Quad 11L Bookshelf Speakers

Quad 11L Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

The 11L is the entry point for the series, with a single five inch KEVLAR Format Bookshelf
bass 5" (125mm)
bass/mid 1" (25mm) Dome
Magnetic Shielding NO
Crossover Frequencies 2.2KHz
Frequency Response +/-3dB 48Hz-23KHz
Sensitivity SPL/M @ 2.83V 86dB
Volume 8.15 litres
Nominal Impedance 6 ohms
Minimum Impedance 4.2 ohms
Recommended Amplifier 30-150W
Package quantity 1PAIR
Dimensions (H x W x D) 310x190x234 mm
Net Weight 6.3 kg each
Gross Weight 13.8 kg pair

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 23  
[Nov 22, 2020]
dominic chien


Strength:

Strong lower tones and to my ears very accurate reproduction of piano sounds. Very strong and powerful mid tones. But depends on placement against the back wall. I would love it placed a little closer to the wall to bring up the tight lower bass. I would suggest even taking out the subwoofer system and let it run alone and enjoy the pure bass. Treble can be a bit hard sometimes but depends on material played.

Weakness:

It may be because of a need for proper matching of DAC and amplifier but my craving is for sizzĺing highs which i think is lacking in these beauties. Could be a deteriorating voice coil of the hf unit. I have found the ferrofluid in one hf driver dried up and i had to do open heart surgery and recovered the unit which would otherwise be near impossible to find and replace. Otherwise acceptable.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Nov 20, 2020]
lenado


Strength:

The quality, the sound is great, I really like this speaker https://activerain.com

Weakness:

It takes time to experience

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2020]
edphi


Strength:

I have this for close to 15 years and its as good today as new. Paired with the best of Arcam A85, CD62 and running KabelDirekt interconnects, this is the best protected investment I made in hifi. Clear trebles. Great Mids for voice and acceptable lows. Can do better with low freq but this is a small speaker. Am thinking of adding a subwoofer.

Weakness:

The bass can be better but this is a bookshelf.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2020]
Karkkelley5277


Strength:

Build quality is excellent: the speakers have a hewn-from-solid feel few rivals can match. Generator Able

Weakness:

So far so good. Everything is fine.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2020]
ManixZero


Strength:

The Quad 77-11L Stand-mount Speakers are amongst the very best that I have heard and certainly the best that I own. They are wonderfully insightful and detailed. They gave me a renewed interest in listening to my music collection on Vinyl, CD and most recently Tidal Masters. They have had me listening to, and enjoying music that I had previously had little interest in. They have revealed details previously unheard in tracks that I known intimately for decades. They don't have any cabinet colouration to speak of and disappear if you close your eyes, the sound-stage is very 3D and extends well beyond the speakers' positions. They have excelled at presenting everything that I've thrown at them from Johnny Cash to Stormzy and everything in-between. If you get the chance to get/listen to a pair - don't hesitate - they won't disappoint! the have gone way beyond my expectations!

Weakness:

They need care and attention with positioning to give their best. The Mrs doesn't like the colour (Birdseye Maple)

Price Paid:
£100
Model Year:
2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2017]
John
AudioPhile

Hi,

I recently picked up a set of the original 77-11L (77 series 1). Im not sure how they are compared to the current "classic 11L's" but for my set up they are fantastic. The set replaced my Snell K/ii's, and so far no regrets. Alos took some sets of B&W out of the standing.

Placement is key with this set, but if proper placement is achieved the sound stage really opens up. Fantastic lower end, very accurate lower end, not booming at all, but does not lack in any manner. The top end is nice and clear but not shrill. Simply a joy to listen to. For most of us we use the "smile test"... lets just say i grin non stop when i have music playing on the 11L's.

The cabinets just oozes quality, amazing finish. I picked up the black piano finish, and I still find myself just staring at them. Nice and heavy as well.

The drivers, nice cast baskets, and the motors (magnets) though not shielded, house a nice hefty magnet. The Kevlar cones are on point. My B&W 686's with the 5" Kevlar drivers have nothing on the Quad drivers. I was quite impressed with the size of the sound stage on such a small size speaker.

