Epos Acoustics M5 Bookshelf Speakers

Epos Acoustics M5 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 2-way bass reflex design speaker
  • 137.5mm woofer
  • Power Handling 100 Watt
  • Frequency Response 60 Hz - 20 kHz
  • Impedance 4 Ohm nominal
  • 87dB/1W/1m
  • Amplifier Compatibility 25 - 100 Watt

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 11, 2014]
DAVE
Audio Enthusiast

I USE EPOS M5i BABIES FOR FOLK/JAZZ/VOCALS IN MY MIDFIELD STUDIO.
THESE "BBC SOUNDING" MONITORS ARE WORLD CLASS FOR ACCURACY.
THEY ARE A DELIGHT FOR LONG LATE NIGHT LISTENING SESSIONS.

FOR LARGE SCALE ORCHESTRAL/CHURCH ORGAN MUSIC I USE MY MAIN SYSTEM,
MONSTER MAGNEPLANARS DRIVEN BY TWO BRIDGED CROWN K1 AMPLIFIERS AND YAMAHA SUBWOOFERS, THE ATTACK AND POWER OF THIS SETUP HAS DAMAGED THE STRUCTURE OF THE BUILDING. SO CARE IS NEEDED.

DAVE.
ENGLAND

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2013]
Merid
AudioPhile

These are BBC monitors with a bit more lively sound than usual. They also demonstrate incredibly tight bass, winning out over some pretty decent floor standers I own that don't PRAT nearly as well. Certainly a great deal on the used market, even years after introduction. Better tweeter integration than the new Epos models. They need to back to metal dome which was/is IMO ironically much smoother than their current soft dome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 14, 2013]
Pat
AudioPhile

Incredibele. Better than new Epos mini monitors. Imaging is uncanny. As good as any with vocals. May want subwoofer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 01, 2010]
Bryan
AudioPhile

these speakers take a lot of running in, a couple of months of easy listening, and then some. They start out thin, and lispy, but fill in very well over time. Driven with 80-100 watts, they are able to handle loud passages very well, with startling dynamics. They need a bit of current to get them going. They are not boxy, but output below 80 Hz is from the port, and sounds very false.

I'm going to use them as my main midrange sources, augmenting with a ribbon tweeter and triple drive unit bass bins.

For what they do, they do it very well. Place on good heavy stands, decent thick cables and away from walls, and they produce an excelent result. Don't audition a new pair, though!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 28, 2007]
P.G.
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very good mid range and strong bass. Solid build quality. Price.

Weakness:

Speaker covers, look like a after thought.

I was not looking at this speakers I was thinking more like the BW 685, I arrange a sounding at superfi and the salesman suggested I try this little epos M5 speakers as well. The BW had been run in and the Epos were straight out of the box, that said the little epos sounded very clear. The mid range left the BW standing and the bass for such a small speaker was very good.
Needless to say I got the epoe.
These speaker have got better and better as time has gone on. It took about 100 hour to run-in and settle down, but well worth the wait.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 685 , Wharfedale Diamond 9.1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2007]
Peter Kuntz
AudioPhile

Strength:

Neutral sound; revealing midrange; works on a bookshelf(not an easy thing to do). Easy to drive. Attractive veneer finish.

Weakness:

Very little, given its price.

I've had this speaker in my bookshelf system for more than 1 year and finally got around to writing a review. First, I should mention that I listen near field, with the speakers located on a bookshelf (fortunately without a shelf above them). As such they are located close to the rear walls (about 4-5 inches away). So bass quality will be compromised and the worse outcome for me would be boomy bass.
Sound quality: The bass is not boomy; midrange and treble are clear. Due to the minimal crossover network I can hear midrange details that can get lost in more complicated speakers. In my setup I don't hear much of a soundstage but that's largely due to my setup. I've found them easy to drive---I've used a Pathos integrated amp, a NAD 325bee and others. Overall I find the sound neutral, revealing and do most things I expect from a speaker of this cost and my particular setup. The result is that I can focus on the music. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used:

PSB Image 15; Epos els3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2007]
bubbles
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

good looking,well built

Weakness:

Over rated,thin,lacking body,rough sounding.

I find this speaker extremly over rated,it's good,just not that good,a very average product,it's a bit bright,unrefined treble,thin midrange,lack of body,not great bass,was dissapointed after all the high reviews,the creek amps give it much needed body,and smoothness,but I still remanined rather unimpressed by the over sound and value for money.
Maybe Ok for small rooms or surrounds,but as main stereo I find something missing,didn't feel moved,or connected to the sound,i felt rather dissapointed to be honest.

Similar Products Used:

B&W,Monitor Audio,KEF.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 28, 2004]
tentimestwenty
AudioPhile

Strength:

Midrange. Musicality. Amazing imaging. Gorgeous build.

Weakness:

Requires at least 50 watts of high quality amplification.

The best small bookshelf at the price. Class-leading bass and treble definition. Competes favourably with models costing twice as much in mid range performance. Absolutely "gets out of the way" of the music. Definitely a future classic.

Similar Products Used:

Quad 11L, B&W, PSB, Proac, Energy

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com