Echostar 6000 Digital Satellite System TV Receivers and DVRs

6000 Digital Satellite System

- Enhanced VCR timers and event timers for simplified recording or reminder of an upcoming event.
- IR Blast.
- Themes lists.
- Program Browse.
- Favorites lists (up to 120 channels).
- Locks (ratings, PPV, adult channels).

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
EachausHoagne   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2005]
Strength:

hmmm. Strengths...

Weakness:

Fan. Need to contact the Mothership often just to work the OTA even though I don't use the satellite part. (ATTN MSG 15).

UPDATE: The FAN NOISE HAS VANISHED!!! That's because the CHEAP FAN HAS FROZEN!!! YAY!!! If they're going to design a system with a fan that never shuts off they should use a MIL-QUAL fan. But alas, the cheap fan has died. That was about 8 months ago. The thing hasn't fried, and... NO NOISE! But, since I've turned off Dish and only use OTA, I don't really give a hoot. So I've downgraded my rating.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
gjolund   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2003]
Strength:

SD and HD reception from satellite is great.

Weakness:

The 8SVB Tuner fan noise (if you think I'm joking just buy one). Must manually switch between SD and HD broadcast signals.

Price and ratings include the 8VSB Tuner for off-satellite broadcast reception. BELIEVE THE REVIEWS-THE 8VSB TUNER FAN NOISE IS INCREDIBLE. AND YES, IT RUNS 24/7. Unless you have it sitting in another room, it is basicly un-usable (I have unplugged it). It would also have been nice for the receiver to automatically detect SD and HD signals and send the appropriate signal out. Rating without the 8SVB Tuner is 4 (value and overall).

Similar Products Used: None-it was an upgrade from the 3000 series receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
michael mcglinchey   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2002]

Had similar fan problems as others have discussed. Echostar is horrible in response. Did not even know there was a problem. They wasted a lot of money sending me a new receiver and HDTV cartridge. Same prob started in 20 mins. Have resided to keep the cartridge unplugged unless I am watching a HDTV broadcast.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Gary   Casual Listener [Oct 13, 2002]
Strength:

Great Picture

Weakness:

My main reason for posting this review. Horrible, horrible fan noise. When you first plug in the reciever the fan noise is minimal, but after about 10-15 minutes it starts to (and continues to) emit a high pitched noise that can be heard from 20 feet away. This noise is so distracting that I might just give up the HD viewing and opt to go back to regular viewing. I'm very surprised that the manufacturers could allow this to happen. I wonder if there is a fix for this. Perhaps installing a better, and more expensive fan??. I'd certainly be willing to pay the extra $$

Purchased this product for $499 plus $149 for 8vbs module. I just bought a new Hitachi widescreen and wanted to take advantage of the 16x9 screen.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
dvdphile   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2002]
Strength:

Does it all.

Weakness:

A little slow. Loses programming occassionaly when changing user menus.

I have the 6000 receiver and 8vsb tuner. Previously i had the 4000 receiver with the DD adapter. I now have a hdtv monitor hence the 6000 upgrade. The performance of the 6000 is fine but if you use the "guide" to change to other user preferences you may lose reception and have to select "view" and revert back to the previously viewed program and try again to access the new desired channel. It is a frustrating experiance at times. Have others experienced this? Other than that its a fine receiver that pretty well does everything you expect it to. HDTV reception is great as well as sd. The noisy fan 24/7 is annoying but tolerable. It needs a thermal cutoff!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
EachausHoagne   AudioPhile [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

Good all-in-one system and you''ll never run out of stations. Great HD picture.

Weakness:

8VSB fan runs all the time, do not use this system in a quiet environment unless you unplug it from the wall. They have to fix this huge design flaw. "Universal" remote... doesn''t work my Teac receiver or my Samsung HDTV Would give it 2 more stars if the stupid fan would shut off!!!

