Dynaudio Contour 1.3 SE Bookshelf Speakers

Contour 1.3 SE

The Contour 1.3 SE utilizes specifically engineered and produced drivers. The front plates of the drivers and the rear mounted terminal plate are coated with special titanium-metallic lacquer paint. The woofer is a newly constructed design, utilizing a specially developed, high-impulse voice coil and powerful hybrid (neodymium/ferrite) magnet system. The goal was to achieve incredibly fast and precise bass reproduction, with intense transient behavior. The design creates a well-controlled linear movement of the voice coil, and provides outstanding dynamics and low bass extension, while also reducing distortion. The special tweeter design is incorporating a new, intensely powerful magnet system and advanced chamber tuning.

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Pute   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2017]

Jag vill börja med har du inge eller provat dom tycker jag du ska göra det.
jag vill oxå söga att Dynaudio Gemeni är lika bra…här kan du se och lyssna
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSWEBWrgFaQ
övrikt
underbara högtalare som vanligt från Dynaudio Cuntour 1.3 se
spelat dom i många år nu men har oxå måna par av det märket
har man aldrig provat dom börga på 10 eller 42 52 så kommer ni att känna av dom garatarat
Som sakt jag har monga Dynaudio och vill aldrig bytta till något annat..och dom passar till HK som Audio Analog master vilket som av dom….så spelar dom bra med båda förstärkarna
och om man hittar dom om men bara om köp dom

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael E   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 06, 2017]

Do you need a larger or more expensive speaker than these Dynaudios? I’ve had these for more than ten years now, compared them to a number of competitors from recognized brands, bass-monsters from Von Schweikert, super-clean analysts from B&W, Tecnocrats from Focal etc. All of them fantastic speakers and most of them larger and more expensive but as an every-day partner, the Dynaudios are untouchable. The sound is warm, rich, detailed and punch. Of course a speaker of this size will not crack the windows by earthquake sound but even so I’ve never found myself longing for more bass. Position these speakers carefully and the’ll give you deep, rich and wonderfully chiselled bass notes. Do not hesitate placing these quite close to the wall (however not directly in a room corner). I’ve tried lots of positions and find the perfect position to be around 15 cm from the rear wall with a very slight ”toe in’ (the distance between the speakers in my room is 2,1m). This will give a perfect mix of punch, bass support and imaging. Positioned 1-1,5 meters from the rear wall, surely will let the speakers ”breathe” and give you slightly more of a 3D effect but on the other hand the bass foundation and some of the speakers soul is lost. I’m keeping these until I can find something as good sounding, good looking and reasonably priced.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2012]

Bought a used pair of these based on reviews. Speakers sounded great, but one of the speakers soon developed a problem. Dynaudio is impossible to contact. Support in the US is non-existent. Would agree with the other reviews here that this is a wonderful speaker, but you should think hard about buying them because of problems of getting them repaired.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Eli72   AudioPhile [Nov 07, 2010]

Dynaudio keeps making the same mistake over and over. They discontinue making some of their best speakers and perhaps some of the best speakers in the world. The 1.3SE is no exception, try and find a pair of these on the used market and you will be waiting months if not years, on top of that if you don't snatch them within the first hour they will be sold immediately. The 1.3SE provides tremendous bass for a bookshelf, the mids are neutral, the silk dome tweeters are some of the best I heard never sounding bright yet very smooth and sweet. Simply put you can listen to these speakers all day without fatigue. When connected to the best equipment the speakers will make you wonder if it is ever possible to upgrade. I have spoken to people who have even preferred the 1.3SE over the notorious Dynaudio C1. The new Confidence speakers with the silk dome Esotar 2 drivers can sound extremely dynamic which can also be mistaken for brightness, the 1.3SE will play deeper than the C1 in the bass region. Some audiophile's who have sold the 1.3SE have posted that they regret that decision and soon find themselves looking for another pair on the used market.

Are there better bookshelf speakers out there? I'm sure you might find a few but make no mistake the C1 cost $7000 when purchased new and $4300 when purchased used, even after paying all that it is debatable if the extra money was actually worth spending over the price of the 1.3SE.
I own a pair of the 1.3SE and also a pair of the Confidence 5. The Confidence 5 is a better speaker but it is a floor standing 3 way speaker costing 4-5 times more. The Confidence 5 is yet another discontinued legend made by Dynaudio, it seems the company just doesn't get it. Sadly some of the older products are still considered better than the newer replacements today, they just don't make them like they use to, not to mention the newer speakers are so ugly, what were they thinking of when they came up with the new design!!

Dynaudio if you are reading this please take note, continue to make the Contour 1.3SE, Confidence 5 and Confidence 3. To those who are looking for a pair of used bookshelf speakers under $2000 don't even think twice, if you see them on eBay or audiogon grab them immediately.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Earl Yetman   AudioPhile [Jul 30, 2010]

Having owned Dynaudio Audience 52s, Contour 1.3s and finally the Contour 1.3 SEs, I can definitively say that the 1.3 SEs are absolutely phenomenal monitors! They are superior to the Contour 1.3 MkI and MkIIs in every way. Highs and mids are effortless and ethereal. The bass response is stunning, not just for a small speaker, just stunning. The SEs play extremely loud with no perceived effort or strain.

