Yamaha CT-7000 Tuners

CT-7000

Reference FM Tuner from Yamaha, circa 1977-1979

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Robert Brown   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2012]

there is nothing i could say that hasn't already been said,
excellent tuner

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lim gk   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 23, 2000]
Strength:

accurate n musical

i agree with john.this is an exremely high end tuner.those days it is only for the affordable or audiophile craze.
anyway,mine is in very good working condition.i am just tempted to change the casing to acrylic casing with additional lights to show the components.i think it should look marvellous.
this set is a must for serious tuner listener if they have a chance to get it.u wont regret...............its better than the expensive ones that i have used

Similar Products Used: magnum dynalab ft series,marantz,scotts
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john   an Audiophile [Aug 11, 1999]

what can i say? wow. i was lucky enough to find an excellent condition (near mint) ct-7000 and it's simply stunning in build quality and sound. many have stated that it outperforms almost any solid state tuner made, including the tandberg 3001a, day sequerra, pioneer f series (old and new), any solid state marantz made, magnum dynalabs, fanfare, etc., etc. i've personally only listened to magnums and they don't touch this tuner for sonic performance. i had not yet heard as selective a solid state tuner with a very pleasing sense of musicality until now. try receiving stations 45 miles away with nothing but a dipole indoor antenna and you'll be impressed as well. this tuner is also very quiet. distant stations do present some hiss and audible noise, but at certain times they're almost flawless. i can't imagine the experience with a good outdoor antenna. regardless of signal strength this tuner does more than justice to the fm dial, including overmodulated stations. for pictures or information regarding this fine tuner, please visit: http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/Lofts/7106/music.htma list of associated equipment can also be found at this site. i'm currently using a levinson 333 for amplification instead of the ml-2 mono amps listed. i'd love to hear anyone's review or opinion on this tuner if you've heard it or have one. as close a performance to the marantz 10b as you can get with solid state at a fraction of the cost and none of the maintenance. some say they even like the ct-7000 better than the 10b (i'm not looking for flames, because i have no personal experience with the 10b), though i'm sure a lot of that depends on whether you're more into solid state or tube sound. believe me this tuner sounds very warm and analog. good luck finding one, and if you come across one used you should pay anywhere from around $450 to $600 tops in good to excellent condition. current 1999 blue book retail is only $200, with original retail cost back in years of production at $1200 ($1250 for the black version). this tuner is an amazing find if you can find for the average current asking price. it'll knock the socks off of most tuners made, even those above the $2000 range. very impressive and an overall bargain if you find one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Peter Sisask   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 18, 2001]
Strength:

This tuner is simply the best sounding tuner I have ver heard (let alone owned). Clear, dtailed, musical dynamic, effortless and quiet (very little noise...even with very modest antenna).
Live voice sounds like I'm in the studio...in my living room.
This is a tuner that has been in the back of my mind for a long time and now when I fainally managed to find one...it was well worth the wait. I've owned a Magnum Dynalab Etude w. Magnums whip antenna and antenna amplifier (cost me...), Onkyo T9090MkII, Revox old A(78?) series analog tuner, Leak Troughline 3, Scott 350B, Naim NAT02, NAD 312, Tandberg 3011A & 3001A etc. - none of these touches this one that's absolutely clear. Of these, (my past sins), the NAIM NAT02 was the best by quite a margin. Still, I feel it doesn't touch the CT-7000.
Build quality and feel is something else...precision stuff.
I'd recommend this to my best mate...I paid US $ 650 for this one...I consider it to be a bargain...how much did I have to splash out for my Magnum Dynalab thingie and the NAT02...and this is clearly just superior in my view - a bargain.

Weakness:

Not the most sensitive tuner I've come across, but that means nothing in this context.

Would gladly recommend this superb product to anybody interested in getting the most out of their FM listening.
Live broadcasts are truly spectacular.
The best I've ever heard!!!

Similar Products Used: See text
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Art S.   Audiophile [Jan 17, 2002]

I gotta agree with Benny J. here - the Yamaha CT-7000 extracts the best sound from an FM signal that I've yet heard. But I must say that I've not yet auditioned the big ol' Day Sequerra's (hard to find in good condition), or the top Dynalab tube model, both of which probably would give a good accounting of themselves.

But for anything near "sane" prices, the CT-7000 is IT. This tuner is packed with useable features, is ergonomically well-thought-out, and has amazing reception abilities. And again - the sound with any station it can pull in - weak or strong - is excellent.

