Jamo Concert 8 Bookshelf Speakers

Jamo Concert 8 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Bookshelf speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 33  
[Feb 15, 2016]
The Rambler
AudioPhile

Still one of those best audiophile speakers money can buy. Built quality and exceptional Seas Excell drivers ready to the listener to audio Nirvana, provided you should use best stand, principally heavier than the speakers, and also high quality electronics. In my case, with Spectral Power Amp speakers disappear and layers and layers of musical harmonics filling the room. Similar drivers and concept used by Joseph Audio at several grands. Like my B&W Matrix 801 Series3 Speakers, those Jamos are the jewels that very hardly replacable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 16, 2013]
sagid
Casual Listener

every sound from it is best!!! :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2011]
vena
Casual Listener

gooooooot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2009]
Jean-Pierre
Audio Enthusiast

Jamo Concert 8 full audio with the Marantz PM 17 MK 2 and CD17MK2
The only problem is you gonna get the volume open till you got the neiighbours awake haha
5 out off 5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2009]
proxyyy
AudioPhile

I have Jamo D830 which is absolutely the same as Concert 8 model. They genuinely sound better when placed well away from walls (or the floor for that matter, hence the need for stands). So, placing them on bookshelves is a bad idea.

My living room where this system is located is about 16 x 20 feet, with 9 foot ceilings and hardwood floors, so there's plenty of air to work with (unlike bookshelf speakers which tend to be used in small rooms).

When properly positioned, the Jamo's virtually disappear as the physical sources of the sound. That is, sounds seem to materialize out of thin air, not out of those slick little black boxes on top of the stands. Many sounds seems to originate in front of and behind the speakers and even beyond the width of the space between the two speakers. Imaging of individual instruments is crisp and tightly focused, rather than smeared across an undefined space. And vocals, particularly from female jazz singers, are incredibly life-like. (Check out Patricia Barber's live "Companion" CD, where you'd swear her quintet and even the audience is sitting in your living room.)

In general, mid-range reproduction from these little guys is as good as I've heard from any speakers at two to three times the price. I would rate the highs as very good to excellent. But alas, the chief deficiency of the Jamo's is indeed the lows. Don't get me wrong. It's amazing how good and tight the lows sound from such boxes.



At times I am literally filled with wonder at how good the Jamo's can sound. I say "can sound" because my system is quite revealing of flaws in bad recordings. But with great input, I can hear nuances that I never previously knew existed in the music. As other reviewers have noted, listening to these fine speakers becomes an emotional experience. What more could you ask for at under $2000 a pair?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2009]
Lars Jensen
Audio Enthusiast

For home lisentning clasiscal and jazz music it dosent com mutch better...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2008]
zuljofill
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good sound and clear sound stage for all music
bass is excellent,midrange and treble are perfect
Greatest design and again for the money it,s a beautifull combination

Weakness:

none

The best speaker ever made.It,s a best choice for the money.I bought this speaker 5 years before.I,m listening tjis speakers with krell and it,s a wonderfull combination coneceted with audioquiest cables.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 15, 2008]
9speakers3amps
AudioPhile

Strength:

quality and construction. looks! Crystal clear.

Weakness:

NONE!

ummm, yeah...AWESOME!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2007]
Spaski
AudioPhile

this loudspeaker is not good

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 01, 2004]
harman_mogul
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very faithful to the input source. This all-Naim system, completely standard, is characteristic of the marque with a very alive and rhythmic feel in every kind of music. Voices are clearly separated and presented in a convincing space if that is how the music has been recorded. The mid-range clarity is wonderful with natural acoustics and ungimmicky recordings.

Weakness:

The upper ranges are perhaps over-emphasized, though never strident. Bass is somewhat light though this may be to do with room placement - the rear-facing reflex ports fire at a large picture window, covered at night by heavy drapes. They also stand well clear of the side wall, by at least a metre. The lack of bass slam is apparent on synth bass. The Naim agent doesn't like the very heavy (>60 lb each) Target Foundation four-pillar stands. He thinks they absorb bass energy and would prefer a lighter weight stand. I don't find this entirely credible. I think placement is probably the issue.

Very clear light and fluent sound, though not at its best with syth bass

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale 708. Acoustic Research 2ax.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com