To get the best that they have to offer partner them with a very powerful amplifier. I am using a Krell KAV-400xi to great effect with them and it is a near perfect match IMO.

I compared the 1.3 SE to the newer Contour 1.4s and prefer the SE. My only possible upgrade will stepping up to the Dyn Confidence C1 monitors.

In a world where the word "special" is overused and abused, the Contour 1.3 SE is truly "special" if you have a chance to try/buy a pair go out and do so. They receive my absolute highest recommendation!

Partner them with very fine electronics, set them up correctly in your room and prepare to be astonished!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hernani Braga   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 2006]
Strength:

great resolution, neutrality, bass extension, soundstage

Weakness:

Requires a good set-up ( power, source, cables, stands ), otherwise, you can lose the "best of the party."

I have been listening to a pair of 1.3 MKII for more than 5 years and I had enjoyed a lot its neutrality and sound in general. In fact, I have not found any other bookshelf to replace it up to this moment. The moment when I had the opportunity of listening to a 1.3SE and I became absolutely shocked by the improvement in all areas Dynaudio has gotten in this special model. They have a great resolution, dynamic, bass extension that can put you in doubt about spend more in some exotic speakers . In additional, without loosing any of positive areas I enjoyed in the 1.3 MKII .
Frankly speaking, I have also listened to the Dynaudio 25th and, even if it can sound strange to someones, I prefer the 1.3SE to the 25th. ( in fact, i thought the 1.3 MKII even more neutral and enjoyable than the 25th). The 1.3SE has a more "integrated" sound, a more natural sound. For me, at least for while, THAT´S THE SPEAKER.
Pay attention to the set-up. Need a good power as well as sources, stands and cables of very good level, otherwise, due its high resolution and low sensitivity, you can not get the best it can offer you.
My set up is a Gryphon Callisto 2200, Cd Player Gryphon CDP-01, VDH Inspiration, Combak Power Cables and XLR interconnect, and Power Plant 300 and HIGh Current Out Let.

Similar Products Used: Sonus Faber Cremona, Acoustic Energy ( top Level ), Pro AC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thimmy118   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2005]
Strength:

Neutrality, clarity, clean highs, out of box sound and extended bass.

Weakness:

Need powerfull amp (not in wattage but in drive factor). I used a prepower combo from Jungson running Class A all the way and thses speakers love them.

These are wonderful speakers that can make my spine tingle with their clear midrange, airy highs and subtle but powerful bass. The integration between the mids and highs are seamless and the 'out of box' sound is clear and rich. Has the ability to differentiate tonal colours but remain highly neutral when doing so. I have previously owned many spaekers starting with Advent, Spendor, Mordaunt Short, Dynaudio Audience 50 and 70 and now the Contours 1.3se. I have listened to many other exotic speakers some good and some not so good and these speakers are able able to compete with them easily. Highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger Webster   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2004]
Strength:

Perfect in every way - 3D soundstage, undemanding but addictive, build quality (Bird's Eye Maple finish brings many admiring comments)

Weakness:

None

Agree with all the positive comments made on these wonderful speakers - I had used Contour 1.3's for about three years, as well as other Dynaudios - all impressive - but these are just ineffably brilliant. So perfect in every way - they draw you in to the music and become invisible. Exquisite highs and lows, combined with sensational midrange - what more can I say? Such a shame Dynaudio discontinued them for future generations of listeners - makes these a highly desirable classic. Beautiful Danish minimalist design - combines sonically and aesthetically with my Danish Bow Technologies Wizard and Wazoo - the amp drives them easily - though only rated @ 75 watts into 8 ohms.

Similar Products Used: Various Dynaudio, PMC, ATC, Accoustic Energy, Mission, B & W, Proac, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kris   AudioPhile [Nov 10, 2004]
Strength:

Very good bass with the right amp. Soundstage and imaging!

Weakness:

None

Just a top notch speaker that just blew me away when I first heard it. I use a Pass labs amp to drive them and the can fill me room (17x22) with full bass. They soundstage like nothing that I have ever had in my house. The birds eye maple is just amazing to look at. Power thes with a good amp and stands and you will be shocked at how good they can sound.

Similar Products Used: Kef Definitive tech Aerial Silverline.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
helge   AudioPhile [Oct 17, 2003]
Strength:

Together wit my Electrokompaniet (NEMO) amps and good cables (Proson top model), the 1.3SE provides a very well balanced and relaxed sound picture. Clarity and neutrality are also terms that spring to mind, to describe what I feel about these speakers. I also think they will funktion well together with a smaller amp. They seem very litle demanding when it comes to power.

Weakness:

It looks (mostly) harmless.

I was looking for a powerful but relatively small speaker, one that would funktion well together with my Electrokompaniet amps and cd player. I was testing a lot of speakers in this class, as well as reading reviews. A time consuming effort, but time well spent! Amongst the ones I tested, Elak, Sonus Faber, JBL, Dynabel and more.., I found the 1.3SE to be the most balanced an honests of them all. So it was not difficult to fall in love with this compact dane, this wonderpiece of a speaker. Luckily I found a pair, almost new, at half the price of new ones, and I concider them the best buy I have done so far, in my everlasting pursuit of perfect sound. If it is perfection you are looking for, this is your speaker. If you prefer to impress your friends with a wrongly colorated sound picture, you better buy a massive and cheap american speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com