B&W DM 602 S2 Bookshelf Speakers

B&W DM 602 S2 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

7" Woofer and 1" Metal Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 184  
[Oct 17, 2018]
plys8


Strength:

It's a good compromise. Good sound rich in detail. Give them a good stand and an amplifier to match. Then You get most of what people lacks. I use a Pioneer a656 mark II to drive the speakers. Because they need some power to shine. For a speaker this size I still think, they're very good. I tried Tannoy, Bose and Warfedale and a few others in comparable size and price. They're not perfect, but at the price seccond hand, they are hard to beat.

Weakness:

They need a stand. Even though some call them bookshelf speakers, they don't work very well like that. On a stand with spikes they gain a lot from bitumen plates between the stand and the speaker. Not being the easiest to drive, they need a relatively big amp to be precise.By all means - get rid of the plate if You can't biwire them. Better get good connectors and wire those instead. The plates kills the sound. Mine have been professionally refurbished. The cones are not for a home with small children, they're like magnets for curios fingers. They're very prone to be damaged. Refurbishing is expensive. Luckily I bought mine refurbished.

Price Paid:
80
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2009
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2017]
FRANK WILSON
AudioPhile

I will preface my evaluation by saying these are good speakers.Not great by any means,I think most go gaga over the name,and are influenced by the reviews.I must admit i did purchase these by name alone and wanted an audiophile grade speaker.Needless to say i was disappointed,muddy soundstage,lacking clarity.My Boston Acoustics A40's are crisper,even the bass is more defined.I honestly believe some are more influenced by the fact that they are British,I own Sony speakers (not the mass marketed crap) that sound just as good.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 07, 2014]
Jazz player
Audio Enthusiast

Bought it second hand last year. Using it for critical listening in a very well treated small room with enough low and broadband bass trapping.
My first impression was that highs were harsh and lows were there , but not as defined as It should be. Since then I did some modifications that makes all the difference: 1) filled my stands with sand. 2)take out the jumper plates and simply get the speaker cable doing the job.3) Added Sorbothane pads between the speaker cabinet and the stands(a big improvement) 4) Put felt around the tweeters to avoid diffraction + a smooth tweeter FR.

Still not perfect, but I feel there´s room for improvement ;-)
A fair overall rating would be 4,5 stars.

Overall: a good speaker that reacts to every subtle change in the system room/acoustics/gear and needs a well treated room to shine - as any other quality speaker, of course.

Amp: Rotel 970 BX

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2008]
NBACOUSTICS
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

price attractive for product. engineering is excellent.

Weakness:

needs power to drive effectively, eq or subwoofer required for low deep base.

Mostly used as a surround sound theatre( I HAVE 4 OF THESE) along with the ASW Subwoofer 10 inch.
the combination is excellent for this use. in my home studio they dont have enough definition in base. mids and highs are excellent.

Customer Service

NO PROBLEMS TO DATE

Similar Products Used:

KEF REFERENCE, JBL PROFESSIONAL STUDIO MONITORS,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2007]
shane2468
Casual Listener

Strength:

Fast, puchy, Detailed and smooth. But also depends what you partner it with!!!!.

Good solid build for a entry level speaker, not made of cheap ply wood like the bose 301 series v.

Weakness:

Pretty bulky in size. But youll get used to it they won't kill your eyes and body,
but watch out for the SHARP corners.

Nice entry level speakers with a big hearted sound with potentials of a reference speaker or maybe not. Had these partnerd with my roksan kandy mk3 amp along with byron sonnetter cd player. The sound was fast and puchy, but on the other hand it can be smooth and silky sounding on depending what I play. These speakers can really go wild with nirvana, they sound fast and the woofer really moves accurate with the kick drum. The tweeter is top-notch as crisp, you could even heare the performer licking licking his lips before he sings. And the hi-hat symbol going up-down sounds grate like as if its in front of you but its not, Its coming from the dam speaker from a heavy intergrated amp feeding it. Any way these speakers are grate and magnificent with respect. And god forbid these speakers do sort of need good equipment to get them to you saticfication.

Similar Products Used:

Mordaunt shot advant-908.

Bose 301 series v.

Kef Q10- pleae not these were the old first ones.

