Polk Audio LSi9 Bookshelf Speakers

Polk Audio LSi9 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 2x 5.25" aerated polypropylene midrange drivers
  • 1" ring radiator tweeeter
  • 50Hz-26kHz ±3dB
  • 4 ohm impedance
  • 88dB sensitivity

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 37  
    [Mar 31, 2013]
    Theduke
    AudioPhile

    Here's how I got this gem of a speaker to maximum performance:

    These need to be on mass loaded stands (20"-24") and well away from walls and corners. Even there I found the bass a little bit too ripe. So, I completely plugged the rear port with foam rubber but that over damped the bass response. Solution: tune it by ear. I now have the rear port about 3/4 stuffed. It's all room and taste dependent.

    Next, and most important, these speakers need to be bi-wired. They really open up. They will not perform to their potential in a single wire configuration. They bloom when you bi-wire.

    Lastly, use at least 100w/ch solid state amp. Enjoy!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 01, 2010]
    Punit Shetty
    AudioPhile

    Needs a powerful amp (would recommend at least 200 watts @ 4 ohms) to bring out their true beauty. I discovered the meaning of the word "sound stage" with these speakers. The bass is just too good to be true , all my friends think there is a sub woofer playing also & search for it & are amazed to find that all that base is without a sub.
    The clarity is the best I've heard so far.

    I've heard that these don't sound so good with a less powerful amp so throw that into the equation when you think about buying them.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 21, 2009]
    meirco11
    Audio Enthusiast

    the lsi9 is a great speaker that hooked to rotel amp. RA1070c (100w per ch)i think that the polk lsi9 better then the b&w and better then a lots of very expensive bookshelves speakers. with the polk lsi9 i dont need a subwoofer at all. the bass of the polk lsi9 is very warm and punchy. iam very pleased with the lsi9.they are better then the polk rti a7 that i also have.the polk lsi9 prove that a great speaker can be not only great looking'the lsi9 sounds great with all kind of music.iam sorry about my bad english but iam not sorry that i have a great speakers(cherry finish)from all points of view.
    thank you.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 26, 2007]
    ericshook
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Just about everything.
    Very warm, clear, and not to be redundant solid bass.

    Weakness:

    The black lacquer finish keeps me busy with the duster.
    Polk Audio badging may detour some buyers.

    I'm using a Marantz PM7001 Stereo Integrated Amplifier. SO yes, that means I am running a system that is bang for your buck. But thats OK. I'm rivaling a neighbor with a Marsh Tube Hybrid Preamp and Marsh A200s Amplifier, and he drones on and on about my setup. I told him he could spend the night in my living room sometime. He grinned.

    Customer Service

    AWESOME!!! It's like the guy lives across the street or something!

    Similar Products Used:

    Soliliquy 6.2

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 11, 2006]
    philip9
    Casual Listener

    Strength:

    Pack a large punch in a small package.
    Work great with my new Yamaha Rx-V2700.

    Weakness:

    none.

    Great speaker for the money. Little larger than most bookshelf speakers so had to put on a bigger lower shelf. They look beautiful in the cherry finish.

    Customer Service

    Great service from www.acousticsounddesign.com .

    Similar Products Used:

    Infinity Bookshelf - not a fair comparision

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 05, 2006]
    Eli72
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Excellent sounding bookshelf speakers. Clean sound throughout the entire frequency. Lots of Bass for there size, you still need a Sub if you want the ground to shake but for music they are more than enough to make you think twice. The highs are smooth and the Mids are just right. I dont see myself ever giving them up.

    Weakness:

    4ohm speakers, you must have seperate amplifiers if you want these speakers to show you what they got.
    A bit long for a bookshelf.
    These are not realy weaknesses but something you should keep in mind.

    Great Speakers, they pack alot of punch for there size. Can outperform expensive speakers costing much more.

    Similar Products Used:

    Paradigm Reference
    I heard many top speakers costing thousands and the LSI9 can give them all a run for the money

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 17, 2006]
    Eli72
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    heavy construction, great overall sound, can be compared to speakers costing much more, Not much to add that has not already been said about these excellent speakers

    Weakness:

    can be a bit long for a bookshelf but thats not a big problem, 4ohm speaker needs a powerful amplifier, cant realy think of any weaknesses

    Nice wood, Deep bass for such a speaker, smooth high's, Loud and clean, One of the best sounding bookshelf speaker at any price. The bass is more than enough, you will need a sub for ultra low frequencies. Im considering a sub for watching blockbuster movies but Im in no rush with what I have.

    Similar Products Used:

    Polk Lsi-7
    Paradigm Studio 20 / 60 / 80
    Heard many speakers at retail stores...too many to list

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 17, 2006]
    Eli
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Loud and clean, great overall sound, can be compared to speakers costing much more. Not much to add that has not already been said. One of the best sounding bookshelf speakers I ever heard at any price.

    Weakness:

    Cabinet can be a bit long for a bookshelf but thats hardly a problem, 4ohm speaker need a good amplifier. I realy can't think of any weaknesses

    Nice wood, Clean sound, Deep Bass for such a speaker, sweet smooth highs,
    heavy construction

    Similar Products Used:

    Paradigm Studio 20
    Polk Lsi-7
    I heard many speakers at retail stores...too many to list

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 28, 2006]
    slombasound
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Lower end and great tweeter..

    Weakness:

    none

    These are astounding speakers for under $700.00 there the best. Better than the BW 804's in my opinion. They have a better lower end and the tweeter is smoother on the Lsi9.. Acoustic Sound Design is the place to get them..

    Customer Service

    Customer service was great. Quick friendly service......

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 25, 2006]
    andrew_cf
    Casual Listener

    Strength:

    Rich full sound, very detailed and precise in the midrange.

    Weakness:

    Bass is a bit weak will probably add a subwoofer. Nevertheless the speakers perform surprisingly well given their size.

    Very pleased. These bookshelf speakers offer incredible clarity in the midrange and decent bass response. They are attractively finished.

    Customer Service

    Ordered from www.acousticsounddesign.com. They shipped promptly and double boxed, responded immediately to email questions before and after sale, and offered the best price by a significant margin on the web.

    Similar Products Used:

    Polk SDA 2B.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 37  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com