Aiwa NSX-D858 Mini Systems

NSX-D858

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
geo_46000   AudioPhile [Jul 24, 2005]
Strength:

Home theatre 5 Speakers/3 CD player/CD To Tape/Tape To Tape/3 Band Radio/Karaoke/GEQ/DSP/Dolby Pro Logic to mention but a few AIWA were very modest in their advertising this system because it does much much more than it says.

Weakness:

I am a musician and use this system for what i deem as quality play back and in my opinion it has no weaknesses for what i use it for,i have seen reviews on weak base and i don't understand how this can be so, my speakers are all AIWA make and when switched to the recording studio play back is through amplifiers and i still see no problem.

I bought this system almost 9 years ago and it has not missed a beat in all that time,i have had to do nothing to it in the terms of servicing i have it connected to a TV for the home theatre function and believe it or not its also connected to a recording studio via computer so i use it day in and day out for sound play back,i can not say enough to recommend this system,it has everything and to buy a system with the same capabilities at todays prices would cost a small fortune,i dread the day this system eventually breaks down on me because it would be sadly missed,if AIWA have a system on sale with the same functions as the NSX-D858 i can assure you i'll be buying it without a second thought because i am more than impressed with this product and on reflection if i had known how reliable it was going to be when i bought it i would have gladly paid double.Please excuse my ranting on about the NSX-D858 but i'm sure if anyone had the same success i have had with it i'm sure they would have no less to say.

Similar Products Used: I have a friend who has a similar setup as myself and he has went through 3 systems in the time i have had this one,i won't mention any product names because they done the job they were purchased for only they did not have the same reliabilty in the long term.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Casual Listener [May 05, 2002]
Strength:

great sound reliable (6 years already) dolby pro logic option Karaoke, DSP, and GEQ options

Weakness:

Like everyone else mentioned, bass is weak

I bought the system 6 years ago with 6 years of warranty from Goodguys. I am not a good sound listener but for my own leisure use with cassette, cd, and radio, it is a great system. However, compare with you guys, I think I paid a bit too much!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Francis Laus   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2000]
Strength:

Pro-logic included

I bought the Aiwa NSX-D858 about 2 and a half years ago. Exactly after 2 years, the unit went completely dead. No power. After a few weeks it was repaired. Then it developed a strange symptom: When I switch on the unit no sound will come out but only hiss noise until I vary the sound level with the remote control. Then unit went dead again after 2 months. The unit has been in for repairs for over 5 months and still it has not been repaired. The technician informed me that the problem is that it is difficult to locate a new power supply unit for this model.
I`m completely dissatisfied with this aiwa NSX-D858.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
bill   Audio Enthusiast [May 26, 2000]
Strength:

DSP and EQ settings

Weakness:

crappy CD changer

Have had this crap load for a few years now. The CD changer is still broken. Overpaid for it of course. Lets all be happy that this model is not made anymore. I got totally jipped into buying this piece of junk. Talk about me being gullible

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Brandon Woodward   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2001]
Strength:

Dolby Pro Logic, Good Bass

Weakness:

Center and Surrounds lack

All I can say is that I have owned this for about 5 years now and it still works as good as it did the day I set it up. The Center channel speaker is the only lacking part of this system, but Dolby Pro Logic sounds amazing in the phantom mode. I know many people have given bad reviews but I highly recommend Aiwa. Considering how old mine is and the condition it has stayed in, I would rate it very high.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cyril   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 1998]

I got this system about 3 years ago. It was pretty cool back then, but after 2 years or so, the CD-changer broke. Talk about a piece of crap. I never bother fixing it. I was very disappointed when the new all-in-one home theatre systems came out. So I guess it was a bad time to buy the D858. I did like the DSP and EQ settings. Overall, the speakers weren't so great, but decent. After all this, I've lost much respect for Aiwa products.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
Matt   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 1998]

I bought this $800 dollar system and I have had it for almost 2 years and it's in great shape. It's DSP surround modes are worthless and the surround and center speakers suck, but if you aren't into more exotic systems, and you just want something better than a boombox or TV to listen to music or watch movies on, this is a good investment. But after I bought it, I started getting into better stuff and now I wish I didn't buy it. At the time, It was the best looking and sounding mini-system I could find. The woofers arent paper, which is a plus. I am moving on to better things and would like to sell this if anyone is interested. My rating is only how I compare it to other mini-systems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Matt   a Casual Listener [Feb 06, 1998]

This isn't really a "new product" but there isn't anywhere else to put it.
I bought an Aiwa NSX-D858 minisystem in January of '96 -- I'm not sure what
the current incarnation is, but it had pro-logic surround,
50Wx2/15Wx1/7.5Wx2 speakers, DSP, cd changer and dual tape w/ Dolby
B/C.

Within 3 months the tape deck started to put a very high pitched whine on
everything I recorded with it, a borderline dog-whistle frequency tone that only
some people could hear. VERY annoying for me. Aiwa's repair service was
LAME! It took 9 months to repair the stupid thing, and it still doesn't work right.
Dudes, the first Aiwa tech that looked at it couldn't even hear the whine!
Moreover, he carried on like he thought I was full of shit. After that, they
claimed to have fixed the thing twice, and both times I was able to produce
that whine again. After their third attempt at fixing it, I gave up.

I used to think that Aiwa stuff was cool & well designed, but your warranty
repair service sucks bigtime. Zero points.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Mark R. Laytos   an Audiophile [Aug 18, 1998]

I have one of these peices of crap-o-la that I use for listening to when working in the basement. This unit has not worked correctly since day one. The cassette is always running, even when power is off. I know of three other people who have purchased AIWA mini-crappers and have had nothing but problems. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Would rate .001 stars if possible.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2001]
Strength:

Good music output
Surround
small
easy to use

Weakness:

Rec for tape

This is the best audio set I think
Surround 100% because Samsung surround speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com