Acoustic enery aegis 3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 23, 2006]
rickenbacker
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Well balanced, you can listen to these all days without tiring, the treble is never agressive, never metallic: that alone is a great quality.
They can wop out a nice amount of clear sharp bass, they can rattle the walls with a good punchy amp (I have an 80W Onkyo Integra), and they'll do it with no distortion, but the bass is a little short...don't expect that 40 Hz BOOM, these stop around 60 Hz, so you can't compare these with 12 inch boomers such as what you'd find on big JBL units like the 4312MkII for instance.

Weakness:

Bass a little boomy if cornered or near a wall, and bass doesn't extend very low, like on larger units.

Purchased for 2400 French Francs (around 360 euros).

Great looks with their woven yellow kevlar woofers and dome tweeters, but they can fit in very discreetly once the covers are back on.
Well balanced but no deep bass.

Similar Products Used:

None. Just tried the Eltax Concept 500 floorstanders and they suck beyond anything i imagined. True, they are very cheap, at 100 €, but they have no mids and bass had to be turned up almost completely on the amp to get anything out of them, and they still sounded weak and thin, and unbalanced.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 26, 2005]
Johnny Farm
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound Bass Looks Build quality

Weakness:

Havent found any yet

Excellent Speakers with clear and natural sound. Very good build quality like all b&W. Im very impressed with its performance. Greats ¡¡¡

Similar Products Used:

Monitor Audio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2005]
gregr
AudioPhile

Strength:

Great sound, warm and clear. Good imaging if set up properly.

Weakness:

None

I actually have the series 3 but they are not listed so... I have wanted these speakers for a long time and finally have them. I had very high expectations which were fully met. I only have about 30 hours on them but have noticed the warmth improving already. they look good and sound great. Not many speakers can play at high volume and not fatigue your ears at all but these do just that. B & W has the best line of affordable speakers on the market in my opinion and the 602's fit right in. Best speaker for the money... period.

Similar Products Used:

Energy C8's, JBL L110's, 605's, 603's, 602.5's, 601's, many different Paradigm, Mirage, PSB, Definitive Technology and Klipsch.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2003]
bor
AudioPhile

Strength:

Dynamics LF response Soundstage depth and width

Weakness:

A bit bright for my taste in the context of my system.

These are a very good value large standmount speakers. They have a very good dynamic handling, and soundstage is fairly deep although not very wide. (allways trapped between your speakers. The tonal character is cold and thin, although the way they handle dynamics makes you forget about it (almost...) If you prefer a sweeter and more natural presentation go for the Monitor audio Bronze 2 (biwired o biamped), although you will not have the foot tapping dyanamics of the 602 s2. Note: Some reviewers have said the 602 s have not any soundstage at all. They do!, but you have to make sure they are standing at least 50 cm away of the back walls and heavily toed in(the speakers should cross 1 mt in front of you roughly) Give them some time for room tuning and try playing with interconnects and you have a very good speaker for the money. If you don't like the tonal presentation of these ones go for the Bronze 2 without hesitation. They are a great hifi bargain !!

Similar Products Used:

Monitor Audio Bronze 2 Acoustic energy Kef 601 s2 (Do not ever consider them) Almost any speaker up to 300 pounds with the exception of NHT

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 13, 2002]
cone
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good detailed tweeter midrange full and slightly warm decent soundstage

Weakness:

muddy,wooly bass ports chuff at hi volume very large for standmounts can sound boxy

After reading all the hype concerning these speakers (mostly based on Brit mags), I decided to auditon the new series 3 model. Consequently, I have returned to my local dealer on several occasions to make a fair assessment. The new models include a nautilus designed tweeter and the very familiar kevlar drivers. First impression was these things look like a science project straight out of the 70s...they are very large for a standmount. The highs were very detailed and clear, the mids slightly warm, but the bass was too muddy for my tastes. If you like these, I would opt for the 601s...you lose some extension but gain definition. I also thought these sounded 'boxy' at times...but the overall soundstage was pretty good. As far as transparency,imaging,and depth, the Paradigm Studio 20s really embarrass these things...and they cost the same (and have been rated Stereophile Class C for a number of years as well as recently revamped as V2 models...a hi-end sounding speaker without the hi-end cost...and I typically dont like Paradigm...they are as good as the Triangle Titus...and you dont have to wait 3 months for a pair) Overall not a bad choice but I do feel you can do better with your hard earned cheese.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm Studio 20s,PSB,Monitor,NHT

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 184  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com