Aiwa NSX-V50 Mini Systems

NSX-V50

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
MaciekPL87   AudioPhile [Mar 15, 2008]
Strength:

Great sound quality with upgraded speakers. Clock, timer, remote, display, durability of main function which is making sound and powering the speakers! The equalizer display for adjusting computer equalizer. Knob in back to adjust input sound level.

Weakness:

CD, most Aiwas from that era had issues. (My original 1996 Playstation still plays upside down! Loses laser when sitting properly.)

I received this all-in-one on my first communion in 1996 when I was 9 years old. Initially I was bought a Panasonic system that stopped playing cd's after 4 days so it was exchanged for the Aiwa. I have to say that it has just given out after 12 years of constant use. CD stopped working 5 years later and vacuuming the box out only helped out for 2 or so weeks. Tapes just recently stopped working, and one deck cover doesn't close so is held by tape.

About 2 years ago I was honored 3-way Sony SS-MF315 speakers and it took advantage of the beautifully. Of course I started using the system to power my computer audio, alarm which is the only thing loud enough to wake me up for school. Rock/Classic setting with Surround off sounds best. No hissing sound that the current Sony STR-DE135 has that also went from the living room to my room. Bass was perfect and uses 3 way speakers very good, original speakers started smelling funky with extended loud use.

I was very happy and am very sad something is not getting good connection in the system anymore by turning itself off on its own and every wiggle sets it off. I might even get it fixed. =) Sound coming out of Sony MDR-V700 headphones is amazing. I guess I just try to make the best with what's handed to me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DavidDuke   AudioPhile [Dec 30, 2002]
Strength:

Played such perrty music.

Weakness:

Couldn't do my 2000 FREE AOL hours, and burnt up my trailor.

My CD Player was workin' like a dandy for about the first 2 months. The whole town came over to listen to her when we first brought her home. It was a joyous occassion. Until one awful August day when Billy joe got a 2000 FREE hours of that new America Online CD. It didn't say internet it said something about disk error. We was so heart broken, we thot we was finly gonna get to type back and forth to mama in Arkansa, like they do in California. But instead the CD player srarted sparkin' something awful and burnt up my trailor with all of my furniture and animals. Even my new micro oven. No more aiwa's for me, and if your smart you,ll heed my words and stay away from aiwa.

Similar Products Used: RCA 8 track. Bought it in 1974 and still runnin' strong, plus no fires. Long live LYNARD SKYNARD!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Steve   Casual Listener [Dec 03, 2002]

CHECK THIS OUT!! Go to www.minisystemsettlement.com for info on a class action lawsuit which says Aiwa will fix the CD problem for free!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steve   Casual Listener [Dec 03, 2002]
Strength:

I think it is a nice looking unit. Simple design, not like these humongous goofy looking units available for sale now.

Weakness:

The CD player.

We have been having problems with the CD player for some time. I have tried cleaning it, but no luck. It will not play most CDs; some it does not even recognize a CD is there. It seems to like the Doors greatest hits okay, but that is about it. I was amazed to find so many others who have had the same experience. I will take the advice of the many here who suggest scrapping it and buying something else. We had the system for around 3-4 years before noticing problems.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
georgi dimitrov   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2002]
Strength:

DECKS are briliant! amplifier is very good.THD is low for mini system.

Weakness:

cd

best mini sistem.super sound quality.very powerfull(2x65W DIN).

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Geoff Katz   AudioPhile [Jul 29, 2002]
Strength:

Nice karaoke

Weakness:

Everything

The Aiwa NSX-V50 is a bad stereo system. Its simple I had it for a year my and the 3 CD changer broke, it also has problems telling the time. The surround sound doesn't sound that great. If I were you I would look into a JVC.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Bernie Slater   Casual Listener [Jun 30, 2002]
Strength:

Looks good, compact, black (discreet if you have a wife who's not keen on electronic gadgetry in the lounge)

Weakness:

CD. Broke after 2 years, "fixed" by Company and broken again + carousel not happy.

Bought unit because of the "Aiwa" brand name - represented quality with my two previous tape decks.

Similar Products Used: JVC, Technics
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike R.   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

Hall feature, display

Weakness:

Everything else

This system is best suited for use as a bookend. It doesn't play CD's, tapes, or AM radio frequencies. I'm going to throw it off the top floor of my apartment complex. Don't buy Aiwa.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, HK, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bari   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound for small system.

Weakness:

Very unreliable.

Initially(after about 10months) would skip and not track. Had warranty they fixed it. It lasted 1 more year. CD player died after 2 years also one of the cassette players no longer works. One of the worst investments I've made. I would not buy this brand again.

Similar Products Used: JVC
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Jordan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2000]

I bought my Aiwa NSX-V50 minisystem approximately four years ago. I have been generally very happy with the product and would recommend a similar Aiwa product to a friend. Though many reviewers have questioned or criticized the durability of the minisystem, mine has performed admirably over the course of 4+ years. The CD carosel occationally flutters and stops working momentarily, and the system is older, so it has difficulty reading CD-RWs. Sound reproduction from the 5 1/4" driver is above average, producing a solid midrange, mid-base, and fair treble for a speaker its size. There are no tweeters to speak of on the system, and the front surround speakers are useless and very low quality. Turn them off to appreciate a better sound quality. I added an Aiwa powered subwoofer (TS-W50) which provides powerful bass and greatly enhances the quality of the entire system. The minisystem cost me $369 in 1996, and the subwoofer retailed for $130 in 1999. For $500, you can get a much better sound system with better components and much more power, but my system continues to perform well enough to eliminate the need for a newer system. . . until the carosel stops working.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com