Magnum Dynalab FT-101A Tuners

FT-101A

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
rek10   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2006]
Strength:

High and Low outputs allow you to tailor to your system. I confess I haven't tried the high outputs since the lows work so well (figure I'd rather leave the internal op-amp out of the circuit if possible--and my pre-amp allows me to do that).
Ability to center-tune, avoid mutlipath (if you have a directional antenna) are great.

Weakness:

None that I can see, thusfar.

Outstanding! Sounds better than my CD/SACD player often! Available factory certified directly from Magnum Dynalab complete with warranty--doubt you could get it for less even on eBay (and without a warranty there, of course). Great customer service, too.

The sound is smooth yet detailed--highs tickle your ears without any harshness, lows firm. Soundstage is wide but still has great imaging. Like I said--I find myself enjoying the sound better than that from my CD/SACD (which is somewhat frustrating--but good for the MD FT-101A!).

I primarily listen to classical, BTW.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys the limitless supply of free music obtainable over the air.

Also, this is the first review I've ever written here (lot of reading but never took time to write)--hopefully that will be an indicator of how much I like this product.

I cannot see how anyone could listen to the FT-101A and be disappointed.
Buy certified from factory (check out MD's website), don't bother with eBay--you won't get a better deal there, anyways and you won't have the one-year warranty (and I've gotten every other unit in my system from eBay, so this advice is coming from a person who is a big fan of eBay).

Customer Service

Magnum Dynalab had GREAT customer service! Prompt, friendly, professional.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
xarir   AudioPhile [Aug 21, 2003]
Strength:

Nice detailed sound. Depth of sound is good. Tuner has high and low outputs (I use low as I find it sounds better that way.) Unit is upgradeable to other models. Check http://www.magnumdynalab.com for details.

Weakness:

Stereo separation is not as good as I had hoped it would be.

Picked up the FT-101A used on eBay. According to the Magnum Dynalab website I can update this model to either the newer MD90, MD100 or MD102. I like this in a product - if I ever feel I need something better I can just upgrade as necessary. The tuner itself sounds great! There's a lot more detail to the same stations I usually listen to and more depth as well. I am a little disappointed that the sound separation is less than what I expected, but the sound is still most certainly very good.

Similar Products Used: Proceed BPA2 Bryston .5 preamp Kef 104/2 Reference Pioneer Elite DV37
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Abe Collins   AudioPhile [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

It''s about the sound! This tuner SOUNDS nice!

Weakness:

It is quite normal for analog tuners to drift ever so slightly when first powered up and the Magnum is no different. It will require a slight fine tuning after the first half hour or so after intial power up so just leave it turned on.

I''m not overly concerned with "specs" because many average and even mediocre tuners have great "specs". I wanted a tuner that had great sound and the Magnum FT-101A delivers! I live in a typical suburban neighborhood about 15 miles from Denver. The radio station towers are on Lookout Mountain which is a clear line-of-sight shot to my deck mounted vertical whip antenna (Fanfare model FM-2G). The FT-101A is an outstanding tuner and a good value, the best I''ve owned. I haven''t tried the more expensive Magnum tuners but I suspect this one gives you the most bang for the buck, or perhaps their latest model MD-90 which replaces the FT-101A. The others may sound slightly better but at what price? The FT-101A has good frequency response across the board wth good bass and treble extension without sounding muddy or bright. It sounds transparent and clear with good stereo separation and low background noise. I also owned a Fanfare FT-1A FM tuner (reviewed in October 2001 Stereophile) but found it be lacking dynamics and it had rolled off treble. The Magnum FT-101A is a far better sounding tuner in my experience and it costs less. About the Fanfare, I find that even my Adcom tuner sounds better. My system at time of review: Conrad-Johnson Premier 11a tube amplifier Audio Research LS16 tube preamplifier Thiel CS 1.5 speakers Magnum FT-101A analog FM tuner Fanfare FT-1A FM tuner Adcom GFT-555II AM/FM tuner Fanfare FM-2G back yard deck-mounted vertical whip antenna

