Nakamichi SoundSpace 5 Mini Systems

Nakamichi SoundSpace 5 Mini Systems 

DESCRIPTION

AM/FM tuner. CD Player: 3-disc, 20-bit dual D/A converter with 8-times oversampling digital filter. Inputs: 2 (Tape, Aux). Recording Output: 1 (Tape). Subwoofer Output. Optical Recording Output. Speaker Units: --Bass / Midrange Driver: 10 cm round cone type. --Tweeter: 2.5 cm semi-dome type.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Jan 18, 2020]
hermy0123@yahoo.com


Strength:

Sweet and detailed sound with separate sub woofer output.

Weakness:

Low power at 15 watts per channel.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Dec 21, 2012]
Qingbo Qiao
Casual Listener

HAVE A PROBLEM NEEDS REPAIR. CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND a GOOD REPAIR SHOP IN SYDNEY?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 19, 2006]
Naren Lamba
Casual Listener

Strength:

Excellent crisp sounds and great looks

Weakness:

Not too-friendly remotes

I was always fascinated with Nakamichi systems but couldnt affort one until I picked up SS5 for a bargain. I am amazed by the looks and the richness of sound produced by this tiny work of art.

Being a classical music/jazz listener, I found this system producing excellent sound. Midrange and treble are clear and crisp even at high volumes and bass is ok too. The aux-in is quite adeqaute to connect my MP3 player and am very please with the response. I would rate this on par or even better than Bose Wave Music System.

Look out for deals for systems such as this. You wont regret it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2003]
Binky
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good Design. Reasonable Sound. Good Bass. Three Disc Changer. Two remotes.

Weakness:

No Clock. Nakamichi Could Improve a little on the mid range woofers.

The soundspace 5 is an exceptionally good audio system. This lifestyle system gives out good sound and is capable of producing reasonably deep base despite its size. In the aspect of clarity it may not be able compete with separate systems, but it compensates with its build and design. A true audiophile would never go for this sort of system, however if you're interested in good sound and design, it is very much recommended.It is better than Bose in terms of sound quality, perhaps not as loud, but clearer. And a lot cheaper than B&O, which is purely design. The Linn Classik produces better sound quality however with a higher price tag, and not so interior friendly, with the Linn speakers it would never be able to generate as much bass as the Nakamichi with its sub-woofer unless you are willing to fork out two to three times more money. In terms of clarity the Linn beats this, which is more aimed for audiophiles, the Nakamichi is more towards friendliness to the ears and eyes.A little tuning to the treble and mid range should be able to produce what the Linn produces at flat. The question is how much you are willing to fork out. Hell for the same price as Linn you can get separates that sound much better than Linn, but perhaps again the aspect of design comes in. I feel in terms of design and sound this is the most value for money system to buy at this price.

Similar Products Used:

I have auditioned, Nad, Arcam, Linn Classik, B&O, Rega Planet & Brio, Exposure, Bose, Soundspace 8, Onkyo, Denon, Harman Kardon, Rotel, Micromega Minium, Marantz Eclipse, Myryad and Sony and regular hypermarket layers that don't come near.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 20, 2003]
steve j
Casual Listener

Strength:

looks are absaloutley stunning esspecialy on the wall with cables etc. hidden from veiw.colour display change neat. the sound quality for my small dining room is spot on.

Weakness:

maybee not as powerfull as i thought but more than enough for my neighbours.

wow what a bargain! got my little baby in the jan sales and was i lucky. i had allready promised myself one at the normal price localy at £720. if you like clarity especialy classic etc. then this is the one. it has impressed all who have seen it so far. i am still very happy and tunner has many pre sets, all in all worth what i paid but is a bit steep at full price.

Similar Products Used:

none in this class sony philips ect.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 24, 2002]
usman shah
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound is excellent and so is bass. maybe could b used in a larger room if hooked to speakers.

Weakness:

when really loud, above 45, it makes a shaky sound cos of small size of speakers.

hi when i bought this system, i just expected good loox. I got much more. The ss 5 has alot of bass and sounds better than my sony home theatre system. The problem with it is that when i turn it really loud, the damn speakers sqeak. Nakamichi shiuld ahve amde larger spekaers insteda of small ones for the sound saving look in my opinion. This system looks good but not as good as i had thought. I will still go on to buy more naakmichi prodcuts as im a freak abt systems. I do not know how to get the sw-5 woofer which comes along with this but i will attemp to locate it or use a different sub woofer. It is heavily priced but i really like the sound.

Similar Products Used:

nakamichi 1, yamaha tsx-10

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 05, 2002]
John Dert
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Looks. Small size.

