Denon DM-3 Mini Systems

DM-3

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
Mitch Furno   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2002]
Strength:

Good value for the money. Clean and smooth sound. Classic styling.

Weakness:

None really.

DENON UMD-30 A very clean and smooth sounding unit. The design is classic and display is adequately bright. If you're limited for space and budget, this is the system for you. Comparable to Yamaha and Nakamichi. I've added Paradigm Cinema series speakers and they elevate the system to a higher level.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha Nakamichi Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
bill freitag   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

great sound for mini system. resonable price.

Weakness:

no pause button for cd. extra unused presets cannot be canceled out

went out and shopped around for a low priced mini system, and was staying away from awia because of poor cd performance(repaired x2 for same problem). the denon had great audio ranges compaired to more expensive mini systems by jvc and sony. my only present complaint is all the extra presets I did not need had to be filled with all the same stations I already programed in. I called denon and they told me to preset the same stations in all the unused presets. longevity is my main concern. hopefully it will hold up. sounds remain clean and crisp even at low volumes. bargin for paying a little more than $300.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Prentice Ng   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 28, 2000]
Strength:

Bright sound; amazingly clear mids and highs even at high volume.

Weakness:

Limited function remote

After recently moving to New York City, I wanted a quality stereo system, keeping in mind cost and scarcity of spacee, but with the versatility to build from it.

This system was recommended by my boss, who uses it in his office. I was amazed at how bright the mids and highs were, even at high volumes. The bass is better than expected, but to compensate, I have hooked up a JBL PB-10 subwoofer to the sub out on the receiver. The quality of sound is incredible.

The downsides I have noticed are no different than what was posted here before: Limited function remote, low bass on the Mission speakers, etc. However, I felt that at that price, I could compensate with the sub (paid $200 for it, retail is around $350), and the remote isn't that big a deal. The receiver also allows for several inputs, and I have hooked up my computer and tv to it, more proof of its versatility.

I listen to a range of different types of music, from punk, ska, rock, alternative, album alternative, hip hop, jazz and latin sounds, and they all sound great.

The other system I was seriously considering was the Nakamichi SoundSpace 5, but I think the Denon gave me way more bang for the buck. I also looked at a Sony minisystem with MD, but likewise, it was about $150 more, and the quality of sound wasn't nearly as good.

I'd recommend this for anyone wanting quality sound for a bedroom, office, dorm room, or anyone living in the tiny apartments of New York City!

Similar Products Used: First minisystem
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chuck   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2000]
Strength:

Good sound - nice fit and finish

Weakness:

Canned EQ settings ("Classic" "Rock" etc.) "Flat" with no bass boost works best in any event.

I have my DM-3 set up in my office with a pair of Paradigm Micros and I'm quite pleased with the results. I'm intrigued by the subwoofer output however. Denon sells a small subwoofer unit for the DM series, but in Japan only (or so it appears). Anyone with subwoofer experience with this little unit?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   Audiophile [Dec 11, 2000]
Strength:

Sounds good for a minisystem.

Weakness:

You have to use the remote and console at the same time...kind of annoying to some, not really to me. However, whoever thought that putting a cover over the majority of the buttons on the remote was a good idea is an idiot. They even covered the fast forward and back buttons for the cd player! My biggest gripe: the amp design in this system is terrible. It hisses at low volume.

Compared to most low-end minisystems, this system sounds incredible. It probably has the most natural sound of any minisystem I've heard (say, sub $700). I knew that the interface was bad, but I was willing to sacrifice that for sound quality. However, after going to college and listening purely to high-end headphones such as grado, I can't stand the noise floor on this thing. There is an inherent hiss in the amplifier. Note that the hiss does not get louder as you increase the volume, but it's still there and it annoys me quite a bit. Actually, the hiss is not as bad as some other systems I've used such as my sister's sony, but at least sony systems don't have hiss from the headphone jack!

Most users will not be as sensitive to the hiss as I am. The reason why it bothers me is because I listen to it with very high-end headphones now, which completely outmatch it... :-)

Dispite my gripe with the hissing, I still like it overall as a casual minisystem, however I wish I had waited and bought the Denon 370 cdplayer (~$300) instead. It would have suited me better. Recommended for the average joe listener and maybe a little better. Audiophiles look elsewhere!

