Sony DHC-MDX10 MiniDisc Mini System Mini Systems

DHC-MDX10 MiniDisc Mini System

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
DoMn   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2002]
Strength:

The sound, it's perfect and the MD is very good.

Weakness:

Sometimes when you're tuner signal isn't very strong, and you want to record something from radio to MD, it gives a very irritating sound, I don't know how to describe it. But when the signal is strong it works just fine

I think this is one of the best sound systems I've ever heard. It is easy to use and the sound is great! Other then other reviewers I didn't have a single problem, not for 3 years. It has a very clear sound and the bass is awesome.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
villeh   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 31, 2002]
Strength:

sounds good (if no need for lower bass)

Weakness:

md generates some strange noises to original cd-tracks.. sounds like fu*ked mp3:s..

(Price Paid 670 euros) purchased dhc-mdx10 to my sister for chrismas but i'd used it myself for about 1,5 years.. sounds quite good as mini-system, but theres a lack of low bass.. mid-bass still sounds powerful, becouse sony engineers had used thousands of hours to ruin original sounds, so that casual listeners think it sounds better than others..

Similar Products Used: many from sony, pioneer, kenwood, phillips, samsung, bang&olufsen and more
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Brian B   Audiophile [Apr 08, 2000]
Strength:

CD and Minidisc Player built-in,CD-MD Sync,Nice sound,Cool bells & whistles(Sync bass,EQ,GEQ control)

Weakness:

Lacks bass w/o sub

I basically use this unit to record onto minidiscs. It is very nice for a mini system. It has a 3 disc CD changer as well. If you have a large room and want clear bass, then don't buy it unless your planning on buying a sub. It is only 50w/ch. I got this at Best Buy as an open box item for $269. New, it will probably cost around $430. A very nice mini system.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa Mini Systems
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian B   Audiophile [Apr 08, 2000]
Strength:

CD and Minidisc Player built-in,CD-MD Sync,Nice sound,Cool bells & whistles(Sync bass,EQ,GEQ)

Weakness:

Lacks bass w/o sub

I basically use this unit to record onto minidiscs. It is very nice for a mini system. It has a 3 disc CD changer as well. If you have a large room and want clear bass, then don't buy it unless your planning on buying a sub. It is only 50w/ch. I got this at Best Buy as an open box item for $269. New, it will probably cost around $430. A very nice mini system.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa Mini Systems
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound for my medium size house

Weakness:

None found yet

Bought this unit at Best Buy For $359.00 + $49.00 4 year warranty. I gave it to my son for his birthday & he went nuts on it! This thing shakes the house even thuogh it's only rated at 50w per channel. i think the high tech speakers are the reason this sounds so good. i tried every system Best Buy had & I bought this cause i felt it had the most features for the buck.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hubert   Audiophile [Jun 23, 2001]
Strength:

Incredible sound, superb MiniDisc and CD functions, digital IN, microphone input

Weakness:

weak tape functionality, malfunction in tape deck B, not solved even after 5 repairs

After carrying a near 75 pounds weighing box home with a friend of mine, I of course was delighted to install my new stereo, and it shook our house well for 3 months. I've got over 200 audio tapes, and MD was the ideal medium to store them on. But my ears sensed that tapedeck B was playing slower than deck A. No problem, with the 1 year manufacturer's warranty, it would be repaired for free. When it was brought after 2 months back I was just as enthousiastic as the day I bought it. But after a comparison of tapedeck B with deck A, my walkman and the downstairs tapedecks I found out the same malfunction was still there. I called Sony, and they 'repaired' it again (another 2 months). And the same story: it was still malfunctioning, even a replacement with a totally different serial number had the same malfunction! I went CRAZY! How could such a high-tech cream of the crop apparatus keep on malfunctioning, even after replacement?? Finally after 8 months of guarantee, 2 repairs and one replacement I decided I wanted my money back. And after 2 weeks of Sony-rule-hunting I got back my $349,-. Now I'm glad I still kept my good old Nikkei NMA-400P in the cupboard 'for just in case'. This thing has stamina, which Sony's DHC-MDX10 lacks!!! I'm glad I don't have it anymore!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
johan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 15, 2000]
Strength:

Good bass, easy to use, good sound

Weakness:

tape deck / tuner / no digital or analogue out

Because I wanted an MD-player, and all my other equipment was old, and didn't want to spent a lot of money, I bought the sony because I could get a serious reduction on the Price. Now after using it for almost a year I've noticed some things that bother me, for example: the tuner is not sensitive enough,also the tape decks sound bad: for that reason it would have been nice if there was an analogue out so I could use my Onkyo.
MD editing is easy / recording to MD is very easy when you use the CD-MD sync function => MD functions are complete, you have also a Digital rec.level control

In general I must say for the price I've paid for it is a good system, I also knew that you can not aspect high end quality from a Mini system. Johan De Vos

Similar Products Used: ITT/Nokia receiver (very old model) / old Onkyo tape deck / Philips Cd-player
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Kenneth Kim   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 03, 2001]
Strength:

Great Speakers, 120W (rms)x2, easy to use cd-md synchro recording, sync bass, and other sound effect features, i.e. preset equalizers.

Weakness:

The sub woofer output is only 1.0 V.

This is just an addition to my previous review. I've had this stereo for about 2 years now, and everything is still working great. However, I haven't used the tape decks at all, so I can't comment about that. The speakers are still great and the bass is still clean and strong. However, I've connected a Yamaha YST-SW 160, and an AR S-112 subwoofer to the stereo and noticed that I had to raise the volume on both of these subwoofers to get a decent volume. The reason is probably due to the small sub output of only 1.0 V. Other then the fore mentioned problem, the stereo is great, and i expect another 2 years out of it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kenneth Kim   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2000]
Strength:

Strong bass, cool functions (sync bass, sync eq), easy to use, one touch cd to md recording, tons of preset equalizers and additional 5 personal equalizer settings.
One MD, Three CD, Tuner, Double Deck for tapes.

Weakness:

Remote control can be improved. TOO many buttons on the console!

I have a 110 or 220 volt version of the MDX-10 and the wattage is 120/ch. Once you use the sync bass and the groove function the bass really kicks in. Unlike other stereos, this unit is very clear when you crank up the volume. However, the sync eq function is not so great as the sync bass. When you use the sync eq, the music you are listening to can sound different (I might just have that feeling). If you are looking for a unit that has many functions,this is your stereo! Overall the unit is great!

Similar Products Used: JVC mx-md70
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Stuart   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2000]
Strength:

High quality speakers with awesome bass!
Very eye-catching
One-touch single track recording from CD to MD

Weakness:

None found as yet, though with so many features, it takes time to learn how to use them all...

I bought this hifi simply because it has an incredible number of features for the money, and it's a Sony. The display is pretty too.

Sony's new speaker technology makes for high quality output with nary a hint of distortion right up to full whack. The surround sound mode enhances the sound and makes it sound altogether 'cooler'. All the buttons, switches and the like have a quality feel to them and the important buttons light up as you use it, making for easy operation.

I suggest you go out and buy this product straight away and you will not be disappointed...

Similar Products Used: Aiwa NSX-220
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com