Cambridge Soundworks Model Six by Henry Kloss Bookshelf Speakers

Model Six by Henry Kloss

Acoustic Suspension Loudspeakers: 8" Woofer, 1 3/4" tweeter

User Reviews (43)

Showing 1-10 of 43  
Jazz Lover   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2013]

My philosophy has always been -- You need the right tool for the job. If the job is jazz -- or other music that accentuates highs and mids -- this is the speaker for you! On the other hand, if you're a bass junkie you'll be sorely disappointed. I'm listening to Oliver Nelson's "Jazz and the Abstract Blues," and the brass reproduces beautifully. It's loud, clear and coherent. I changed CD;'s to Yusef Lateef, and while the flute came through with flying colors, the bass and the drum track took a serious drubbing. Look, for the money you're paying for these babies what do you expect? A speaker that can everything? Fat chance! But, for the money, you will hear sounds accurately reproduced with feeling and expression at a level that that rivals much more expensive speakers. For jazz, classical, ambient, New Age, vocals, you're good. For rock, hip-hop, tribal drumming, look elsewhere. Of course, if you want to go to the trouble, a good subwoofer would remedy the lack of bass to some extent and make these speakers a great all around choice.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
leechungsr   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2010]

I had to write a review to reinforce everyone else that has written on these speakers. Holy moly these are a steal.

These speakers complement my vintage Pioneer SX-727 perfectly; nothing short of orgasmic. They are on 24inch high speaker stands, and sit 5.5inches from the wall. I have them mated to a powered Onkyo sub set to ~75hz and the transition is seamless. I imagine this is exactly how the artists intended to have their music played. Every detail is so natural, clean, and balanced. The next time these speakers go on sale I'm going to buy another set just in case Cambridge Soundworks stops production someday.

Most casual observers tell me "those speakers look 30 years old." I couldn't care less. My alternatives in this price range would be some very sloppy sounding ported bookshelf speakers.

As mentioned in previous reviews, I let the speakers break in for about 10 hours a day at moderate volumes for 3 days. By the end of this period, these speakers really transformed and began to sing!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lee   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2010]

I had to write a review to reinforce everyone else that has written on these speakers. If Bose had a product like the Model Six they would be advertising the hell out of it. Holy moly these are a steal.

Most casual observers tell me "those speakers look 30 years old." I couldn't care less. My alternatives in this price range would be some very sloppy sounding ported bookshelf speakers.

As mentioned in previous reviews, I let the speakers break in for about 10 hours a day at moderate volumes for 3 days. By the end of this period, these speakers really transformed and began to sing!!

These speakers complement my vintage Pioneer SX-727 perfectly; nothing short of orgasmic. I have them mated to a powered Onkyo sub set to ~75hz and the transition is seamless. I imagine this is exactly how the artists intended to have their music played. Every detail is so natural, clean, and balanced. The next time these speakers go on sale I'm going to buy another set just in case Cambridge Soundworks stops production someday.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RobRob   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2009]

Wow! Crisp, clear, accurate and amazing. These speakers blew me away. After reading all the reviews I was hoping for a nice sounding speaker, but I had a hard time believing that a set of $100 speakers could be as good as they were described. The reviewers were right, these Model 6 speakers sound better than any other speaker I've listened to! My entire music collection sounds better than it ever has.

I was using two large Yamaha PA speakers for my front theater channels and I wasn't happy with their sound for music reproduction--although they were great for movie sound. I purchased these Model 6's just for music and I'm extremely happy with their them. I love the accuracy and clarity these speakers generate. I've fallen love with my jazz collection all over again.

I have to agree with a previous reviewer, a set of four or six of these Model 6's plus a sub woofer would make an exceptional surround sound system. You simply cannot go wrong by purchasing these speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RyanRivera   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2007]
Strength:

Smooth, flat response. Uncolored, accurate sound. Impressive low bass response and ouput levels. Unequaled value. Perfect as a low-cost main or starter system.

Weakness:

Lack of marketing causes these to be overlooked by both mainstream and specialty-store consumers. They sound terrible when first hooked up and require patience before they bloom.

After breaking these in for several days (essential for any musicality from these speakers), I am really enjoying listening to these! The bass goes as low as I have heard from any bookshelf speaker, being more on par with many medium-sized towers (my own test signals show strong response down to 40Hz and clearly audible response down to 30Hz). Midrange is smooth and solid, with an articulate, but relaxed high end. The clean, simple design is actually quite appealing (probably because nothing looks or feels cheap on these units). Volume levels are also quite impressive, and can vibrate an adjacent room at very high output levels on bass-heavy material without distortion (both rooms are relatively small, being about 15' square). That alone is a testament to the craftmanship. I believe the Model Sixes are the best speaker I have heard under $400/pr. Now I see that Cambridge Soundworks is selling them at $99/pr! Unequaled value in my opinion. For my setup these are placed close to the wall and have been paired with an Onkyo 100w/channel stereo receiver and Marantz CD player. Remember to break these in at moderate to high volume levels for many hours (24+) since these sound harsh and boxy when brand new.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Titans Version 2 (inferior to Model Six by CSW), Magnepan MMG (excellent)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
SpeakerNut   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 06, 2007]
Strength:

Highs and sweet midrange, bass is good as well, not boomy. I like the retro look.

