Technics RS-TR575 Tape Decks

RS-TR575

Double REC/PLAY Deck Auto Reverse ATC

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Nadav   AudioPhile [Aug 26, 2014]

A good tape deck for typical playback & recording.
Its loaded with great features such as ATC , Tape program search & Dolby B+C NR.

HX Pro will help maximize the quality of tapes.
High speed FF/RW will cut time for searching songs & winding tapes to desired locations.
A dual recording deck for parallel or series recordings.

Its flaws are noticed on a "Wow & Flutter" especially noticed on classical music.
A lack of Dolby S & additional recording adjustments such as " Bias control ", "Rec Eq" e.t.c reduce the unit standing for its $400- $500 CA Retail price.

Better to go for a 3 Head Deck that give more options and monitoring your recording live !.

However : Good model for addition to your home entertainment system.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Zac   Audio Enthusiast [May 06, 2013]

It's great except for the fact it cannot maintain the correct tape speed anymore.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Lukaszek   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2003]
Strength:

Functional, well-planned LCD, durable, very good playback quality, great recording quality

Weakness:

Price of new unit, No Dolby S, front panel keys (for some may be, not for me), flat & weak lower frequencies (even for a Tape Deck ;P )

I bought used one, because new ones have insane pricing for me - I have no idea why tape decs are so horribly expensive after all. Anyway, even though, this simple model shall not cost as much as AZ-series with amorphous heads or other firm's Dolby S and so on models! It is the greatest for the price I paid, but my value score is for a new unit. So if you buy a new unit, buy something else for the money. It is easy to use, although lots of keys in similar size are not very smartly put all around the front panel - this might be a problem; especially ATC function which can destroy your recording is next to the same size frequently used "eject" button. It also doesn't look nice and friendly because of that. Other strange thing is that you can turn it off with remote (not supplied with the device), but you can't turn it on. Well you may feel I dont like it from what I said before - but that's not true - I am very satisfied with the unit! First, It is incredibly functional - lots of reverse modes, precise music sensor (it would be even nicer if you could search next 2 or 3 songs, not only one forward/back, but most tape decks has it the lack), fast winding, paralell recording and all you might expect from a tape deck or more!!! The quality is really nice - it is Technics' typical tolerance for poor old recordings as well as it can take most of well-made metal tapes! The sound is both warm, detailed and spatial, especially the higher frequencies are great - not hissing as most tape decks - although you might miss some bass in some recordings. Thanks to ATC the recordings made with this baby really rock!!! On a metal tape thanks to analogue "beef" it sometimes sounds in a way even better than the original CD source!

Similar Products Used: Technics AZ-7, Sony 475.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Kevin Bingham   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2000]
Strength:

Clear, attractive digital display, I can remember when they weren't. The time counter is an excellent addition. The intelligent high-speed FF/REW also. Have been able to produce metal tapes that sound comparable to CDs.

Weakness:

Time counter.

While the time counter is great, it is not as accurate as I would like. I believe the tape transport could or should be a little tighter, more firm. I believe this would not only help the time counter, but also aid in playing tapes that are old or haven't been used in a while.

Similar Products Used: Technics previous model
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
GAOO   Audiophile [Jan 21, 2000]
Strength:

ATC records
dual auto-reverse and recording decks

Weakness:

no remote control

Good sound in general. ATC function + Dolby B/C HX Pro permits you to have quality CD recording.
Can use 3 head to record (one to listen). Auto-controlled
doors. Heads are difficult to clean. Very high rapidity Fast-foward and rewind. Dolbys are performant
A bit expensive, but I recommand you this Tape Deck
(for the difference of price, don't buy RS-TR474 because of features of 575 JUST have: TPS research
ATC function
And more electronics advantages...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Günter Menzel Riadi   an Audiophile [Apr 06, 1999]

Excellent product. Full function. In a CD era, metal tape still alive

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Alan Sainaney   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 1999]

I have owned this dual-deck unit for the past year-and-a-half and have had no problems with it. Both decks have record head allowing you to make two simultaneous copies from external source. Major gripes: labelling on buttons is small and difficult to read; high wow and flutter compared to other units in price range; and play mode cannot be engaged while tape door is open making it difficult to clean tape heads. However, reliable and great value if you can get one for around $200 (U.S.), or less. Paid CDN $319 for mine.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Todd Shore   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Does what it is supposed to.

Weakness:

Control layout.

For those that lament the lack of a remote control, be aware that this unit DOES support use of a remote, it just doesn't come with one.

My Philips Pronto remote has no problems controlling both decks.

Check out www.remotecentral.com for more info.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Niphon Kaewnopratana   Casual Listener [Dec 08, 1999]
Strength:

They have full funtion to play.

Weakness:

difficult to clean the headtape by myself & I got the problem with the tape deck about the sound on right hand not working on the deck1.

This tape deck is full funtion for you can use. But the front door to open to clean head by yourself is very difficult. Now I got the problem about no chennel sound on right hand on the deck1. I don't know Why have this problem? Because I just use only 1 year ago.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Roy   Audiophile [Nov 17, 2000]
Strength:

ATC, Dual auto-reverse and full dual recording decks
Any tape records and sounds better on this deck

Weakness:

No remote control, no Dolby-S,

Overall this is a great deck. It has all the bells and whistles except for the Dolby S.
I had a few decks in the past and used to do some trial and error before I could get the right sound from any tape. This deck does that for me and gets better results again and again.
The deck has very rapid rewind and fast forward which is a nice feature.
I do not use the double recording capability, but the nice thing is that you can drop the tape in any well and play or record it.
I must say that CDs recorded on good a Metal tape sounds as good as the source
The real time timer functions very well (2-3 seconds off per 90 minutes tape)
I'm not sure that I like the deck's color, which is black ash, I'd like to be glossy black like my other components.

Similar Products Used: TEAC tape deck
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com