Key: SD: standard format Digital HD: High Definition OTA Over The Air Picture Quality: OTA SD: Great Dish SD: Blurry (and delayed 7 sec from OTA) OTA HD: No words. You have to see for yourself, but "awesome" comes close... OTA Analog: Good, with DX omni antenna. Features: About as good as any other. Rather slow switching between OTA channels, esp OTA SD

Similar Products Used: Reviewed the Tosh DTS 3000, Sony SATHD100, RCA DCT 100, Pioneer SH-D500, Panasonic TU-HDS20. HD signal is no better/worse. I chose Dish because of the extra HD movie feed and am not a sports fan.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
flynnnstr   AudioPhile [Mar 10, 2002]
Strength:

Picture DD sound ProLogic sound quality flexible features RF remote

Weakness:

phone support from Dish Network is not trained well manual weak clumsy programming dish, switch, 8VSB card make the experiment pricey

Just getting into the product. It is amazing with the 8VSB card for local HDTV. Even sattelite channel Pro Logic sounds better than through my old Dish Receiver. I put the receiver on the lowest shelf of my rack and do not really notice the fan noise but I listen pretty loud also. Allot of money for a little box but the performance is amazing. And O am only using simple RS indoor powered antenna. Allot more relatively expensive components are needed for full HDTV implementation. The Dish 6000 is not a "package" purchase.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
AAA   AudioPhile [Mar 07, 2002]
Strength:

picture quality, ease of use

Weakness:

FAN NOISE. It drives me crazy and it is there 24X7.

I have been using Dish 6000 with the 8vsb tuner card for a week now. HD local channels quality from outdoor antenna are great. I get ABC, NBC, and CBS HD programs (1080i) time to time. KQED has beautiful 1080i programs that are stunning. Also I am getting HBO-HD and SHO-HD from 148 satellite. This STB is great and I have no problem so far. Everything works as it should. My only complain is the Noisy fan in the tuner card. Searching the net I have found majority of the owners hate the noise off the 8vsb module. But there are workaround instruction on the internet to reduce the noise.

Similar Products Used: PVR 501
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
rcbridge   AudioPhile [Mar 06, 2002]
Strength:

HDTV at a reasonable price, many outputs(except the rf)

Weakness:

Noisy fan, no rf output,program search is not transparent.

The model 6000 with the addition of the 8vsb tuner card (optional) is a great way to receive all the HDlocal channels with the addition of an outdoor antenna at a reasonable cost. I receive the Philadelphia stations the reception is stunning, however there are some drawbacks to this reciever the program guide is not transparent it doesnt allow you to see the picture while it is active. It seems Dish wanted to get a product out there with minimal extras. There is no modulated output. However the picture quality overshadows all the minor issues and makes this reciever a bargain.

Similar Products Used: First HD product.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Alan   Audiophile [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

HD capability
Continuous software upgrades

Weakness:

Fan runs continuously on 8VSB tuner
Primitive operating system compared to model 2700
Cannot see analog stations via antenna when satellite signal is lost, eg during storms

I bought this receiver to provide HD capability for digital broadcasts. I have not installed a 2nd dish for the small number of satellite HD channels.

The addition of the 8VSB tuner ($170) turns the receiver into an HD tuner and has all the software to scan the airwaves and automatically tune into all analog and digital stations. The picture quality of HD broadcasts, especially CBS is stunning. I installed a Channel Master Antenna in the attic.

Two sets of RCA Connections are provided allowing direct connection to the TV as well as to a HT receiver. This is very convenient if you just want to watch the news and don't want to power up the whole Home Theater.

The channel guide is a step back from the Model 2700 I have now moved to the bedroom - you cannot see the program you were watching while surfing the guide. Also, the interactive weather guide is not included.

Another software glitch - if you lose satellite signal during a storm build up, the receiver locks up until it is restored - you cannot even watch local channels via the antenna.

Similar Products Used: 2700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com