Monster Cable PowerCenter THS 5000 Power Conditioners

PowerCenter THS 5000

2 unswitched front panel convenience outlets. 10 outlets capable of being programmed as unswitched, switched, or switched with delay. $100,000 connected equipment protection and limited lifetime warranty.

User Reviews (54)

Showing 1-10 of 54  
antero   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2005]
Strength:

noted above (2 I think: build and looks) + good video filters for DVD player and projector.

Weakness:

what is this thing? was it really made for powerconditioning?

This review is for the HTS 5100 powerconditioner. Unlike most reviewers below, I experienced no noise/mechanical problems with this Monster Powerconditioner. I guess that should be taken as a step forward for the company, since it certainly addressed reliabilty and functionality issues. Should they approach the sound issues with the same zeal, Monster may someday enter the audiophile world of powerconditioning. As good looking and well built the Monster HTS 5100 looks, it performs very poorly on amps and preamps. In fact, I would advise any potential users to avoid it at ANY COST for home theater or 2 channel systems. Better to save up more money and spend it on a Hydra 2, or a Hydra 4 from Shunyata for true powerconditioning. Paying slightly more for the real thing sounds fair in my mind. I sold my HTS 5100 after getting a hospital grade powerconditioner ($100 CAD) that just simply thrashed the Monster in every conceivable class. Previously, my system seemed veiled Although it was detailed it did not breathe with air, but was lost in fog. I assume the problem with Monster may either the powercords (maybe they should try an outlet for the owner's powercord of choice) or in the multi filter layering inside the unit ... engineers got a little carried away, kind of like more is better? Poor design, severely restricts the flow of music. Never buy this unit. You are just wasting your money and time. That's my advice to you, take it or leave it!

Similar Products Used: hospital grade powerconditioner, heard Shunyata and Isoclean
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Allan Lee   AudioPhile [Aug 15, 2004]
Strength:

Perhaps good for mid fi components but definitely not highend stuff, especially high current components.

This unit is a joke! Stay away from it like a plague. About 2 and half years ago I purchased the HTS5000 when it first came out. Well, the unit had a buzz in the light metre. After about a week of usage, I simply cannot stand the buzzing anymore, so I complained to my dealer and fortunately received my second unit. The dealer assured me that Monster has reworked the second unit, and everything should be fine. I took it home, no buzz, and worked perfectly, so I was very happy even though this unit seem to suck the life out of some high current equipments like power amps, high power preamp, and even my Sony super audio cd player (this unit takes in high current). In all fairness, the second HTS 5000 unit seemed to clean out the TV reception very well. Then one day recently, the second unit totally blows up! I can see the fire coming out 2 of my wall outlets, and it even ruined 2 of my Monster subwoofer protectors. I was really ticked off, then I remember the life time warrantee feature... ha ... so I called my dealer again and he sent my unit all the way to Monster head quarter for repair. After about 3 months, my unit returned, it was wrapped in a brown hard paper box (I think to myself: where the heck was my original box?). So I took it home, opened the box, and inside there was the original box. I opened up, and guess what? They gave me a brand new unit! I know this because the metal plate around the meter is now silver color and the light metre is no longer blue but greenish color. Bottom line, if Monster is this generous, the unit cannot possibly worth $600 retail. The good news is my PS Audio Plant 1000 will be arriving in two days.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
eastcoasthandle   Casual Listener [May 02, 2004]
Strength:

Best Picture and audio. You can finally see how much voltage you use in a given day! Cool blue light!

Weakness:

Slighttone noise coming from the VOlt Meter when tv is on. Computer does not make it come when its on.