If you find one in "good" or better condition, I suggest you jump on it immediately. When it was a current model back in the late 1970's, it retailed for $1200., so anything less than that amount today I would consider to be a steal for a functional unit. I'm sure you can double that retail figure for a current model today, and not have equal or better performance than the CT-7000 will give you. Just make sure that it's in alignment and up-to-spec, as you would any "vintage" gear.

This is my "last" FM tuner, at least until it dies and can't be repaired anymore.

Similar Products Used: •Have owned: Adcom, Accuphase, Fanfare, Goldmund, Linn, various Macintosh's & marantz', Magnum Dynalab, various Sansui's, Kenwood's, Pioneer's, Sony's, Onkyo's back in 'the day', Realistic (Radio Shack).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Benny Johnson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 09, 2002]

Karel de Wit, you must be out of your mind. I own the Yamaha CT 7000 tuner and have heard over 30 tuners. The CT7000 is by far the greatest tuner ever built. This tuner sounds so sweet and airy. The soundstage is amazing. The sound quality is incredible on this tuner. Plus the tuning knob is very light and spins across the dial on one spin. How you can say, this tuner sounds ok, is crazy. Maybe you hooked it up wrong. Benny_Johnson76@yahoo.com

Similar Products Used: Revox B261, Revox B760, Denon TU 800, Sony 730ES, Yamaha T1000, Onkyo 9090, Kenwood KT 8500, Onkyo T9 tuner from late 70s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Karel de Wit   Audiophile [Jan 07, 2002]
Strength:

looks and image

Weakness:

overrated

this tuner is a big dissapointment. Receiption is o.k. but sound quality is not comparable to my Sony ES

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Steven Mendelsohn   Audiophile [Oct 20, 2001]
Strength:

Understated design belies the wonderful sound of this tuner.

Weakness:

None

What else needs to be said about this tuner that hasn't already been said ? This is quite simply the finest tuner ever made. It has a warmth, depth and clarity of sound no other tuner can match. The pauses in broadcasts are totally silent, and it's equally at home with both voice and music broadcasts. I've listened to top of the range McIntosh, Revox and Marantz tuners and they just don't have the transparancy and overall musical quality the Yamaha has. I was lucky in that I found one at a repair station in London that was not cosmetically perfect, and therefore, was quite cheap. However, I managed to locate a brand new face plate for it and now it looks perfect. Inside is a work of art. If you haven't managed to have a look at one yet, you must you'll be amazed. I use it daily and it's connected to my Yamaha C1 Pre amplifier and B2 Power amplifier which were part of the same series as the CT7000. If your in the market for a lovely tuner, this is the one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Lysaker   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2001]
Strength:

QUIET! Solid build, excellent image, 3-dimensionality, & a wide sound stage.

Weakness:

No presets.

Tuners are tricky inthat they are only as good as the FM stations in your area. I live in Oregon, so either you get a station or you don't. I thus don't have any issues with "hard to get" stations. And the ones I get, I get perfectly, meaning, full power. So that part of tuner dilemma ain't part of my world.
Second, I judge a component in part by its ability to disclose something new. This tuner practically reinvents radio to those, like me, who previously relied upon tuners in pre-amps, e.g. an Adcom. The image is precise and transparent and separation among tones is excellent. If it weren't for less detail, I'd say it sounds like a CD player. (I will note that DJ voices are extremely detailed, so much depends, as one would expect, on the quality of the recording.) I can say, however, that listening to this tuner does not entail experiencing any significant loss in sonic integrity or richness, and my system ain't rinky-dink:
Bryston 4Bst; Sonic Frontiers SFL-1, Magnapan IIIA's, Arcam 7se, BEL interconnects, and a Richard Power line treatment.
Third, the tuner is silent. I use a $10 unpowered tuner and I get either silence or music. In the dramatic pauses that inflect DJ-speak on classical stations, it's just that, a dramatic pause. (The same for the I'm so cool pauses that inflect college radio DJ speak.)
Dynamics are also good as evidenced by the utter disparity between the volume of the music broadcast by stations and the volume of their advertisements, as well as by the subtler changes in orchestral performances. Given the compression of commercial rock stations, this is less of an issue.
Now, I haven't compared the CT-7000 to other tuners b/c, after reading a mess o' reviews, I was convinced that nothing this good would be available for $185. But I could be wrong. If I am, so be it. I'm still more than pleased with this gem. I think most folk would be as well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com