Monster Cable Monster Power HTS 2000 Line Conditioner Power Conditioners

Monster Power HTS 2000 Line Conditioner

Line Conditioner/Surge Protector

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
Charles   AudioPhile [Jan 01, 2011]

Four of of the outlets don't work, reset does not work, despite lights being on. This product was way over priced.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
petrean83   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2009]

Worked fine until a power outage. Reset button doesn't work even though "Ground OK" and "Protection On" lights are still lit mockingly. Waste of money.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
roodog   Casual Listener [Jul 03, 2009]

It worked fine until it didn't, which was only ten months. No lightning strikes or voltage spikes to blame. Unable to reset so it's going into the trash.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
amperidian   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2004]
Strength:

cable video signal improvement designated plugs for various units separate audio/video sides

Weakness:

no notable audio change

This review is for the HTS 2000 mkII, which I got from best buy, before I realised how overpriced their products are. Overall, a decent product, I noticed a definite inprovement in image quality on my cable TV. I also got Monster Video 2 component video cables at the same time, hooked them up between DVD and A/V receiver and TV and image quality improved radically from composite video cables. In terms of sound, I did not notice any range compression as others have, nor did I find that my system sounded smoother. That's using a Kenwood VR 6060 receiver. I recently upgraded to the Denon avr4802r and the improvement in sound is vast to say the least, but I payed for what I got. I'm not so sure that I can atribute any sound change to the HTS 2000 mkII power manager. I did see the difference in filtering between stage 1 and stage 2 and its significant. But beware, in order to get the "electrical noise" that I was shown at best buy, you need to have many electrical components using the same power line as your audio/video components ... which rarely happens in reality because your fuses would blow much faster where you live due to overloading. So keep that in mind, unless you live next to power plants or other sources of electrical interference/noise.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
audiom3   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2003]
Strength:

Cleaner highs, tighter bass. Price.

Weakness:

Limits juice to high powered amps.

I bought this line conditioner after reading a few independant rave reviews online. It has been a good purchase for my system. Shoot, the guarantee was worth the $100 alone. I noticed that the bass was a little tighter, and highs are a bit more "airy" as well. Midrange is unchanged, IMO. I did make one major change recently: I unplugged my power amp from the HTS2000, and plugged it directly into the wall. THAT made an even bigger difference. I don't care what Monster says, the conditioner was limiting the amount of juice my amp was getting. I'm not worried about power surges in my area. I pay extra for home owners' insurance for this reason anyway. I've left all low draw equipment plugged into the Monster, though, and everything seems happy now.

Similar Products Used: Cheap surge protectors that seemed good until I compared them with this one.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robm321   AudioPhile [Jan 29, 2003]
Strength:

Made me realize how much detail my system brought out without using any power conditioning. smoothed out the treble

Weakness:

Loss of detail boomy midrange expensive power surge now

my system: Rotel rc-1090 pre-amp Rotel rcd-1070 cd player Rotel rb-1080 amp Tributaries sca-100, sca-200 line level cable Tributaries SP4 speaker cable (bi-wired) Paradigm Studio 100’s (version 1) I live in an apartment complex and purchased this product assuming that the power would be a problem. And I didn't want to spend the $750 and above on the Reference line conditioners from reputable companies. When I first plugged it in it seemed to make amazing improvements. The high's seemed like honey and the based seemed to be more extended and more pronounced. The mid's were a little chesty sounding but overall it seemed to improve my system. After listening for a couple of weeks I realized that all the different cd's were sounding the same and that it had a very bass heavy sound and the detail seemed to be gloss over or lost completely. I still use in my home theater becuase I am not as particular about eking out every detail in movie sound - I'm just fanatic about stereo music. So basically I have an expensive power strip now. Bottom line is I lost a lot of detail from the music and added a boominess to the midrange

Similar Products Used: No other line conditioner
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Music Man   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

Well-made. Great design. Some free cables and labels. $100K insurance.

Weakness:

Did not deliver on improved sound or video. Very expensive if just a surge protector!

I really wanted to be impressed with this--my wife actually gave me the o.k. to get it! However, as has been mentioned in earlier reviews, the HTS 2000 did not improve my audio nor my video. In fact, I noticed a compression of the sound stage, particularly in the highs (slight, but audible). You must know that I have a new house, a dedicated a/v circuit, with a direct line to the electrical pole to my house. I imagine that this would have some dramatic effects if the power were coming down the line with a few more obstacles than I have.

