Jamo Concert 8 Bookshelf Speakers

Jamo Concert 8 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Bookshelf speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Oct 29, 2020]
Simon Eales


Strength:

Unbelievably clean sound with excellent imaging and extraordinary bottom end for a speaker of this size. Typically speakers of this size with a big bottom end are boomy, loose and not very deep. These are a definite exception to the rule. I sold and installed audio for over 20 years, including when this model was current, in fact i sold the first pair of these in Australia but couldn't afford the nearly 4k price tag at the time myself. Some years later i started looking for a second hand set and in fact spent 10 years looking on and off, but no-one was selling. Eventually i started looking overseas and got a pair from England finally. I need to mention that these are a speaker that you can listen to for long periods of time. So many speakers with comparable openness can be a bit harsh or fatiguing, especially with extended playing. The Concert 8's manage extraordinary detail while still maintaining a beautiful timbre and they are a real pleasure to listen to. I'm constantly still catching myself if I'm watching a movie for example and a good song comes on in the soundtrack, thinking to myself, gee that sounds good, even after having them for 3 years now. For the record i'm using a Marantz SR-7002 receiver as a pre-amp for the mains, into a Vincent SP-994 power amp. While quite efficient, these speakers do prefer a quality amp with plenty of headroom and the Marantz was not cutting it, even when using it to Bi-Amp the speakers. The Vincent output is Bi-Wired to the speakers and a marked improvement over the Marantz receiver. I highly recommend these speakers if you can get a set.

Weakness:

I have found these to be quite difficult to balance with a subwoofer for music listening. I suspect that a big part of the problem is that the bass is so good in these, that in order to appreciate some benefit of having the sub there, it has to be run to a level that makes the bass boomy overall, or too dominant in the very low frequencies, even when using the matching series D8 sub which i managed to purchase. After 2 weeks of trying i sold it again and have been really happy with the sound without a sub. Unless you simply must have frequencies down under 35Hz, then you really don't need a sub.

Price Paid:
$1500 AUD
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2020]
Jukeboxjonesy


Strength:

Clarity of vocals... Crystal clear highs and amazingly tight and deep bass. Sounds literally pop out that you've not heard before. Got them just yesterday and it was immediately obvious that these are something special and definitely all and more deserving of the hype they receive out there! If you're deliberating on a set, stop and just push the button now!

Weakness:

They forgive poor recordings imo because they show all of the positives but playing MP3 via well known streaming services will show the limitations of MP3. A clear track with space in the music is fine but a cluttered MP3 doesn't do these soakers any justice. But, of course this isn't exactly a weakness of the speakers... I can't think of one really!

Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 15, 2016]
The Rambler
AudioPhile

Still one of those best audiophile speakers money can buy. Built quality and exceptional Seas Excell drivers ready to the listener to audio Nirvana, provided you should use best stand, principally heavier than the speakers, and also high quality electronics. In my case, with Spectral Power Amp speakers disappear and layers and layers of musical harmonics filling the room. Similar drivers and concept used by Joseph Audio at several grands. Like my B&W Matrix 801 Series3 Speakers, those Jamos are the jewels that very hardly replacable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 16, 2013]
sagid
Casual Listener

every sound from it is best!!! :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2011]
vena
Casual Listener

gooooooot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2009]
Jean-Pierre
Audio Enthusiast

Jamo Concert 8 full audio with the Marantz PM 17 MK 2 and CD17MK2
The only problem is you gonna get the volume open till you got the neiighbours awake haha
5 out off 5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2009]
proxyyy
AudioPhile

I have Jamo D830 which is absolutely the same as Concert 8 model. They genuinely sound better when placed well away from walls (or the floor for that matter, hence the need for stands). So, placing them on bookshelves is a bad idea.

My living room where this system is located is about 16 x 20 feet, with 9 foot ceilings and hardwood floors, so there's plenty of air to work with (unlike bookshelf speakers which tend to be used in small rooms).

When properly positioned, the Jamo's virtually disappear as the physical sources of the sound. That is, sounds seem to materialize out of thin air, not out of those slick little black boxes on top of the stands. Many sounds seems to originate in front of and behind the speakers and even beyond the width of the space between the two speakers. Imaging of individual instruments is crisp and tightly focused, rather than smeared across an undefined space. And vocals, particularly from female jazz singers, are incredibly life-like. (Check out Patricia Barber's live "Companion" CD, where you'd swear her quintet and even the audience is sitting in your living room.)

In general, mid-range reproduction from these little guys is as good as I've heard from any speakers at two to three times the price. I would rate the highs as very good to excellent. But alas, the chief deficiency of the Jamo's is indeed the lows. Don't get me wrong. It's amazing how good and tight the lows sound from such boxes.



At times I am literally filled with wonder at how good the Jamo's can sound. I say "can sound" because my system is quite revealing of flaws in bad recordings. But with great input, I can hear nuances that I never previously knew existed in the music. As other reviewers have noted, listening to these fine speakers becomes an emotional experience. What more could you ask for at under $2000 a pair?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2009]
Lars Jensen
Audio Enthusiast

For home lisentning clasiscal and jazz music it dosent com mutch better...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2008]
zuljofill
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good sound and clear sound stage for all music
bass is excellent,midrange and treble are perfect
Greatest design and again for the money it,s a beautifull combination

Weakness:

none

The best speaker ever made.It,s a best choice for the money.I bought this speaker 5 years before.I,m listening tjis speakers with krell and it,s a wonderfull combination coneceted with audioquiest cables.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 15, 2008]
9speakers3amps
AudioPhile

Strength:

quality and construction. looks! Crystal clear.

Weakness:

NONE!

ummm, yeah...AWESOME!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com