Weakness:

They don't serve me breakfast in bed.

I've wanted a pair of these for quite a while as the reviews were good. They live up to the billing. They are very musical and pretty much my favorite out of the many kef, paradigm, polk, b&w speakers I have, of course I switch around often and each has their strengths. But I just enjoy the music with these and don't overanalyze, everything sounds right. I hope Cambridge continue these forever, they are that good, timeless.

Customer Service

I've heard good things.

Similar Products Used: kef, paradigm, polk, b&w, insignia
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SpeakerNut   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 04, 2007]
Strength:

Sweet highs and midrange, good bass for the moderate levels I listen at. I like the retro look as well.

Weakness:

They don't serve me breakfast in bed.

I got these off of Ebay a couple of months ago. I have read about these for years and knew eventually I would get a pair just because of all the positive reviews. I must say in comparison to all the other speakers I have purchased (for much more money), these guys are just great. I especially love the midrange as they bring out a lot of detail. I don't usually write reviews, but these speakers are just so musical and never fatigue. I have other good speakers which I like for various reasons; b&w, kef, paradigm, but these are right in there as one of my faves. They still sell these on Cambridge's website and should never stop, an excellent buy at their list price, a steal at the price I got these. If you buy new, let them break in before passing judgement. I'm not an audio snob, but do have an obsession for good sound at reasonable prices.

Customer Service

No experience.

Similar Products Used: Kef, Paradigm, Polk, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
larrimore   AudioPhile [Mar 07, 2004]
Strength:

The sound is all there and compares to some great speakers. Imaging, bass and sweet treble. Designed by the now late, greatlegend Henry Kloss.

Weakness:

Difficult shape to find good stands for, but I ended up with quality stands from e-bay and modified the top plate to work.

OK, this is my third review for these speakers, but that's fair since this is my third pair. I built a new room in my basement for music/movie watching and was planning to use my Magnepans as fronts, but put my trust old Model Sixes on with my Denon 4800 receiver and Pioneer Elite DVD/SACD player and was so impressed, I decided to have a "shootout" using all of the speakers I currently have: Magnepan MG-12, Polk RT-25i, Wharfedale Diamond 8.1 and my Sonus Faber Concertinos in my Family room system. When it was over, the SF and Maggies beat the Model Sixes only barely (really JUST BARELY) and the three of them were all far superior to the others. Since the basement came down to the maggies and the model sixes (the sonus fabers are staying in their home), I chose the model sixes due to the easier placement issues- being acoustic suspension in design, they can be clser to the back wall and side walls than the Magnepans which need alot of air around them. My wife even approved of the look of the new set I bought (black)when placed on sand filled 18" stands. So, now I have three sets in a 6.1 THX setup (2 rear center speakers)and use the CSW center channel plus for a center since it has the same tweeter. I am not ashamed at all to have these $129 per set of speakers matched to a $2000 receiver. It sounds THAT good and looks good to boot!

Similar Products Used: I am a speaker nut- you name it I have used it. By the way, speakers are the easiest component to change out and there are some surprising values out there- these, Bics, Axiom, Aperion, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stealth_C^   Casual Listener [Oct 06, 2003]
Strength:

Cheap, good range of sound. Have some bass.

Weakness:

For the price I paid, none.

For $120 a pair, this speaker is great. I havn't heard a great deal of speakers in my lifetime, but I have to say this pair sounds pretty darn good. On their own (no sub) they do indeed have a resonable amount of bass. Im not talking earth-shattering, but for light music listening, not bad at all. With a subwoofer, these things rock. I've heard some resonably expensive speakers and I really dont notice a huge difference between them and the model sixes with a sub. I'm not an "audiophile". I dont spend $1000 on cables. But I'll tell you now, for $120 bucks, they're damn good.

Similar Products Used: The best I've heard are a vintage pair of Sansui's at my future in-laws house. Damn good speakers....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Allen   Casual Listener [May 28, 2003]
Weakness:

None, especially when price is considered. Bass is a little distorted at elevated volumes and does not hit as well as higher priced models, but overall an excellent speaker

I purchased these while in college to fit into a dorm room lifestyle. From day 1 I have been completely satisfied with them. I have toasted two subwoofers and these are still hanging in there. The sound is excellent and clear. Now my step-daughter is trying to see if she can do a number on them, but they take a likin' and keep sounding great. In fact after a 2 month break in period, they sound even better at 6 years old they show no signs of wear.

Similar Products Used: Bose 201
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com