Aiwa NSX-MT920 Mini Systems

NSX-MT920

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Minh   Casual Listener [Jul 19, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound. Multi features you can play with.

Weakness:

CD skipping after 2 years. Maybe because of dirty len, but should not that early.

Bought it for $280 in 1999. Impressed with the sound of the front speakers. Nice combination of treble and bass. Clear and soft. Have almost all features you can ask for - random CD playing, karaoke, autoreserve, 5.1 ready.... Nice lights, too. CD skipping problem after 2 years. Got rid of it before having a chance to clean the laser len as tipped by another reviewer. He suggested to remove the back cover, plug in, eject the CD tray, and blow the lens with a pc compressed air. If you got similar problem, try it before throwing it away. It's an excellent system at the price.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Fisher
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
henry babenko   [Mar 23, 2000]
Strength:

5.1 CHANNEL

Weakness:

WHAT ELSE, CD FUNCTION MAKES NOISE

cD WORKS, BUT WHEN YOU RECORD OFF RADIO, IT SOUNDS ALOT LOUDER THAN WHEN YOU RECORD OFF OF CDS, ANYONE ELSE KNOW WHY THIS IS... sYSTEM SOUND IS GOOD WHEN WATCHING DVDS OR VIDEOS. BUT I HEARD BETTER. wHY DOESN'T AIWA FIX THEIR LASER SYSTEMS.. aND THE TAPE DECK NEEDS TO BE BETTER..

Similar Products Used: AIWA 9000
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2000]
Strength:

Dolby Pro Logic, 5.1 inputs

Weakness:

Lack of strength in center and surround speakers

I bought this system for $280 at a national retailer. It sounded great and was very easy to set up. The only real weakness I found was that the center and surround speakers are each only 33 watts. They might sound thin compared to the fronts which handle 100 watts. The 5.1 inputs sound great when hooked up to a decoder. Even the Pro Logic sounds good with my TV.

Similar Products Used: Sony minisystems
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AdRoc   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 1999]
Strength:

Incredible sound. Incredible price. 5.1 Dolby Digital Ready.

Weakness:

Surround speakers of low quality.

This is a GREAT system for the price! I payed $250 at an online dealer. With the 5.1 Dolby Digital ready, all I have to do is buy the DVD player with the decoder and I'm sittin' pretty with sweet surround sound. This unit has the BEST sound of any system of it's size. I researched for about 2 months the different systems in this market and AIWA was hands down the best product for the best price. Look for it online and you can find a killer deal!

Similar Products Used: Panasonic, Kenwood, Sony mini systems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brad Reed   Casual Listener [Nov 12, 1999]
Strength:

great sound, tons of features, and the fact that none of its competitors even come close to it

Weakness:

cant rewind tapes in both decks at the same time

So far I have had the system for a year and my first impression was wow! The system has so many options for any field of audio editing, comprising, or karaoke etc... The sound is better than most anything Ive heard and easily competes with systems far above this units price range. I bought the system for $450 and at the time it was the second best by aiwa. The system has dolby pro logic, which, while not as good as dolby digital which costs lots of money, sounds perfect on cds. The 299 watts of power makes for perfect playback when you just wanna turn it up. Watching movies was never better for me either, the rich bass and fadout options made the experience all the better. I recommend this system to anyone who wants a system better than sony thats cheaper and sounds better by far.

Similar Products Used: Sony (similar models)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary Debele   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2000]
Strength:

5.1 Channels, Display, Front & Center Speakers, made by AIWA!!

Weakness:

Side Speakers are a bit low

Hey Everyone! I bought this system off Ebay for $130.00 + $50.00 shipping ($180.00 total, I have seen it at Beat Buy for $349.95!) and thought it was going to be a OK system for that low of a price, but I was really wrong!! This System can bust out the bass better than some of the newer models, I hae found NO DISTORION YET! And I've cranked it up to 40 (highest volume is 60 and I dare not got there!!) and the Bass, Tweaters, and Midrange all stayed up with no crackels!! It has an awesome display with easy to read Time, Track Number, and Other things, It even has a dimmer if it gets to bright at night!! The Multi-Jog Dial it a good thing too, it allows the user to select a different track, add Rhythms, change the Balance, mess with the Graphic equalizer, and more all with a single dial!! The Dual Tape Deck works like a charm, and the controls for it are great!! Cd is great as well, no problems!! Has a Dual Mic feature for Karaoke! It comes with 5 SPEAKERS!!! 2 Front, 1 Center, and 2 Side/Rear! Center and Fronts are great and pump out the audio, but, the 2 rear are a bit quiet, you can use the manual balance to make them louder but its still not that good, but its not bad, just average. I would totally recommend this system to anyone looking for a good audio system with Dobly Digital Surround Sound 5.1 Input!! Thanks and Email me if you want any extra info! Thanks again for reading and God Bless!~

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack Optimus System (Yea, it sucked...)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jesus Ordonez   Casual Listener [May 25, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Makes a loud cracking sound. These speakers will start to talk to you.

This is a vey scary system. It makes noises during the night and starts to chase me around the house. It ate my pet bird.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Jesus Ordonez   Casual Listener [May 25, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Makes a loud cracking sound. These speakers will start to talk to you.

This is a vey scary system. It makes noises during the night and starts to chase me around the house. It ate my pet bird.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Sarv Kulkarni   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2000]
Strength:

Superb bass, midrange & terble response. Practically no distortion even at very high volumes.

Weakness:

Terrible surround speakers (too weak). Can't rewind cassette tapes while listening to FM or watching DVDs.

I bought this system for $200 from an online retailer in 1999. And I tell you this is super value for money. The sound is great, the Dolby Pro-logic is pretty good too. The only flaw is the weakness in surround sound. But you can compensate for the low powered surround by cranking up the level for the surrounds using the presets available.
The FM is good but not great with a 13.4dBf sensitivity.
The equalizers and surround sound options (live, hall, disco, theatre) are great and teh manual option is easy to use too. Two things I really appreciate:
1. The display has 4 levels of brightness. So, you can dim it at night.
2. The FM and equalizer memories do not get erased when you unplug the system. That saves you from reprogramming it after every power fluctuation/failure!

Similar Products Used: Sony, Panasonic AK-57
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary Gomez   Audiophile [Aug 14, 2000]
Strength:

Great Sound, Dolby Digital, Awsome Price

Weakness:

Surround Sound Speakers, but with the proper adjustment like the previous review, they work fine.

This is an awsome mini system, looks nice, sounds great right out of the box. Got it for a really cheap price, and it was worth every penny, has many features which help out alot, doesnt play cdrw's but thats ok cause it plays cdr's. Nice Stereo, Also great sounding movies on DVD. I'll recommend this system to everyone.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com