B.I.C. America DV62si Bookshelf Speakers

DV62si

Top-notch components yield a stunningly accurate bookshelf-size speaker! Custom designed 3/4 tweeter delivers crystal-clean undistorted upper mid and high frequencies. The 6 poly/graphite woofer is light yet rigid for tight, accurate extended bass. Rear-enclosure patented Venturi vent further extends deep low frequency performance. It is ideal for use with all surround and music formats.

User Reviews (52)

Showing 1-10 of 52  
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2012]

I have been into stereo for, let's just say a very long time. I have owned many different speakers over the years. My JBL 4311s were about my favorite that I ever owned. More recently I had some Infinity large bookshelfs. On a whim and because they were so cheap and people were raving about them I ordered a set of these DV62si bookshelf. I paid less than $120 shipped for the pair. I was amazed by the clarity so mcuh so that I packed up the Infinitys and began using the BICs for my mains with a sub.

The clarity was nice but I began to notice the highs were on the piercing side. That's when I heard about the mod Ed was doing so I sent my crossovers off to him. The highs were reduced by the mod but the overall sound character was terrible. Not really satisfied with either the modded or the unmodded version I decided to try my own hand at tuning the little BICs in. It took quite a long time to get the mod to where I have it now but suffice it to say the realism is amazing especially for a speaker that costs so little.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ralph Colao   AudioPhile [Nov 07, 2011]

I have been a musician for over 40 years and have had some very high end audio components over the years. At my age I was looking for something smaller to fit in a more compact space. I was also looking for a relatively inexpensive speaker pair, since I still play in a band and don't need the overpowering stereo anymore. I searched for days reading reviews and comparing features. I was concerned about frequency range in bookshelf speakers and really didn't want to deal with a subwoofer. These speakers are all that was advertized. Right out of the box, the sound is great. Since I'm a drummer, and a bit older, my high frequency loss leaves me hearing mostly dull high ends, but not with these. I read that they were too bright, but I don't see that. I was mostly concerned with the low end. It delivers just fine...tight low end and more than I really expected. Placement does make a big difference, so take some time to place to get the best bass response. I am using a Gemini PA-7000 preamp & a Samson S500 amp. I will be using a dbx 1215 EQ as soon as I install. I have to admit, I added a pair of Cambridge satellite speaklers to enhance the high end. I had them and just added. With this set up, I am completely satisfied with the frequency range, response and power.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Torbjorn   AudioPhile [Oct 14, 2011]

Not sure what year I had. I gutted them and put in other parts and new porting. These speakers are crap. First, the woofer has no resolution. And the woofer is already loud around 250 Hz, but the way they designed the porting it makes the mid base even louder, bizarre. The tweeter is bad on its own but the crossover makes it crap out totally and destroy the listening experience. There is a big drop between 3 to 5 k Hz and above that the volume of the tweeter picks holes in your ear drums. The way to go with these is to dump them in the nearest dumpster. If you can't afford to upgrade, tilt the speakers back about 30 degrees, tweeter away from you, to kill the top end of the tweeter and put sock in the porting holes. A horrible product. There is no need to expose yourself any further. Out in the country you can target shoot at them. Go get your Magnum. Now.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
G-Midd   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2011]

First off, I can't necessarily label myself an audiophile per se. I do love good sound and have had a fair share of high end equipment over time including McIntosh gear; but, lately, my entire direction in stereo is to get the sweetest sounding rigs with the absolute minimal outlay -- it's a hobby for me and I really enjoy seeing what can be had for a few hundred or more. My search for a decent bookshelf with a decent frequency range lead me to BIC DV62si speakers.

I would seriously recommend that these speakers only be purchased only if you intend to have Ed Frias modify the crossovers. When I received the speakers, I was expecting something special based on the reviews of people who like the un-modded version. I hooked them up to a Dayton DTA-100a T-Amp, so I expected a certain warm to the sound. I found the highs to be excessively bright with little or no warmth to the mid-range and no bottom end. I really felt like I had wasted $100.00 or so. I'll put it bluntly, the speakers, to me, were not listenable. So, I pulled out the crossovers and sent them to Ed (a great guy to deal with, by the way) and in just a matter of days they arrived. I installed them, hooked up the speakers and -- WOW!!! It was like having all new speakers. The highs were not as harsh, the mid-range was glorious and the bass (while not wall thumping) was perfect enough for the type of music I listen to. The sound-stage is now wide with great instrument placement and voices (particularly female voices) were spot on accurate! Ed does a remarkable job turning these speakers into speakers that a truly enjoyable to listen to. With Ed it is like you give $30+ and he hands you back $500.00. The modified crossovers make that big of a difference!

