "Set-up", let them break-in a bit and that vaunted " You are there experience is well THERE!!!!

Happy Listening, now that I have given you (the clue)!!!

Robert

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2014]
Jeff K
Audio Enthusiast

I'm not an audiophile. My 61-year-old ears don't warrant it, and my budget doesn't either. But to my ears, and for my money . . . these speakers are everything they're advertised to be. Tweaking is critical, however...follow ALL recommendations (a 22 degree toe in and a 1.2-to-1-to-1 distance from the speakers, as well as 20-inch stands, and CLOSE to the wall), and you'll be trying to figure out a way to get LESS bottom end from these puppies. Unbelievable. Toss the subwoofers. Fatigue-free, highly detailed sound. 6 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2013]
olu hamilton
Audio Enthusiast

At NY audio show I have finally understood the term 'SLAM'. Jealous of frank240. Gonna get a pair by hook or crook. In my opinion the only speakers that came close were the Ventures at almost TEN times the price. How'd they DO it???

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 29, 2012]
Len Tull
Audio Enthusiast

I first heard the Clues at the Audio Show in New York and was immediately taken with the bottom end coming from such a small enclosure. I have always been taken with things that give more then you expect and these speakers certainly fit the bill. So, after purchase and recommended breaking in period I really had opportunity to put them through their paces.
The speakers could and did handle everything that I pushed through them. Image wise... they were crazy! They give you an in your face type of imaging.

However, with that said I find the tweeter excessably brighter that I am accustom to listening too. Which for me, make them somewhat tiring after long periods of time. But, I still give them high marks for what they do

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 07, 2012]
frank240
Audio Enthusiast

I bought these recently after auditioning a pair of Harbeths to be used with my Prima Luna tube integrated and Marsh Sound Design solid state amplifier. I love to purchase audio equipment that is considered a great bargain. This includes the above amplification plus Magneplanar 1.6R speakers and the like. Although I liked the Harbeths, I was not sold on them. After reading a review of Sjofn The Clue, I had to try them.

First of all, they are absolutely beautifully finished. Truly solid. Although a bit rough sounding right out of the box (as the instruction manual warns), they soon become musical, exciting, sweet and wonderful as they open up. These speakers make you want to listen to them.

I cannot recommend The Clue highly enough. I simply love what they do. Although they "get out of the way of the music", you can't help staring at them with affection for what they do. Speaker design has come a long way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2011]
Don Coleman
AudioPhile

I bought these little speakers recently to replace the ones I owned that are much larger and cost many times the Clues because my new house does not have room for my old speakers. I needed something that would meet my sound standards in a much smaller room with built-in cabinets.

I have spent nearly half my career in the manufacturing side of the consumer electronics business, and have been an audiophile for more than 50 years. I have previewed dozens of speakers over the the past several years, some over six figures. None can beat the Clues for price/value relationship.

Despite their small size they turn out amazing bass, and the rest of the spectrum is is superb, not to mention the sound stage. These little speakers are magical! Even as an experienced speaker guy, I am not sure how they do it.

I could not recommend them more highly.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 17, 2011]
Eddie Jay
AudioPhile

Teamed these unimposing monitors up with Prima Luna amp and spent the last month breaking in the system. Ridiculously over achievers. Not only do they produce delicate sweet highs, and convey a clean rich midrange, but they produce bass that makes you wonder "How did that happen?". I've been an audiophile for some 40 years and as far as value goes, these speakers are simply amazing.

I paid $999.00 and feel like they should have been a lot more based on their ability to convince. I've thrown all genres of music at them...opera, symphonies, solo classical, jazz, classic rock, folk, and they handle all beautifully.

I was concerned whether they could be driven by a mere 35 tubed watts per channel, but no problem. A "cleaner" tube (KT66) brought more from them than an EL34. Haven't tried them with solid state but I have no doubt they would be fine.

Stop shopping and buy these if you are looking at anything within their price range or compare them to speakers costing much more. They are room friendly, excellent soundstage, produce a range that belies their size, and they serve up musical truth.

I'm done looking around.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2011]
cljones10
Audio Enthusiast

I recently heard these in Seattle, WA . I have to admit they had me against the wall. I could not reconcile the bass with the size of the speaker. It was as if the musician was in the room with me! Spooky.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2011]
John Gladstone
Audio Enthusiast

I heard these speaker at RMAF in October. The guys pitching them had a sign that said, "The deal of the century." I told them that they should be called, "the STEAL of the century."

The Clue was one of the three or four best speakers at the show, and the others all cost well into five figures. I really couldn't believe the deep, powerful bass coming from these little boxes. The midrange and treble were really detailed and transparent. Overall, these speakers were spot-on accurate and very "organic" in their presentation. The pitch man said that they were trying for frighteningly real sound - and they succeeded.

As a retired school teacher getting by on a pension, I don't have the mere $1500 these things cost. But I'm saving my pennies so I can replace the Advents I've used for 40 years now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com