The HTS5000 MKII was displayed on a 50” Sony Grand Wega LCD and the needle displayed a 115 volts using a Direct TV connection @ 720p, using a Sony Theater Sound System (I didn’t catch the model). The associate at Best Buy showed me the difference with and without the HTS 5000. With the HTS 5000 The picture quality was jaw dropping. In one word the picture was alive! Images were more real looking; the scenery appeared as if it was being film live from location. For example: if you held a blue shirt in your hand, you will see the same blue shirt on TV! It would not be more vivid, sharp, dark or light, nor to warm/natural or cool. The sound from the Sony receiver was incredible. The voices were clear, always at the same volume. The music sounded like you were there. The bass was deep with a slight echo. I am not an audiophile so I don’t know what to call this. The sound that creates the bass had a consistent volume with a soft, extended tone/pitch, not a sharp & short tone/pitch. It was more of a soft “boooom…” not a “BOOM!” Trust me if you hear it like I did your ears will appreciate it. Without the HTS 5000 The HTS 5000 the picture quality was vivid, average flesh tone with bright colors but images were a tad cloudy or smeary w/o the HTS 5000. The picture was not pixilated at all. The picture quality was still excellent w/o the HTS 5000. People still stop and look at this TV as its picture was eye appealing from other TV’s on display. The sound was good but w/o the echo in the bass. I was completely shocked to see that Satellite TV can be improved with the HTS 5000! The Home Experience I have a Sony Grand WEGA KF42WE610 42” using Comcast Cable reception w/o the box (analog reception). I wanted to give a bare bone truth if the HTS5000 is any good or not. After spending 1hr 30minutes properly installing my plugs, making sure my socket had 3 prong (not a 2 prong which will void your warranty as you are simply ignore grounding) and installing some copper wire to grounding the HTS 5000 itself (water pipe, iron/steel fixture tucked behind a wall or heater vent will do nicely) and I was finally able to plug the HTS 5000, turn on the Sony STR-DE885 with the 150 watt preamp sub. I immediately noticed a difference in its ability to finally maintain its volume. It is the same sound quality as mentioned earlier. The picture is less pixilated and flesh tones are more inline (although nothing like Direct TV). Cartoon network has vivid, sharp colors. I can clearly see a noticeable difference in picture quality. #1 noticeable difference pronounced even as I write this review is the TV’s sound quality! It is as good as my STR-885! The sound volume remains the same and the bass is much richer then before. The voices are crisp, clear and audible. I didn’t think the TV speakers were any good (reason for buying the STR-885) until now! Another noticeable trait is viewing Channel 2 via cable. In my area channel 2 is the weakest channel, producing a series of thin horizontal to diagonal lines. The lines are very noticeable and distracting from watching your program only having a 75% view. After installing the HTS 5000 channel 2 is 95% viewable. This is a big improvement as I already have a 4 port, Electroline Drop Amp with single shielded RG-6 cable wire. SIDE NOTE Although double shielded RG-6 coax cable would do better most that I have found do not have a solid copper core. As I was told that the signal travels around the circumference not inside. Regardless if you have solid copper core or not It is extremely important to check your cable connections to make sure the exposed copper wire does not have any marks or nicks around the circumference! If any are found there is a 100% chance you are not receiving the best picture possible. It is a MUST to cut the wire just below the connection, then buy $10-$18 “plastic” 2-Blade rotary coaxial cable stripper to properly strip it, place a coax connector then screw it back on your TV (This is intended for coax cable installed by your cable company. Monster coax cable and such are not part of this side note). The Home Experience Voltage When I first turn plugged this unit in Voltage was at 125V and did drop to about 115 volts using appliances in the kitchen. I did notice voltage as high as 125 volts until I turn the TV on then it would drop to 120 volts. I also have my computer, DSL and 18” monitor hooked up to the HTS 5000 and it remains 120 volts with the TV on! I did not notice anything better with the computer DSL or monitor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Bcarmona   AudioPhile [Jan 15, 2004]
Strength:

Cool blue light.

Weakness:

Zero protection for expensive audio/video componets.

I purchased the HTS 5000 Monster surge protector in 2001. The unit worked great until several of my componets were fried because of lightning. Monster sent me claims forms to be reimbused for the damage equipment which I am still in the process of filing. However, Monster sent me a another HTS 5000. They claim the unit is new, but I think it's refurbished. Anyway, I get the new unit and it has a very loud buzzing sound which I couldn't get rid off, so I called Monster, and they claim the unit is bad and they are going to send me a 3rd unit. I don't think the HTS 5000 is worth $600. I could have purchased an APC surge protector for $30 with the same warranty that Monster offers in case of power surges/lightning.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
  Casual Listener [Aug 31, 2003]
Strength:

It really works, eliminating interference from cable TV lines.

Weakness:

Price

In follow-up to my review from last December (in which I wrote that my new stereo sounded better through the 5100 model than through a cheap surge protector), I recently purchased a HDTV and Comcast cable TV (I did not have cable TV previously, but just used rabbit ears). After hooking up everything, there was a loud buzz through my speakers. After taking everything apart and putting it back together one piece at a time, I discovered that the buzz occurred whenever I connected either the TV or the cable box directly to my preamp due to interference from the cable line coming out of the wall (removing both these RCA connections eliminated the buzz, but then I couldn't listen to movies or TV through the stereo, and disconnecting the cable from the wall while maintaining the RCA connections made the buzz much less loud, but then I had no cable TV). The bottom line is that when I ran the cable line through the Monster Power unit, the buzz went away while still having the cable connected to the TV and both the TV and cable box connected to the stereo.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
CHARLES VELASQUEZ   AudioPhile [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

GREAT DETAILED MUSIC AND VERY CLEAN VIDEO ESPECIALLY ON MY HDTV.