Like I said, don't buy these unless you intend to have Ed work his magic; unless, of course, you really have no concern with great quality sound. At this point, I'm thinking I should have went with the Extensive Modifications because his crossover mod alone is so incredible! I am really, really happy with the sound of these speakers! Thank you, Ed!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dkopanoa   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2010]

I love the sound of the out the box dv62si any of you guys know anything about the next model up the bic americia FH-65b there about double the price are they worth it ?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Pigliavento   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2009]

I have had (4) EFE modified DV62si speakers in my home theater system since 2002. I bought them direct from Ed, never hearing the Standard BIC version. In 2005, I had an opportunity to do an A-B comparison with my EFE version side-by-side with a brand new pair of the BIC standard model. Folks, I'm here to tell you that hands down (not even close) myself, my wife, my neighbors, all picked the Standard BIC version.

The soundstage was much wider, the highs were more crisp, the main vocal performance was more natural & focused. You could hear the fingers sliding down the strings of an acoustic guitar. If you closed your eyes,
you could pick out musician locations on the stage. The EFE version had a much smaller soundstage, the highs sounded choked. The main vocal had less presence and musician locations were less focused.

Frankly, I was blown away by the Standard BIC model and disapointed I spent almost double the price for the EFE version. I have read that some listeners find them to be too bright. I would simply adjust the treble over having them modified. I have also read that some listeners who found them to be too bright reported that after a break-in period, the high end improved. I loved them right out of the box!!

If you are listening to "Adult" music @ "Adult" volume and sit in the proper isosceles triangle position, you will be extremely impressed with this set of speakers that can be purchased for about $125/pr. But, don't be fooled, you can also crank the sh_t out of these speakers. They have a much bigger sound than you would expect from a smaller bookshelf speaker.

The test pair that was used for this comparison is being used in a Professional Dance Studio. If they can hold up to that kind of abuse, you should rest assured that they will give you many years of service.

In closing, I realize that there are many positive EFE reviews on this forum, but unless you've had the opportunity to do an actual side-by-side comparison, it means nothing. Sure by themself, the EFE version sounds good, and there is a huge difference after the modification, but for me and everybody else who compared the two side-by side in my living room, the Standard BIC DV62si was the better sounding speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ddw   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2009]

Bad experience with the modified speakers by Ed Frias I wish I heard the original so I could really compared what he did. These things were so bright and imaged so poorly it hurt my ears. My ears could not tolerate even 15 minutes of listening and the speakers were sent back immediately. Get some real speakers please… I compared these directly with Paradigm Reference Studio 20v.2 and Paradigm Titan v.3 not even close. I don’t think these can even stand up to budget Polk models that are very good btw.
Hearing is subjective so to each his own… But these are far from warm.
If they work for you good but this is far from what I expected. I might buy the originals just to see how they sound before being reworked, I have a feeling they would be better than the mod.
Unless I really got a bum pair (Ed re-measured the speakers and said they were perfect) I have to say no stars. Also because I spoke to another owner who burnt $1,000s because he was told his source equipment was the problem and his speakers still dont sound natural.


Strong points: the reviews posted here

Weak points: Sound is not natural, poor imaging, poor support from Ed himself.

Associated equipment: NAD 3240 Pioneer Elite A35r Denon Paradigm Studio 20v2 Titan v3 NHT SB2 B&W 602s3 Onkyo Polk rt25i Polk R30

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
sreyn25   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2009]

VERY SAFE BET for anyone willing to purchase before listening. As somewhat of an audiophile (10k 2-channel system), I enjoy good sound at a reasonable price. However, I'm new to HT and know little about 6.1 setups. Bought 4 of these online with a DV62CLR centre (equally if not MORE impressive) for family room HT, based on forum user reviews.

The DV62si are among the best sounding sub $300 speakers I've heard in 20 years of speaker auditioning. They come off a little bright at first, however, nothing that correct positioning didn't solve. What they lack in low end presence is easily made up by their detail and clarity. Throw in a sub, and you'll have what appears to be the best kept secret in quality budget HT speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mconn   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2009]

Picked them up for $109 Amazon. Did not "need" new speakers but they had good reviews and the price was right. Considering the price, I couldn't be happier. I did add poly fill to the acoustic insulation already there. I can't say that it helped but it had been suggested by many. The run with a velodyne cht12 sub so low bass is no a factor. A little brightness that is easily corrected with the treb. control. Right now, I would be hard pressed to find a better buy. Even though you should always audition speakers, it's just too good a deal to let slip by. As stand alone stereo for music only, they are impressive. There are a lot of speakers hundreds more that they could give a run for the money. The name isn't cool with the audiophile set, but many would be embarrassed picking another over them in A-B test..

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
allstar720   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2009]

Although I was tempted to grab them for $100 from amazon I just had to hear what Ed Frias was doing. I figured in the end I'd have sent them to him anyway so instead of all of that s+h I ordered a pair of highly modified's directly from him. Boy are these things nice. I'm extremely happy with the sound. They are very warm, rich, and natural sounding speakers as modified by Mr. Frias. If you go to amazon's page I have uploaded some pictures of them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 52  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com