Similar Products Used: Vvarious household surge protectors
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
TedR33   AudioPhile [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Noise reduction. Bass "tightened." Things just seem "smoother" and less "grainy." This unit will definitely tame a bright system.

Weakness:

Vocals slightly restrained. Soundstage perhaps a bit compressed. Dynamics altered in a slightly odd way.

This review is for the HTS 1000, which is pretty much the same thing as the 2000, with "Stage 2 Filtering." It simply has less outlets. I'm reviewing it specifically from an audio-perspective as I really am not as interested in the video end of things, although there is no question that the reception on my TV has improved to some degree. This is the classic "trade-off" debate. Is there less "noise?" Yes. Does music emerge from a "blacker" background? Having said that, I think there are some trade-off's as a result. Some more serious than other And these are things, really, that were very hard to discern. Yet, after several weeks of listening, and trying my system both with and without this line conditioner, I observe the following: 1.) Bass is "tightened." "Bloom" is reduced. 2.) Vocals become slightly restrained while being filtered through the 1000. There's absolutely no dispute on this one. Vocals become more airy and open when the Monster 1000 is removed, yet slightly more "grainy." So, the line conditioner certainly makes things "smoother," but perhaps a tad less dynamic than without. This reduction in dynamics is particularly noticeable at lower volumes. At higher volumes (moderate listening levels) curiously, the HTS 1000 does a better job of hiding its deficiences, IMO, and you gain more of the benefits. 3.) Imaging has curiously become more "defined," while at the same time, the soundstage has become more compressed. In other words....I feel like I can hear and "see" the different instruments in space slightly better than before, yet the soundstage may have lost some of it's depth. I dunno if I did a good job of describing that one..but that's my best attempt! So...it does some things well, and some things not so well. A bit dissapointed, but not entirely unhappy given the modest price point. When I can afford it, I'll look into PS Audio's gear. My gear: Creek 4330mkII NAD 541 CD Player PSB Image 4T's Monster HTS-1000 Line Conditioner Audioquest Type 4+ cables Audioquest Copperhead Interconnects

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
nat pierce   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2002]
Strength:

For my particular application, significant audio improvement Well designed, sturdy

Weakness:

For my application, minimal video improvement

After reading the reviews and shopping around, I got the HTS-2000 and hooked it up to my hts. I also ran my satellite through the 2000. I noticed a significant boost in the clarity of my audio (the black vs. the gray background noise)Mid and highs benefitted most in my set-up. I was less impressed with the video filters. I'm still going back and forth connecting through the HTS-2000 vs. direct connect of Direct TV. Much of my benefit is directly proportional to what specific problems were being presented by my electrical grid, house wiring, etc... Audio wise, there was a distinct improvement. Video benefit for me is questionable. My System: Denon 1801 receiver Klipsch all around. SB2's up front, SC-1 center and Klipsch satellite speakers 2-12" powered subs- Polk psw450 and a BIC "in stereo" next to my front speakers (I use a 1-2 RCA jack for the Denon's LFE out) Phillips Magnavox 32" high res. TV Hughes satellite Toshiba DVD

Similar Products Used: Belkin
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
SEK   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

Improved performance from audio system and television. Solid construction and substantial lightning/power surge insurance.

Weakness:

(Not really a weakness per se)- The degree of improvement can vary widely.

I bought an HTS 2000 line conditioner, because I needed a sturdy power strip/surge protector with substantial lightning/power surge protection and insurance (my audio and video gear have been hit by lightning in the past). Also a friend nearby claimed dramatic improvements from his HTS 2000. He lives across the street from a school and near an electrical power substation that added a lot of noise to his high-end ARC tube audio system. An HTS 2000 virtually eliminated the noise, enhanced the dynamics, and tightened the bass. I live farther from that school and substation, my house wiring is somewhat better, and my audio system is solid-state. So noise has been much less of a problem. Consequently, my HTS 2000 is not providing me with nearly the same degree of sonic improvement. My audio system does sound a bit more "solid" with it than without it: the sounds are slightly more distinct and coherent. A more dramatic improvement occurred in the clarity of the picture and sound from my television, which I also plugged into the power conditioner. My wife, who I hadn't yet informed of this latest addition, commented on the improved "reception" that first evening (we have cable).

Similar Products Used: Various power strips and surge protectors available from the local Walmart and hardware stores.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com