Weakness:

Mediocre sound. Expensive for what it is.

Honestly I was expecting more. The mistake I made was that I didn't listen to it in the store before buying. And what's weird about my displeasure is that I was primarily going for looks vs sound because this was going to be an ancillary system. The looks are great, but the sound should be better. My $140 pair of Altec-Lansing speakers and sub-woofer off my laptop sound MUCH better than the Nakamichi. On a bright note, it is a looker and the sound while standing in need of improvement is not bad. It's not as mobile as an all-in-one unit such as the B&O Beosound 2000, which is more of a looker, albeit more expensive. Hey and no cassette deck on the Nakamichi? Nope. I could imagine some high-end boom boxes sounding just the same.

Similar Products Used:

B&O Beosound 2000. Boomboxes.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 22, 2002]
odor007
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great looks--futuristic, impressive, and eye-catching. Good CD-loading design.

Weakness:

Sound does not match the heavy price tag.

Firstly, let me begin my saying that I don''''t own this system. I have listened to it extensively though at my local Sharper Image store, and I wanted to offer people an unbiased review. Well, the Soundspace 5 isn''''t all that great. Yes, it''''s a handy and cute little system with a great, futuristic look accompanied by a great little remote, but considering it''''s not audiophile sound and that the price tag is around $800 new, this system is better for those who care more about looks than sound. It is true that if you are going to use this for a very small room, such as a small office, kitchen, or tiny bedroom, it will be great--but there are systems that sound just as good for much less. That''''s where a buyer has to decide just how important looks are. I didn''''t listen to this system with the optional subwoofer, which is just more unnecessary money being thrown away in my opinion, so I can''''t say what that adds, but I did notice that without it the bass is very lacking. Don''''t expect too much bass from a little system this. So, in conclusion, if you are the type of person that would buy one of these for the sole intention to impress, and you have quite a bit of money to blow, and only intend to use this for a tiny room, than this baby would be perfect. But if you are looking to provide a larger room with big sound, and are budget-conscious, and care more about sound than futuristic looks, than this system is not for you. After reading the reviews from owners on the site I found that that many positive reviews could only mean one thing--buyers know that they got somewhat ripped off, so they have convinced themselves that they didn''''t just pay for the brand and the looks, they paid for great sound, which in fact, is false.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 26, 2001]
Duane Collie
Casual Listener

Strength:

Beautiful to look at, with a very clever design. Top quality materials, excellent sound at low to mid volumes

Weakness:

Remotes (2) could be better. Proper wall install is not for the faint of heart!

I saw this unit at Sharper Image for $ 899.00 and decided I had to have it. Jumped on EBAY and picked one up for $ 565.00. Nakamichi cleverly places the power transformer in a wire link to the main unit, with plenty of cord. In that way, you can move the heat-generating power source to an area where it can circulate air, and enclose or wall mount the main system.

For a wall mount, you'll be drilling a 1.25" hole in the drywall then taking the power and antenna wires to an outlet somewhere beyond the wall. In my instance, I mounted it on an outside closet wall in the bedroom, then used the light switch inside the closet as a power source and ran the power leads in the closet.

Sound is fantastic for a unit this size. My unit is a 'fresh production' piece and shows none of the 'clicking' during CD playing that I've read elsewhere in the reviews.

For low to mid-level listening volumes, you'll be quite pleased with it.

Similar Products Used:

TEAC mini-system

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2002]
Luis Villarreal
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Crisp, clean sound; sleek design.

Weakness:

Multifunctional control buttons on both unit and small remote can be confusing (for myself, anyway.)

A great stereo for a small to medium-sized room, especially for someone (like myself) looking to take the next step up and away from mainstream shelf systems like those from aiwa, sony and the like. Highs are clean and airy, mid/bass is suprisingly substantial for such small drivers (are they really only 4" large??). Really awesome looker...your cool rating amongst visitors will skyrocket with one of these. I've had mine for a year, and just this weekend picked up the new Nakamichi SW-5 subwoofer (designed specifically for the Soundspace 5--see website) and it seems to have been a worthwhile investment in low-end response extension. Not a boomy subwoofer, but very, very tight and accurate. Without it, however, the SS5 can surely hold its own. The unit produces clean, tight sound for room sizes it was designed for, and does so really well while looking gorgeous in the process! I wouldn't, however, use it for large rooms. It wasn't intended for them anyway. If you're considering this system, my advice would be to pick one up. You won't regret it!

Similar Products Used:

Mainstream Aiwa/Sony systems.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com