Weakness:

THE BUZZ WITH THE VOLT METER ON OR OFF WAS VERY ANNOYING. NOT ANYMORE

I'M WRITING THIS REVIEW ON THE MP HTS 5000 LINE CONDITIONER. I AGREE WITH THE OTHER REVIEW'S THAT THE 5000 DOES MAKE A LOUD BUZZ SOUND WHEN YOU HAVE THE VOLT METER LIGHT ON. ESPECIALLY IF IT'S ON VERY BRIGHT. ALSO WHEN YOU TURN IT ALL THE WAY DOWN, THERE STILL IS A VERY ANNOYING BUZZ. I CALLED MONSTER POWER AND THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL IN THIS MATTER. I SENT MINE'S BACK LAST MARCH 2003 AND THEY SEND ME A NEW ONE THAT IS OUT OF THIS WORLD. NO NOISE,NO BUZZ JUST CLEAN,CLEAN SOUND. I'M VERY HAPPY WITH THE REPLACEMENT THAT IT MAKES MY MUSIC AND VIDEO VERY DETAILD AND CLEAR. SO HAT'S OFF TO MONSTER CABLE AND THE THE CUSTOMER TECHNICIAN TIM THAT WAS SO HELPFUL TO ME WITH THIS FREAKING BUZZ PROBLEM. SO THOSE OF YOU HAVE THIS SAME PROBLEM AND YOU'RE CONDITIONER IS STILL UNDER WARRENTY CALL MONSTER POWER. I BELIEVE THAT THEY WILL MAKE IT RIGHT FOR YOU. THEY WANT TO KEEP THERE CUSTOMERS, NOT LOSE THEM. THE MACHINE IS AN AWESOME PIECE FOR THE PRICE.

Similar Products Used: MY FIRST POWER LINE CONDITIONER HTS 5000 NOW I ALSO OWN THE AVS 2000 STABILIZER. GREAT MACHINES WORKING HAND IN HAND.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
luis flores   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

well built, nice looking with the light on!

Weakness:

buzzing at the meter light (an absolute turn off for me) the warning about the lightning isn't this thing desing to protect from such an event??

After reading many reviews of thi product i decided to givet a try, first thing i notice the light at the meter, it BUZZES big time. no big deal some will say, just dimm it all the way down and the problem is solved, but my question is (to MC) why put a light (that looks very cool by the way) if they know or should know that this buzzing, could turn off potential buyers like it did with me.second turn off, right at the bigining of the manual they give you a warning."in the event of a lightning storm disconect your power center" HELLOOOOO! so what they are telling me is that there is no protection from this this thing if there is lightning?

Similar Products Used: chip $20.00 strip
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
zcheers   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 2003]
Strength:

Protection. Looks. Price good =$350

Weakness:

None so far

As usual, some of these reviews make me laugh. A line conditioner /surge protector eliminating certain frequencies ??? After how many beers? The Monster is BEFORE your pre-amp. You could "hear" differences?? Amazing! My dog could use a translator please!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jenkie   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 20, 2002]

The Damn thing buzzes. I thought this problem was solved in the MKII model. This thing looks cool and I love the meter, but the more I turned up the blue ligh the louder it buzzed. Damn, even when I turned of the blue light I still heard a buzz that was comming from some where else in the unit. But to the mphts5000 defense I must admit that my system did sound better when it was connected to it and the volume was up enough to not hear the buzzing sound. I like this unit but am worried about the design of such a unit that buzzes loud when it supposed to make it sound better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
thoriated_tiger   AudioPhile [Dec 18, 2002]
Strength:

Does what it was designed for: protect your system, and clean up the sound. And that BIG BLUE METER is just too damn cool. Absolutely no current issues, no lack of dynamics as some have posted here.

Weakness:

Cheesy plastic feet, rip-off pricing. C'mon, monster. 600 bucks? Get real.

This is for the new MkII model of the 5000. The meter is different, looks better, and doesn't buzz. The front 'convinience' outlets are not there anymore. All I have is positive comments. No meter buzz, well-built both inside and out. Removed a layer of harshness from my system, also dropped an allready-low noise floor even further down. Abosolutely, positively *NO* current-limiting issues whatsoever, with the most demanding music I could throw at it. The difference in the system isn't "oh wow, it's a different system!" but instead is more subtle -- a little more detail, and in my case, gained some more extension on the low end of the bass -- my preamp was putting out 20hz noise (seen on a spectrum analyzer) that has been removed by the Monster. Driving my Dynaco Stereo 70 tube amp is no problem. Passed the Telarc 1812 test.

Similar Products Used: ONEAC, Tripp-Lite.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 54  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com