Similar Products Used: Magnum FT-101A FM tuner (~$995 MSRP) Fanfare FT-1A FM tuner (~$1595 MSRP) Adcom GFT-555II AM/FM tuner (~$399 MSRP)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Edward Riedijk   Audiophile [Oct 10, 2001]
Strength:

Great selectivity, great sound, stereo image impressive, neutral lifelike with low note extension

Weakness:

Internally looks a little bit cheap, with very standard components (at this price?) but in this configuration it works briljant

Because of the high European price it's less interesting than in Amerika but still worthwile. At first i had a little hum when i tuned downwards to approx. 90 Mhz, and the solution to this is: on the input from the 10 times potentiometer (tuning) i added a styroflex capicitor in parallel with voltage and earth (1picofarad). If you want to upgrade de overal sound: Replace the audio output capacitors, they are in this model just simple and cheap electrolitic ones, unbelievable because the motherboard was originally designed for the Dynalab FT 101 Etude version, and stripped down for the regular FT 101 version so still having the space for MKP audiophile capicitors (intended for the Etude) you can simply upgrade your tuner, and this is very easy to do. The results: ashtonising and greatly upgraded sound, you'll be amased wat these little things do! Very recommended! Still unbelievable why they cut down little costs at the standard FT 101 version when avoid making an icredible progress adding these MKP capacitors.

Similar Products Used: Sony ES series, Denon
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Charles Wells   Audiophile [May 11, 2001]
Strength:

Thick FM Sound, Classy Styling

Weakness:

Tuner Knob is sometimes to sensitive

Would you believe I bought this unit from a Pawn Shop! My friend is a Stereo Saleperson for Dicker & Deals and calls me whenever a good piece of A/V Equip. comes into the store.
I arrived to find this Unit still in the Box w/ Manual and Remote. But the kicker was He didn't have a price on it yet. So I offered $175.00 but He declined and said $185.00 with Tax/ out-the-door.
As soon as I plugged this Tuner into my System I was amazed and astounded by the Tuners Headroom and Wide Sound.
I wasn't a big "Radio" listener until now. I listen to "Live" Concerts, Television Programs and Sports more then I've ever have because of this Tuner.
I think every good system should have a Great Tuner and the Dynalab FT-101A is one of the best for your system!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel Ming   Audiophile [Dec 30, 2001]
Strength:

Outstanding tuner at pulling in weak stations in stereo. Good depth in soundstaging. Great selectivity.

Weakness:

More sensitive than my Amber Model 7 tuner from the 80s. However, on local stations, the Amber sounds better.

Outstanding tuner if you want to pick up distant stations in stereo. Sounds better on weak stations than any other tuner I have used. On local stations sounds good but not as good as Amber tuner. Sounds a bit bland on local stations.

Similar Products Used: Amber Model 7
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry O.   Audiophile [May 21, 2001]
Strength:

Fine sound quality, great ability to pull in weak signals

Weakness:

Pricey even when used, tuning circuit always powered up, no presets

This tuner sounds as musical and dimensional as my beloved Kinergetics. But, incredibly, it pulls in 2 to 3 times as many stations using the same antenna...that sold me! I also like the tradional style and overall reputation.

Similar Products Used: Kinergetics KBT-2, SAE 8000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Steven   Audiophile [Mar 24, 2001]
Strength:

Sound quality, build quality

Weakness:

None

Simple....Magnum Dynalab is the very best. Analog sound quality is just more dynamic and realistic. Very pleased with the sound dynamics of this piece. This is a fine tuner. And with Magnum Dynalab being so great a customer support and updating older products, how can anyone go wrong purchasing used MD products.

Build quality is outstanding and is only surpassed by sound quality....no wonder Magnum Dynalab has such a great reputation.....

Very please with purchase!

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, various other MD tuners
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com