Like I stated above, placement is key with this set, but if you are in the market for small speakers, that is true of pretty much any and all you will find.

As a collector, and a music lover I can say this is one of my favorite sets of small speakers. If you have the ability to find a set of the 77-11L original series, run dont walk. well worth the investment.

Kind Regards,
John

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 19, 2017]
Ed Miller
Audio Enthusiast

Simply put .. dollar for dollar the Quad 11L speaker is THE best in the marketplace. Period! Stop reading reviews of other speakers. Go visit your local retail outlet that carries them, reach into your pocket and buy a pair and then go home and enjoy a lifetime of crisp, clear, fidelity in music.

The biggest challenge will be what color cabinet to chose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 29, 2012]
Martin I
Audio Enthusiast

These are excellent speakers...full stop. Purchased a very nice pair of 11L originals from a well known auction site in fabulous yew finish. They are compact and beautifully finished. 4 terminals per speaker to which I run 4 x monoblocks. 2 per speaker.

They are compact and fantastic on rigid stands. Can be placed fairly close to a wall (20-30cm) and toed in slightly for best imaging.

I can only describe the sound as breathtakingly lifelike. The detail from the soft domed tweeter is revealing yet never bright or edgy. The little bass/mid cone delivers a detailed mid range,acoustic guitars are just amazing, and plenty of tuneful bass from their diminutive size.

Some reviews out there descirbe them as being dull or having an edgy midrange when driven hard. Let's face it, these are small speakers designed for smallish rooms and are never going to deliver party levels of sound. Having said that, they go loud without fatigue and deliver a fantastic spread of sound across the room with a tremendous sense of air around each individual instrument. Very neutral in delivery.

I've had many types of speakers (bookshelf and floorstnding) but for out and out realism in this price range they are by far the best. One reviewer out there says, do you really need any more? I'd say you'd have to spend a hell of a lot more money to get a significant improvement. A very satisfying musical experience. Buy without hesitation

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2010]
lad-dog
AudioPhile

At the time of writing this review I have been listening to my Quad 11L2's in the beautiful Rosewood finish for about 6 months now. I must say I have to agree with all the hype these speakers receive. I have been switching monitor speakers in and out over the last ten years. Some of my previous coveted monitors were Silverline SR 12's, Totem Rainmakers and Von Schweikert VR-1's. In listening to the Quad's I can honestly tell you they best them all. These simply are the best monitor speakers under $1000 PERIOD!!! Sure you can find better out there but you will have to spend upwards close to $2000 (not in my budget!) These would include monitors from Merlin, PMC and Proac...all around $2000 and up!!!!

The Quad 11L2's just totally disappear and allow the music to be heard. They are one of those speakers you can build an entire system around and be very happy. I first was using an NAD C340 integrated with these and the music was incredible through my Oppo bdp 83SE....but then I upgraded from the NAD to an Exposure 2010S2 integrated and WOW!!!! The music is so smooth, detailed and refined and for a monitor speaker I feed there is sufficient tight bass for an overall musically engaging experience.

My compliments to Quad for making such an amazing speaker!!!!!

Associated equipment:
Quad 11L2
Exposure 2010S2 integrated
Oppo BDP-83SE
Chord Company SilverScreen speaker cables
Chord Company Chameleon Plus interconnect
Rega P3 turntable

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 17, 2010]
Henrik Eismark
Audio Enthusiast

Purchased 2010 for GBP240.-

Sound is very nice, well rounded and well tempered with no flaws at all. In fact they put my economy sub-woofer out of work as it didn't harmonize.

I don't however experience the exuberance from the other reviews. It's worth the money I paid and maybe twice more as new and unused.

Playing on renovated and upgraded Quad 405-II and 44. incl new OP_AMPS of best quality and placed on stands.

I have no doubt they will serve a lifetime for many people.

Given the size and price it's brilliant product but it won't replace somewhat larger high end speakers. I recommend these to anyone on a budget requiring honest sound reproduction.

Personally I could at my age of 50 do with a raised tweeter, but that would be against the linear principles probably.

Great sound for it's modest price.


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com