Rio Volt SP90 MP3 Players

Volt SP90

The RioVolt SP90 plays CDs with MP3 and WMA files as well as standard audio CDs. That means you can fit over 20 hours of your favorite music onto a single CD. Plus, the large LCD display makes it easy to navigate through song titles and menus. With 120 seconds of skip protection and a battery life of over 15 hours, the RioVolt SP90 delivers the rock solid performance you've come to expect from Rio Digital Audio.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
agblanco   AudioPhile [Dec 09, 2003]
Strength:

Can read ID Tags so you know what folder and what song. That's about it.

Weakness:

Mine, like so many others just decided to stop working. Won't power on. I had this player for almost 1 year of moderate use. I expect more durability. This durability issue may explain why they dumped their old image and changed from Sonic Blue to Rio Music. New URL and everything. No CD MP3 players on the new site at all. Anyway I'll never buy another Rio product again. Too Flimsy and unreliable. Also the anti-skip feature was crap. Did not work. If you walked too fast it would skip. In fact it would skip between weight machines at the YMCA. LAIM product.

Some good features. Reads ID tags and sub folders. OK sound but not loud enough. Bottomline; Don't waste your money. If you do, buy a 2 year replacement warranty. I promise you'll use it.

Similar Products Used: JVC & Panasonic. I bought a panasonic for $50.00 with the replacement warranty this time from Best Buy. I don't want to get stuck with garbage again. Goodbye to Rio.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
jos nederpelt   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2003]
Strength:

when it works it performes well

Weakness:

limited life time 4-6 weeks

I'm on my 4th player now. purchased in march for my daughter this sp90 works only for 5 to 6 weeks and gets defective. Changed or repaired every time and gets defective again. I wonder who sets the quality level of these products at Riovolt perhaps time for a review of his/her performance.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Pool Da Raja   AudioPhile [Jun 02, 2003]
Strength:

As I mentioned sound quality ie good.

Weakness:

Adapter polarity is missing. How a company can do such a big mistake? They want to sel those $10 adapter on there site which will not last more than a 1/2 year. I have to purchase a new one just after 6 months.

Its a superb discman. Nice anti skip mechanism. Sound quality is better than SONY. In the same price as SONY you can get a nice CD player capable of playing MP3 too.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Rogowo   AudioPhile [May 24, 2003]
Strength:

The price. I paid $32 on Ebay. My player is refurbished, but I never had any problems.

Weakness:

VERY MINOR - the LCD will not display any letters that are not english. This sucks for me, be I have few Polish mp3 cd. The lcd will display the title,but if the chracter is not found in the English alphabet, there will be a blank space in place of it. VERY VERY MINOR - Th dancing figures on th lcd are anoying, insted that line coul have been used like the 2 above.

Great player, If you want a backlit lcd or a upgrade, get the SP100. SP90 and Sp100 are identical, except for the backlit lcd, upgrades and color. But think, what do you need an upgrade for? MP3's are here to stay for a long time. Mp4's are already out, but hardly anyone know of them, and music in this format is imposible to find. If they, or some other format will catch up, it is going to be in couple of long years.

Similar Products Used: Remote - You can use the original remote orthe one from SP100.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kyle   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2003]
Strength:

Plays cd's with track info. ESP, and clear sound. Doesn't skip for me.

Weakness:

No backlight

Contrary to the other posted reviews, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this player. It is absolutely average, but will work just fine in your car. Rio doesn't suck.

Similar Products Used: Sony discman
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Sebastian   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2003]

This is SH¤T MP3 player. In 1 year i changed it 2 times for defectuosity!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bob   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2003]
Strength:

works, plays mp3s, average player, in my opinion

Weakness:

non-upgradable firmware. skips like crazy. sucks batteries like a mother... (15 hours my a**)

eh, it works. my b*tch with it is that it doesn't have upgradable firmware, even if you were to burn it on a CD. oh well, it's worked fine for me since I got it last year for christmas, it suits my needs, it plays mp3s.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
James C   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

15 hours on batteries, all my old DMP hardware works with this player.

Weakness:

1. No power adapter 2. No remote, 3. NO BACKLIGHT! 4. Cheap Headphones 5. firmware NOT upgradable

This is the absolutly WORST CD/MP3 player anyone could buy for the money. I compared it to the AVC Soul DMP-01 and Memorex CD/MP3. The DMP-01 and the SP90 are so similar, that I bought the SP90 with the impression that it was the exact same thing, just made by a different manufactor. Boy, was I wrong: The DMP-01 is has the same 3 line display but it is backlit. The DMP comes with a Remote(remote DOES works with SP90), DMP has upgradable firmware, DMP comes with a Power Supply, DMP comes with a carrying case. Both come with cheap headphones. DO NOT buy this CD/MP3 player for yourself. Internal guts are interchangable, so I'm pulling the parts I need out of the SP90 to get my DMP-01 working again.(laser burned out cause a friend touched the lense)

Similar Products Used: AVC Technologies Soul DMP-01
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mike   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2003]

this is the worst playa' eva. so dont buy dis stuff. u just wastin' money if u do peace brotha

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com