B&W 805 Bookshelf Speakers

B&W 805 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

  • price for pair
  • 2-way vented-box system
  • Dimensions Height: 418mm (16.5 in)
  • Width: 238mm (9.4 in)
  • Depth: 351mm (13.8 in)
  • Net Weight 11.5kg (26 lb)
  • Freq. Response 49Hz - 22kHz ±3dB on reference axis
  • Freq. Range -6dB at 42Hz and 50kHz
  • Sensitivity 88dB spl (2.83V, 1m)
  • Normal Impedance 8 ohms (minimum 3.7 ohms)
  • Power Handling 50W - 120W into 8 ohms on unclipped program
  • Drive Units Unit 1: 1x 25mm (1 in) aluminium dome high-frequency
  • Unit 2: 1x 165mm (6.5 in) woven Kevlar® cone bass / midrange Unit 3:
  • Finish Cabinet: real wood veneers of Cherrywood, Rosenut or Black Ash
  • Grill: Black cloth
  • Dispersion Description: Within 2dB of reference response
  • Horizontal: over 60º arc
  • Vertical: over 10º arc
  • Harmonic Distortion 2nd and 3rd harmonics (90dB, 1m) <1% 100Hz - 22kHz <0.5% 150Hz - 20kHz
  • Crossover Frequency 4kHz
  • Max. Recommended Cable Impedance 0.1 ohms

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 13  
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    HK
    AudioPhile

    B & W 805S is a loudspeaker that is clear enough to tell the difference between clear and Claer!
    I like this as it is small, beautifully made, and it is not small in Bass as many people said
    I used WE300B Push Pull fo a bit more power. My source is LP, lead by Lyra Helicon Cartridge, Linn LP12 with Ittok III arm, John Curl SCG1 head amp, UK Lancashsire hand made Phono AMP (which is exceptionally Well made and sound good. Haden Boardman made 33 unit and mine is the last. Audio Space 33.1 Line map.)

    The base is deep, clear and clean, the loudspeaker is clean in bass, that is possibly the reason people say bass is insufficient.

    I think I will stay with this loudspeaker for years.

    HK Snob

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    mike ferrell
    AudioPhile

    I had the Matrix 805s for about 10 years and enjoyed them a lot. I now have powered studio monitors, that for the same money, are better in every way, except perhaps looks.

    Pros - smooth, open, easy to listen to

    Cons - inefficient, will not play real loud, no low bass

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Oct 05, 2012]
    Ebonyace
    Audio Enthusiast

    Love them. Sweet sound. I have read the other reviews about bass lacking in these speakers. I don't know what they are talking about. My 805's put out so much bass, I don't need my subwoofer (M & K V-125). I have just bid on a second pair on EBAY. Perhaps it's the equipment I am using that is causing them to perform so well.

    Sunfire Theatre Grand I Processor
    Sunfire Theatre Grand 200 x 5 amplifier (200 watts per channel)
    Sony 999ES CD Player
    Monster Power Conditioner
    Audio Quest Rocket 33 speaker wire
    B & W 805 speakers

    I got my B & W 805's on EBAY with speaker stands for $1500.

    Buy them!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 19, 2012]
    Pekka
    Audio Enthusiast

    Just bought them used online based solely on the good reviews on the internet and 5 stars on what hi-fi. My previous (or current, because these aren't going to stay) speakers are Dynaudio Contour S3.4. I have been having a hard time finding decent surround speakers for the Dynaudios so when i found 5 pcs of B&W's for a good price i jumped on it.
    From the first moment I heard them I've really really tried to like them, but they're just too tinny and light.
    Today when listening to Stairway to Heaven it sounded like the hi-hats overwhelmed the guitar. The snares and the toms lack punch my Dynaudios have, they only have the "tschh"

    On certain kinds of music they do work and they might be decent enough in their own price range, but when I've heard better, I just can't stand these speakers. Unnaturally bright.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Dec 01, 2011]
    johnny le
    Casual Listener

    bw 805s speaker is good sound
    i just use bob carver vacuum tube pre
    conrad-johnson mv60 amp
    cd denon 3800
    audio quset cable speaker model mont blanc and interconnect model jaguar
    sub volodyne s 3500w
    the sound is very good small speaker but so sweet sound thanks

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 06, 2011]
    Carlos
    Audio Enthusiast

    I listened a lot of bookshelf speakers, but this one from B&W is a wonderful choice. I know it all depends on the electronics you´re matching to, so in my system, these speakers shine in all areas, higs, mid and low extensions. It doesn´t fatigue my ears, even when I´m listening for hours. I know it was a expensive choice, but for the pleasure it gives me, it worth.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 30, 2011]
    henk
    Audio Enthusiast

    Great speakers, sounds in all tone area exellent.
    Low, mid and high tone area is equally present.
    Although expensive I think for this size speakers there are no speakers doing better, I listened a lot in HI-FI shops before I chose this ones .

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 16, 2009]
    Henry Oliver
    Audio Enthusiast

    I found the 805S very very light, lacking in bass and too trebly
    That was in the demo so I kept my Epos ES11's and have not been disappointed.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Nov 28, 2008]
    tito
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Beauty

    Weakness:

    Price of Stands

    Excelent sound

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 10, 2007]
    starguygwb
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Clarity, soundstaging, voices, fit and finish, surpisingly deep bass(maybe tight bass is a better phrase)

    Weakness:

    I'm tired of telling people they are not microphones on top of my speakers

    In my quest for great sound, it has lead me to these wonderful speakers. I have owned JVC, Infinity, and B&W 601s2, 602s2 and I must say the 805s are without a doubt the best I've ever owned and or listened to. The ability to render voices as sweetly and real as they do are fantastic. They seem to just disappear, but I'm glad they don't because they just look so cool. I have them paired with Martin Logan Grotto sub. I also have the matching 800 series center channel to complete the front end. I still have my old 601s2 serving as surround speakers. A friend of mine who has a respectable system of his own says that music sounds better through my B&W 805s.

    Similar Products Used:

    JVC, Infinity, B&W 600 series

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 13  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com