Similar Products Used: Sony and Aiwa, Pioneer, Technics
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   Audiophile [Dec 11, 2000]
Strength:

Sounds good for a minisystem.

Weakness:

You have to use the remote and console at the same time...kind of annoying to some, not really to me. However, whoever thought that putting a cover over the majority of the buttons on the remote was a good idea is an idiot. They even covered the fast forward and back buttons for the cd player! My biggest gripe: the amp design in this system is terrible. It hisses at low volume.

Compared to most low-end minisystems, this system sounds incredible. It probably has the most natural sound of any minisystem I've heard (say, sub $700). I knew that the interface was bad, but I was willing to sacrifice that for sound quality. However, after going to college and listening purely to high-end headphones such as grado, I can't stand the noise floor on this thing. There is an inherent hiss in the amplifier. Note that the hiss does not get louder as you increase the volume, but it's still there and it annoys me quite a bit. Actually, the hiss is not as bad as some other systems I've used such as my sister's sony, but at least sony systems don't have hiss from the headphone jack!

Most users will not be as sensitive to the hiss as I am. The reason why it bothers me is because I listen to it with very high-end headphones now, which completely outmatch it... :-)

Dispite my gripe with the hissing, I still like it overall as a casual minisystem, however I wish I had waited and bought the Denon 370 cdplayer (~$300) instead. It would have suited me better.

Similar Products Used: Sony and Aiwa, Pioneer, Technics
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Geoffry   Audiophile [Jun 23, 2000]
Strength:

Superb sound for such a system. Tremendous build quality. Very stylish.

Weakness:

Size - the unit is very long which can make placing it on shelves inconvienient. Only a niggle though

After trying many products in the shop, the Denon was my very favourite. I am into Jazz music, and the sound was so detailed. When combined with the little denon speakers, the double bass made me come in my pants! The little machine eats classical music. While rock and pop sound good, there are betters systems for such music types available at the price. All in all it is a fabulous system.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick   Casual Listener [Jun 06, 2000]
Strength:

Gives great detail for live and acoustic recordings. Cd player is top notch, tuner is almost as good. Very well made.

Weakness:

Doesn't like heavy rock music. The remote control is HUGE. Only preset graphic equ.

A great system for classical, jazz and mellow music listeners. If rock/dance/techno etc is your scene I'd try something else with a bit more bass. I found this system brilliant for my music tastes, the sound is quality! As always, the sound is down to the individual, try before you buy.

Similar Products Used: Listened to lots, this was the best for me.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2000]
Strength:

Smooth sound and bang for your buck

Weakness:

Remote is just OK and don't expect to blow the roof off. It doesn't have the power to crank it up.

I looked and listened to just about everything in this class and kept coming back to the Denon. Some look better (Sony, Pioneer, JVC...) but if you value sound quality in a well built unit this is a great choice. If you have a couple extra bucks maybe look into getting one of the big brothers that add power and CD changer.

Only real negitive is that sometimes I want to turn up that volume knob and realize I have to go downstairs to my main system to get that kind of punch.

Very pleased.

Similar Products Used: None - first minisystem.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chung   Casual Listener [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

excellent sound quality

Weakness:

ugly remote, lack of mute button, must use all the radio presets, top of unit is ugly

After reading all the reviews here I decided to purchase the denon d-m3s. Just to make sure I listened to it compared to the various JVC's sony's etc. I'm no audiophile but anyone can tell this unit sounds better. The music sounds transparent, there is nothing between you and the music. In fact the sound is almost as good as my JSC speakers which cost 1200 15 years ago. The very low bass is missing but you would he hard pressed to notice. The unit really preforms on pianos and vocals.

The downside is the remote is a joke, looks ugly as sin and no mute button and just up and down arrows for the radio to go through the presets. The unit also has a plain grill on the top so does not look too good by itself, I guess it would look better if you purchased other denon components to put on top.

As a previous reviewer stated, place the speakers as they tell you to it makes a big difference in sound.

I would definately buy this product again.

Also, build quality is good, especially the cd tray, when it opens and shuts it sounds excellent, like closing a mercedes door vs a hyundai.


I purchased my unit at magnolia Hifi for $399 not the cheapest but they had it instock.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com