Aiwa NSX-AV800 Mini Systems

NSX-AV800

(See reviews)

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
grw   Casual Listener [Apr 28, 2006]
Strength:

Sound quality, Center Surround and sub-woofer speaker jacks, aux. input

Weakness:

Low end sound not too impressive. See my summary

I picked this up as a stereo for my computer room. My parents have had a similiar Aiwa unit for a decade and it sounds great. Not great bass, but remember it is just a bookshelf system and it does have an output for Sub-Woofer, surround and center channel speakers. The CD player didn't work when I brought it home, but in the process of cleaning the unit up, I also cleaned a thick layer of dust off the CD optics and what do you know? The CD player works just fine. I haven't tried the cassette player and recorder yet, but as that format is effectively dead who cares? This stereo also has an auxilliary input so there will be my video and/or mp3 player input!

Don't be too proud to shop Goodwill once in a while!

Similar Products Used: Aiwa bookshelf unit.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrei   AudioPhile [Jul 20, 2003]
Strength:

Loud, somewhat powerful.

Weakness:

Rear speakers have very poor frequency ranges, CD-Player doesn't work whatsoever, Tape decks lock up, Front left and right tweeters don't work,

I listen to music all the time, first thing I do when I wake up is turn on some music. When I received this system as a gift from my aunt in 2001, the CD player had already been broken and the tape decks were also non-functional. So far I've used it connected to a computer with the AUX connector for immense MP3 audio playback and games. Does very poorly in Normal Dolby Pro Logic in terms of high-frequency system response. I noticed after a few sound tests that the left front speaker had problems with high-frequency and made popping noises when you raised the treble too high. I had the same problem with all modes of surround. System gets definitely loud, I got it with the sub included which performed quite well up to a certain point. After a few other tests I noticed that the smallest tweeters on both front left and right speakers weren't working, which denied me the high-frequency sound I was supposed to be getting from them. The same front and left front channel speakers also have issues with high, bass levels. Way too many problems to be considered a decent audio system, I wouldn't have bought it, but it was a gift.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Donald Pryor   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2003]
Strength:

Good Speakers ,Good Sound,and it will function as a home theater with the right setup.Now hooked up to a Kenwood 5 disc Changer

Weakness:

CD Player,Cassette player Door

I would not consider myself a AIWA Basher,But the truth is if indeed there are so many of us out here who have had these same problems (such as cds not being recognized by the machine and cassette doors locking up with the tapes in them ) then even with this lawsuit that allows you to have the system repaired for free ,Who is to say that it will work for long after the trouble this time??????

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Karen   Casual Listener [Jan 16, 2003]

To everyone whose CD player broke... This was a serious problem, there's a lawsuit, and you may get money back. Go to www.minisystemsettlement.com. I haven't had problems with this system, and I really like it. Everyone, please get your money back and stop Aiwa-bashing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jason   Casual Listener [Oct 21, 2002]

I bought it brand new. For the few years I've owned it, I hardly used it(three or four times a year during Christmas time). The CD player started its problems by skipping tracks, keeping returning to the beginning of a disc and finally quit altogether. I'm greatly disappointed by it as I've found out it'd cost almost the same to fix it as to purchase a new comparable system today. I've decided to replace it but I don't think I'll ever get an AIWA system again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Loren   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2002]

The unit worked nicely for a year. Then the CD's stopped playing. Sometimes when I did gett them to play, the CD would start spinning uncontrollably fast and I would have to unplug the unit to get it to stop. I had it repaired and it lasted for 2 weeks. My sister-in-law had the same thing happen to hers. AIWA is junk!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Alex   AudioPhile [May 26, 2002]
Strength:

Amazing sound, very loud

Weakness:

Tape player is crap, cd stops reading after a little while

I've had this system for maore than 5 years. After about three-four yrs the deck player got my tape stuck in it. Then, the second one broke as well. Now none of em close. A couple months later the cd player would not read the 2nd and 3rd cd holders, it would only read the 1st one. Then, a couple weeks after that the dag-on thing started skipping every little while until it just stopped reading cd's at all now the only thing i can use the thing for is radio, and surround for my tv and vcr. The thing is great at waking the neighbors at night, very powerful, great quality sound but thats it.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Norbert C. Irish   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 1997]

This is a fantastic sounding mini-system. I believe Aiwa to the leader in mini-system technology. I have shopped around and listened to many systems and have found none that even approaches the quality, features and sound reproduction of the Aiwa system. It is the only mini-system that I have found that incorporates Surround Sound AND Dolby Pro-lodgic. With this system, you get that "In the theatre" sensation. A true Triple "A" system

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2000]
Strength:

The speakers are the only strong point about this entire system. I never got to use the "center speaker" because I didn't have a stereo VCR. The surround sound speakers were okay when positioned correctly.

Weakness:

The CD player constantly broke, hardly ever dectected that a CD was in the machine and when it did it would skip every 10 seconds. The Cassette door to Tape #1 always got stuck and I had to turn the unit on and off about 4 dozen times to get my tape back. The remote never worked even after I changed the batteries. Also Aiwa's so called "Customer Support Team" was of no support to me when I contacted them and explained the problems the unit was experiencing. My brother had the same unit and it broke also, my cousin's fiance had the same unit and it broke too...now I read that 9 other people had this unit and it happened to them too, that's 12 units that hardly ever worked if they worked at all....Aiwa has a long long way to go correct these problems.

The unit worked fine for a year, and then all the problems started to pop up, my brother has the same unit and so does my cousin's fiance and they all broke about the same time. I had this thing fixed so many times that I don't think it has any of the original parts left. I was so disgusted with the unit and the lack of support I got from Aiwa that I went out and bought a new JVC unit, I will never by and Aiwa again....they SUCK!!!

Similar Products Used: JVC MX-J700 (1999-2000)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Thomas Perconti   Audio Enthusiast [May 11, 2000]
Strength:

Wealth of Features

Weakness:

Cheaply assembled... poor quality.

I purchased this based on the features offered for the price. Initially it played wonderfully and was a perfect addition to my "budget conscious" home theatre system. However, after a litte more than a year after purchase, the CD player would only play discs intermittently and the cassette would occasionally get stuck during the head rotation in auto-reverse. 3 months later, the only thing function was the Video inputs and the AM/FM tuner.

This unit (as apparently ALL AIWA systems) is very cheaply made. It is one thing to cut corners to reduce costs... it is quite another to build something that will guarantee to fail within a short time. The drive mechanism for the CD changer and CD transport are entirely made of ill-fitting plastic. It is a wonder this unit EVER played CDs.

I would not recommend AIWA systems.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com